COVID-19 emergency health procurement, 2020 (test kits, respirators, masks)
Status: Allegations public since 2020; KLSH referral reported (Jan 2023); trial stage and outcome not confirmed.
Summary
In spring 2020 the Albanian health authorities bought COVID-19 supplies (test kits, respirators, protective equipment) through urgent, negotiated and in some cases secret procedures. The opposition Democratic Party (PD) publicly alleged overpricing, undelivered respirators and expired masks in April 2020. The State Supreme Audit Institution (KLSH) later reported irregularities in a respirator tender and referred committee members to the anti-corruption prosecutor (SPAK). The sources reviewed do not establish overpricing and show no final judicial outcome.
Key facts
- KLSH reported that only 5 respirators of 54 planned were secured (Balkanweb, 6 Jan 2023).
- KLSH reported three bid-evaluation committee members to SPAK over the respirator tender (same source).
- PD allegations (Apr 2020): test kits 8,500 ALL vs 2,100 ALL market price per unit.
- ISHP opened a 50.5 million ALL test-kit tender in Aug 2020 (Shqiptarja, 27 Aug 2020).
The record
Four lists kept apart on purpose: what is established, what is only alleged, what is still open, and what those concerned said.
What is proven (1)
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
- KLSH found a violation in the respirator tender and reported three evaluation-committee members to SPAK (Balkanweb, Jan 2023, citing KLSH).
What is alleged (3)
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- AllegationOverpricing of test kits (4x market) and masks (2-4x).
- AllegationExpired masks given to infectious-disease doctors.
- AllegationSecret contract content (PD claims).
Allegations and who made them (3)
Each line is an allegation as recorded, with the person or body that made it where the record names them.
- AllegationOpposition alleged the Ministry of Health signed a secret, urgent test-kit tender on 21 March 2020 at about four times market price (PD, Exit.al 22 Apr 2020).
- AllegationOpposition alleged four anti-COVID contracts were secret and masks and kits were bought at 2-4 times market price (Albana Vokshi, PD, 24 Apr 2020).
- AllegationTirana Times reports a SPAK investigation into Ministry of Health medical-supply tenders at 'significantly higher' prices; the year is not on the page.
Open questions (3)
- Current status of the SPAK file on the respirator tender.
- Whether the 2020 test-kit price comparison was examined by KLSH or SPAK.
- Full text of the KLSH 2020 budget report (not opened).
Responses (1)
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
- No government response to the 2020 PD price claims is recorded in the Exit.al or Top Channel articles reviewed.
Figures
Money trail →Direct purchase of 54 ventilators (claimed); 5 delivered
€1,100,000
Incomplete figurecontractSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Party-quoted figure (Koduzi, citing Together for Life). Incomplete: no contract document seen.
Date: 2020 · Payer: Ministry of Health (Albania) · Payee: not stated
- Together for Life report / PD reaction on secret COVID tenders (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 12 Feb 2022 · political-statement · SQ
COVID-19 procurement procedures (198), total value
€35,000,000
Incomplete figuretenderSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: 'over 35 million euro' per PD quote of a Together for Life report. Incomplete; not verified.
Date: 12 Feb 2022 · Payer: health institutions · Payee: multiple
- Together for Life report / PD reaction on secret COVID tenders (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 12 Feb 2022 · political-statement · SQ
Test-kit unit price, claimed secret purchase
€68
8,500 lek
contractSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Unit price claimed by PD (8500 ALL = EUR 68 per Exit.al); market price claimed 2100 ALL (EUR 17). Per unit, not contract total.
Date: 21 Mar 2020 · Payer: Ministry of Health (Albania) · Payee: O.E.S. Distrimed (per Exit.al, party claim)
- Albanian Government Bought Coronavirus Tests at Four Times the Market Price (opens in a new tab)Exit.al · 22 Apr 2020 · journalism · EN
Timeline
Full timeline →Other
Alleged urgent secret test-kit tender signed by Ministry of Health
PD states the Ministry signed an urgent secret tender on 21 March 2020 at 8,500 ALL per kit vs 2,100 ALL market price. Allegation only.
Other
PD alleges 5 of 54 respirators delivered, at double price
Albana Vokshi (PD) alleges the government bought 54 respirators, received 5, at twice the market price. The later KLSH figure of 5 delivered is consistent; the price claim is not verified.
SPAK
SPAK reported to open probe into Ministry of Health medical-supply tenders
Tirana Times reports SPAK opened an investigation into Ministry of Health tenders for medical supplies at significantly higher prices. The page shows no year; 2020 is inferred, not stated.
Other
KLSH refers Health Ministry and ATRAKO officials to SPAK
KLSH reports eight Ministry of Health and two ATRAKO officials over a laboratory PPP (EUR 104m over ten years, as reported) and a respirator tender.
Other
Together for Life COVID procurement report, as quoted by PD
PD health coordinator Gazment Koduzi quotes figures attributed to a Together for Life report: 198 COVID procedures over EUR 35m, half single-bidder; 60 companies and 11 secret contracts (Mar 2020 to May 2021); 54 ventilators for EUR 1.1m, 5 delivered. Party-quoted.
Connections
KLSH audit findings on COVID respirator tender
Evidence: KLSH reported three evaluation-committee members to SPAK (Balkanweb, 6 Jan 2023).
Health minister during COVID procurement
Evidence: Named as Health Minister in Exit.al 22 Apr 2020 coverage of the PD claims.
Public allegations on COVID procurement
Evidence: Top Channel 24 Apr 2020 report of a PD statement.
- Investigation←Special Prosecution Against Corruption and Organized Crime (SPAK)Source label: Under investigation
SPAK file on COVID tenders (reported)
Evidence: KLSH referrals forwarded to SPAK; SPAK probe reported by Tirana Times (year unclear).
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 7 sources.
Source label: VerifiedVerified · 1 source
- Publisher
- Exit.al
- Date
- 22 Apr 2020
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 2 sources
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 6 Jan 2023
- Publisher
- Exit.al
- Date
- 27 Jan 2022
Source label: Under investigationUnder investigation · 4 sources
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- 24 Apr 2020
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 27 Aug 2020
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 12 Feb 2022
- Publisher
- Tirana Times
- Date
- not recorded

