Hemodialysis concession (health PPP) and cancelled tender
Status: Mixed. Cancelled tender reported. The status of the 2015 concession and any court outcome were not confirmed.
Summary
Exit.al reports a 10-year hemodialysis concession valued at 8.6 billion lek (about EUR 63.5 million) without VAT, tendered in May 2015 and won by a consortium led by Evita shpk, which included the American Hospital in Tirana (per later reporting cited by Exit.al). A Balkanweb headline cites a KLSH finding of payments for services not performed and a figure of EUR 75 million; this figure is not reconciled with the Exit.al figure.
Separately, Albanian Daily News reports that the Agency formally published the cancellation of a USD 45 million hemodialysis tender (Shkodra, Lezha, Korca, Vlora and Elbasan) after a sole bidder was declared winner.
Key facts
- 8.6 billion lek (about EUR 63.5m) without VAT, 10-year contract (Exit.al).
- KLSH flagged payments for services not provided (Balkanweb headline; EUR 75m figure in the headline).
- A USD 45m hemodialysis tender was cancelled after a sole-bidder award (Albanian Daily News).
The record
Four lists kept apart on purpose: what is established, what is only alleged, what is still open, and what those concerned said.
What is proven (1)
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
- The cancellation of the USD 45m tender, as reported by Albanian Daily News.
What is alleged (1)
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- AllegationClientelism in the 2015 concession (Balkanweb headline; not adjudicated).
Allegations and who made them (1)
Each line is an allegation as recorded, with the person or body that made it where the record names them.
- AllegationPublic paid the concessionaire for hemodialysis while the public hospital provided the same service (KLSH and Shkodra hospital reporting, per search summary).
Open questions (3)
- Whether the KLSH EUR 75m figure refers to the same concession as Exit.al's 8.6bn lek figure.
- Status of the 2015 concession and any SPAK or court case.
- Contract award date and the final winner after 2015.
Responses (0)
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
Nothing recorded in this list.
Figures
Money trail →Hemodialysis concession contract value (10 years)
€63,500,000
8,600,000,000 lek
Incomplete figureconcessionSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Exit.al: 8.6bn lek (about EUR 63.5m) without VAT. Balkanweb headline cites EUR 75m with a KLSH finding; unreconciled. Incomplete.
Date: May 2015 · Payer: Ministry of Health (contracting authority) · Payee: Evita shpk-led consortium (per Exit.al)
Combined annual value of three health concessions (free check-ups, sterilization, hemodialysis)
€21,800,000
3,000,000,000 lek
Incomplete figureconcessionSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Exit.al gives one combined figure for three concessions: 3bn lek per year for 10 years (about EUR 21.8m). Breakdown not given; VAT treatment not specified. Incomplete.
Date: 2015 · Payer: Ministry of Health · Payee: Concessionaires (not separated)
- The Three Healthcare Concessions of Minister Beqaj - Exit Explains (opens in a new tab)Exit.al · journalism · EN
Cancelled hemodialysis tender (Shkoder, Lezhe, Korce, Vlore, Elbasan lots)
No amount recorded
tenderSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Headline reports USD 45 million (not converted; EUR not given). Date not stated in the source. Tender cancelled after sole bidder declared winner.
Date: not found · Payer: Public procurement authority (lot owners) · Payee: Sole bidder (not named in source)
- Albania Cancels $45 Million Hemodialysis Tender After Sole Bidder Was Declared Winner (opens in a new tab)Albanian Daily News · journalism · EN
Timeline
Full timeline →Government
Health concession tenders opened (sterilization and hemodialysis)
Exit.al reports the sterilization tender opened on 4 May 2015; the hemodialysis tender opened in May 2015.
Parliament
PD MP Spahia alleges hemodialysis concession overpayments (KLSH figures as cited)
Spahia cites about 99 million lekë (about EUR 1m) of 2022 payments for unperformed services and calls the concession clientelist. These are his statements.
Connections
- Public contract←Hemodialysis services re-tender 2026 (Shkodra, Lezha, Korça, Vlora, Elbasan): sole bidder, cancelledSource label: Officially reported
Successor tender for dialysis services
Evidence: covers the original concession; the 2026 tender covers five cities.
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 3 sources.
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 2 sources
- Publisher
- Exit.al
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Albanian Daily News
- Date
- not recorded
Source label: Under investigationUnder investigation · 1 source
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- not recorded