Socialist Party of Albania (PS)
Ownership as documented
not applicable
Description
Governing party in the period 2013-2026 per the sources read. Its parliamentary majority carried the votes listed in events[].
Contracts and money
Figures recorded for the cases linked to this organisation. A figure here is not necessarily paid to or by this organisation; check payer and payee.
KQZ fine on the Democratic Party of Albania (Art. 173 point 3)
750,000 lek
otherSource label: VerifiedStated definition: Fine imposed by the KQZ CSC, announced 19 Jan 2024. Not a payment of campaign money.
Date: 19 Jan 2024 · Payer: Democratic Party of Albania · Payee: State (KQZ)
- Auditing of election campaign funds of March 6, 2022 elections (opens in a new tab)KQZ · 19 Jan 2024 · official · EN
KQZ fine on Socialist Party finance staff (Art. 173 point 1)
100,000 lek
otherSource label: VerifiedStated definition: Fine on the person responsible for finances, not the party.
Date: 19 Jan 2024 · Payer: Socialist Party finance staff · Payee: State (KQZ)
- Auditing of election campaign funds of March 6, 2022 elections (opens in a new tab)KQZ · 19 Jan 2024 · official · EN
KQZ fine on Democratic Party finance staff (Art. 173 point 1)
100,000 lek
otherSource label: VerifiedStated definition: Fine on the person responsible for finances, not the party.
Date: 19 Jan 2024 · Payer: Democratic Party finance staff · Payee: State (KQZ)
- Auditing of election campaign funds of March 6, 2022 elections (opens in a new tab)KQZ · 19 Jan 2024 · official · EN
KQZ fines on three mayoral candidates (Sako ALL 92,775; Memolla ALL 120,590; Spahia ALL 91,420; Art. 173 point 5)
304,785 lek
otherSource label: VerifiedStated definition: Sum of the three fines. The KQZ text says the funds are to be transferred to the CEC. Total of all six fines = ALL 1,254,785.
Date: 19 Jan 2024 · Payer: Emirjana Sako; Edison Memolla; Bardh Spahia · Payee: CEC (KQZ)
- Auditing of election campaign funds of March 6, 2022 elections (opens in a new tab)KQZ · 19 Jan 2024 · official · EN
Cash and items seized from Kalosh Peposhi (Kukes, May 2025)
€525
205,500 lek
seizureSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Seized cash per the SPAK notice; an iPhone and a Mercedes-Benz were also seized (values not stated). Not a verified payment to voters.
Date: 10 May 2025 · Payer: Kalosh Peposhi (alleged) · Payee: State (seizure)
- Akuzohen per korrupsion zgjedhor, SPAK: njoftim zyrtar (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 13 May 2025 · journalism · SQ
Alleged offer for a family's votes, Lushnje (as reported)
€500
50,000 lek
paymentSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Amount alleged in a complaint, as reported (50,000 new lek / 500 euro). Not verified. Attribution conflicts: Marin Leka named in one report; a PD representative in another.
Date: May 2025 · Payer: alleged (conflicting attribution) · Payee: citizen (complainant)
- Lushnje i premtoi se do ti jepte para ne kembim te votes, arrestohet 38vjecari (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · May 2025 · journalism · SQ
Officials and people linked
PS (with PSD) votes Shabani in
Evidence: Reporting attributes the 85 votes to PS together with PSD; no party breakdown given.
Moved from PD to PS (year not stated)
Evidence: Wikipedia says he moved to the Socialist Party; infobox lists PS, lead lists PD as the party he was elected for.
PS majority blocked arrest of PS MP Balluku
Evidence: Vote followed a PS group recommendation earlier that week; Ulsi Manja spoke for the majority.
Investigations and cases
Sorted by reported money, then by linked people and their legal status. The money figure is the largest single reported figure, not a total.
From 10 May 2025
Kukes: Kalosh and Gazment Peposhi, alleged vote buying in Ujmisht villages
A SPAK official notice, reported by Shqiptarja on 13 May 2025, says cousins Kalosh and Gazment Peposhi were charged with active electoral corruption (Arts. 328 and 25 Criminal Code) for allegedly…
Status: Kalosh arrested (May 2025); Gazment at large per notice. Later status not verified.
From 24 Jan 2025
SPAK electoral-crime proceedings for the 11 May 2025 parliamentary elections
SPAK ordered an election task force on 24 January 2025 and, according to media reports of its statements, opened criminal proceedings for the 11 May 2025 vote. The reported counts differ: 46…
Status: Ongoing. Some cases at trial stage (Fier, Vau i Deja); others open or unresolved in sources reviewed. Aggregate counts unreconciled.
From 11 May 2025
2025 parliamentary results: Democratic Party appeals to KAS, recounts and diaspora ballots
After the 11 May 2025 parliamentary election, the Democratic Party (PD) appealed the certification of results in several counties, including Tirana, Kukes and Korce, and asked for the vote to be…
Status: Certification and appeals reported May-June 2025. Final KAS and KQZ outcomes not confirmed for all counties.
From May 2025
Vau i Deja: mayor Kristian Shkreli, alleged active electoral corruption
SPAK charged Kristian Shkreli, mayor of Vau i Deja, with active electoral corruption (Art. 328 Criminal Code) over the 11 May 2025 election. SPAK's allegation, as reported by Shqiptarja and…
Status: At GJKKO (reported hearings). No verdict in sources reviewed.
From 6 Mar 2022
KQZ audit of 6 March 2022 campaign funds: fines on parties and candidates
The Commission of Sanctions and Complaints (CSC) of the KQZ announced on 19 January 2024 administrative sanctions after auditing campaign funds for the 6 March 2022 elections. Six fines totalling ALL…
Status: Sanctions announced 19 Jan 2024 (KQZ). Appeal outcomes not confirmed.
From Apr 2021
Lapsi.al report on a 910,000-voter database held by the Socialist Party (2021)
In April 2021, two weeks before the parliamentary election, Lapsi.al reported that the Socialist Party held personal data on 910,000 voters, allegedly taken from the Civil Registry and used for the…
Status: Allegation disputed. SPAK action reported against the outlet, not the party. No final outcome found.
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 4 sources.
Source label: VerifiedVerified · 2 sources
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 12 Dec 2025
- Publisher
- Citizens.al
- Date
- 12 Mar 2026
Source label: DisputedDisputed · 1 source
- Publisher
- Exit News
- Date
- Apr 2021
Source label: UnverifiedUnverified · 1 source
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- UNDATED
Other connections
- Alleged relationship→Lapsi.al report on a 910,000-voter database held by the Socialist Party (2021)Source label: Disputed
Alleged holder of voter data
Evidence: Lapsi.al alleged the PS held Civil Registry data of 910,000 voters; the PS first denied possession.

