Rruga e Kombit: December 2013 prosecutorial plans and KLSH audit reference (earlier period, pre-2016 concession)
Status: No outcome found in sources read.
Summary
A Shqiptarja report dated 10 December 2013 says the Prosecutor General's Office planned to reopen about 20 files, including the Rruga e Kombit case, and quotes a KLSH audit finding that differences exceeded 230 million euro, and that the KLSH file was withdrawn and would be used to reopen the investigation. The article compares per-kilometre costs of about 22 million euro with 4-6 million euro for comparable sections. Officials named include former Transport Minister Lulzim Basha and former roads director Andi Toma. The article is a press account; the KLSH report and the prosecutor's file were not read, and no outcome was found.
The article does not mention Shefqet Kastrati or any Kastrati company. Its link to the 2016 concession (case-rruga-e-kombit-milot-morine) is not established by the sources read.
Key facts
- Dec 2013: Prosecutor General's Office reported to plan reopening of about 20 files (Shqiptarja).
- KLSH audit differences reported as exceeding 230 million euro (Shqiptarja quoting KLSH wording).
The record
Four lists kept apart on purpose: what is established, what is only alleged, what is still open, and what those concerned said.
What is proven (0)
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
Nothing recorded in this list.
What is alleged (1)
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- AllegationThat the per-kilometre costs of the Rruga e Kombit section were unjustified (press report of the KLSH audit as quoted).
Allegations and who made them (1)
Each line is an allegation as recorded, with the person or body that made it where the record names them.
- AllegationPer Shqiptarja (2013), the investigation's starting point was uneven per-kilometre costs of the Rruga e Kombit.
Open questions (2)
- The KLSH audit document itself and its date.
- Whether any charge was filed and whether it concerns the 2016 concession contract (not established).
Responses (0)
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
Nothing recorded in this list.
Figures
Money trail →KLSH audit: differences in Rruga e Kombit costs exceeding 230 million euro (as quoted, 2013)
€230,000,000
otherSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Figure as quoted by Shqiptarja (10 Dec 2013) from the KLSH audit ('mbi 230 milionë euro'). Relates to the earlier period and not to the 2016 concession contract. KLSH document not read.
Date: 10 Dec 2013 · Payer: not stated · Payee: not stated
- Hapen 20 dosje korrupsioni në bazë të hetimit 'Rruga e Kombit' (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 10 Dec 2013 · journalism · SQ
Timeline
Full timeline →SPAK
Prosecutor General's Office reported to plan reopening Rruga e Kombit file; KLSH audit reference of over 230 million euro
Shqiptarja reports the reopening of about 20 files including Rruga e Kombit, citing a KLSH audit. Press account only; no KLSH or prosecutor document was read.
Connections
Named as former Transport Minister in 2013 prosecutorial plans
Evidence: Shqiptarja (10 Dec 2013) names Lulzim Basha among officials expected to be prosecuted in connection with the Rruga e Kombit file. No charge or outcome found.
Named as former roads director in 2013 prosecutorial plans
Evidence: Shqiptarja (10 Dec 2013). No charge or outcome found.
- Investigation←Kontrolli i Larte i Shtetit (Supreme State Audit Institution, ALSAI)Source label: Under investigation
KLSH audit cited (differences over 230m euro)
Evidence: Shqiptarja (10 Dec 2013) quotes the KLSH audit. KLSH document not read.
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 1 source.
Source label: Under investigationUnder investigation · 1 source
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 10 Dec 2013