21 January 2011 Tirana protest: shootings by guards, four killed, several wounded
Status: ECHR judgment final (14 Feb 2024, per Council of Europe summary). SPAK investigation reported open; no new charge in sources reviewed.
Summary
On 21 January 2011, the Republic Guard fired on a Socialist Party-led protest in front of the Prime Minister's Office in Tirana. Four protesters were killed: Ziver Veizi (shot in the chest), Hekuran Deda (shot in the head), Faik Myrtaj (shot in the chest) and Aleks Nika (shot in the head; died later in Turkey, per the chronology and ECHR sources). Shqiptarja's chronology names further people shot or wounded: Erald Visha (shot in the chest, near the heart, taken to the Military Hospital), journalist Fatos Mahmutaj (hit in the hand), and Sokrat Gode, Ilia Papa, Ilia Qesku and Artes Dybeli (wounded around 16:10). Spellings of several names differ across sources. The ECHR (Nika v. Albania, application no. 1049/17, 14 Nov 2023) found violations of the substantive and procedural limbs of Article 2. Criminal proceedings: the trial court acquitted Ndrea Prendi and Agim Llupo in 2013; the Court of Appeal convicted both of a lesser offence; the Supreme Court upheld. SPAK took over a reopened investigation in 2024 (seecase-jan21-2011).
Case details
- Location
- Boulevard in front of the Prime Minister's Office, Tirana
- Person injured
- Killed: Ziver Veizi, Hekuran Deda, Faik Myrtaj, Aleks Nika. Wounded (as named in shqiptarja chronology): Erald Visha, Fatos Mahmutaj, Sokrat Gode, Ilia Papa, Ilia Qesku, Artes Dybeli.
- Injury
- Gunshot wounds (chest and head) for the killed; wounds for the named wounded, location not specified except Visha (chest). Hospital outcome for Visha not stated in the chronology.
- Police statement
- Police and officials said live rounds were fired as a warning after tear gas and water cannon (as reported in AP/Fox coverage). ECHR found the authorities failed to conduct an effective investigation.
- Prosecution file
- Original Tirana case; reopened and transferred to SPAK in 2024 (per existing file)
- Prosecution status
- Trial acquittal (2013) overturned to lesser conviction on appeal; reopened under SPAK. No new charge found.
- Footage
- Archive footage described in(vid-jan21-2011-footage). Not viewed by the researcher.
- Official response
- Former PM Sali Berisha denied ordering fire (as reported; he was questioned by SPAK as a person with knowledge). Ilir Meta asked to be questioned (search summary).
- Outcome
- State responsibility found by the ECHR; criminal accountability unresolved.
The record
Four lists kept apart on purpose: what is established, what is only alleged, what is still open, and what those concerned said.
What is proven (0)
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
Nothing recorded in this list.
What is alleged (0)
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
Nothing recorded in this list.
Open questions (0)
Nothing recorded in this list.
Responses (0)
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
Nothing recorded in this list.
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 4 sources.
Source label: VerifiedVerified · 4 sources
- Publisher
- ECHR (mirrored by Police Human Rights Resources)
- Date
- 14 Nov 2023
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- Nov 2023
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- undated
- Publisher
- Fox News (AP)
- Date
- Feb 2013