CEZ-DIA affair and US lobbying file (Ilir Meta and Monika Kryemadhi)
Status: On trial at GJKKO (ordinary procedure); Meta in pretrial detention; no verdict found
Conflicting records. The research files disagree; every version is shown and none has been chosen as correct.
- Status
- On trial at GJKKO (ordinary procedure); Meta in pretrial detention; no verdict foundResearch file: officials.json · cites:
- Ilir Meta Case: Former president arrested on charges of bribery, money laundering and illicit enrichment (opens in a new tab)Transparency International (CEPI) · 2024 · ngo · EN
- Albanian Ex-President Ilir Meta Arrested on Corruption Charges (opens in a new tab)OCCRP · 2024 · journalism · EN
- Nen akuze per korrupsion e pastrim parash, GJKKO kalon per gjykim dosjen Meta-Kryemadhi (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · Mar 2026 · journalism · SQ
- and 3 more in that file
- Trial on the merits ordered by the Special Court; hearings ongoing; Meta in custody (2026 reporting).Research file: history-opposition.json · cites:
- Albanian Ex-President Ilir Meta Arrested on Corruption Charges (opens in a new tab)OCCRP · Oct 2024 · journalism · EN
- Albanian ex-President Ilir Meta charged with corruption and money laundering (opens in a new tab)AP · 27 May 2025 · journalism · EN
- Nen akuze per korrupsion e pastrim parash, GJKKO kalon per gjykim (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 2026 · journalism · SQ
- and 2 more in that file
- On trial at GJKKO (ordinary procedure); Meta in pretrial detention; no verdict foundResearch file: officials.json · cites:
- Start date
- 2010-04Research file: officials.json · cites:
- Ilir Meta Case: Former president arrested on charges of bribery, money laundering and illicit enrichment (opens in a new tab)Transparency International (CEPI) · 2024 · ngo · EN
- Albanian Ex-President Ilir Meta Arrested on Corruption Charges (opens in a new tab)OCCRP · 2024 · journalism · EN
- Nen akuze per korrupsion e pastrim parash, GJKKO kalon per gjykim dosjen Meta-Kryemadhi (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · Mar 2026 · journalism · SQ
- and 3 more in that file
- 2024-10-21Research file: history-opposition.json · cites:
- Albanian Ex-President Ilir Meta Arrested on Corruption Charges (opens in a new tab)OCCRP · Oct 2024 · journalism · EN
- Albanian ex-President Ilir Meta charged with corruption and money laundering (opens in a new tab)AP · 27 May 2025 · journalism · EN
- Nen akuze per korrupsion e pastrim parash, GJKKO kalon per gjykim (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 2026 · journalism · SQ
- and 2 more in that file
- 2010-04Research file: officials.json · cites:
Summary
SPAK alleges that Ilir Meta used his influence to secure a lucrative contract between CEZ Shperndarje, the energy distributor, and DIA (Debt International Advisory), a debt-collection firm. Shqiptarja reports that SPAK's file cites 115 calls or messages between Meta and Kastriot Ismailaj in April to September 2010, and that former CEZ board head Josef Hejsek testified that Ismailaj was introduced to Meta. Meta and Monika Kryemadhi were also charged over a US lobbying file.
SPAK arrested Meta in October 2024. Wikipedia reports that SPAK formally charged him and Kryemadhi on 27 May 2025 with corruption, money laundering and concealment of assets. The Special Court referred the case to trial on 18 March 2026. Trial hearings were held in 2026, and courts rejected defence requests on detention and related matters. Meta has been in pretrial detention since October 2024.
Meta and his lawyers deny wrongdoing and say the CEZ-DIA file contains no evidence against him. Kryemadhi says the charges are untrue and political. No verdict was found in the sources reviewed.
Other accounts in the research files (2 fields worded differently)
This record appears in more than one research file. The main text above comes from one file; the other versions are kept here unedited.
- Title
- CEZ-DIA affair and US lobbying file (Ilir Meta and Monika Kryemadhi)Research file: officials.json
- CEZ-DIA case (Ilir Meta, Monika Kryemadhi)Research file: history-opposition.json
- Summary
- SPAK alleges that Ilir Meta used his influence to secure a lucrative contract between CEZ Shperndarje, the energy distributor, and DIA (Debt International Advisory), a debt-collection firm. Shqiptarja reports that SPAK's file cites 115 calls or messages between Meta and Kastriot Ismailaj in April to September 2010, and that former CEZ board head Josef Hejsek testified that Ismailaj was introduced to Meta. Meta and Monika Kryemadhi were also charged over a US lobbying file. SPAK arrested Meta in October 2024. Wikipedia reports that SPAK formally charged him and Kryemadhi on 27 May 2025 with corruption, money laundering and concealment of assets. The Special Court referred the case to trial on 18 March 2026. Trial hearings were held in 2026, and courts rejected defence requests on detention and related matters. Meta has been in pretrial detention since October 2024. Meta and his lawyers deny wrongdoing and say the CEZ-DIA file contains no evidence against him. Kryemadhi says the charges are untrue and political. No verdict was found in the sources reviewed.Research file: officials.json
- SPAK's CEZ-DIA file concerns a contract between the Czech utility CEZ and DIA, a debt-collection firm owned by Kastriot Ismailaj. SPAK alleges that Ilir Meta, while Minister of Economy, used his influence to help secure the contract and received money in return; the file also covers money laundering and concealment of assets involving Meta and Monika Kryemadhi. The file also covers US lobbying contracts (per Special Court referral reporting). Meta was arrested on 21 October 2024 by SPAK order. The indictment and charges were reported in 2025 (AP, 27 May 2025). The Special Court accepted SPAK's request and moved the case to trial on the merits; Meta and Kryemadhi, plus three others, are to be tried in ordinary proceedings. Meta remains in custody; an appeals court rejected his challenge (Gazeta Tema, June 2026). The defence says there is no evidence; SPAK submitted 110 proposed witnesses (reported).Research file: history-opposition.json
Key facts
- Meta and Kryemadhi formally charged 27 May 2025 (Wikipedia).
- Case referred to trial on the merits 18 March 2026 (Wikipedia).
- Shortened-trial request accepted for three other co-defendants (Balkanweb English).
- Meta in pretrial detention since his October 2024 arrest (Gazeta Tema, Albanian Daily News).
- Next hearing reported for 10 September 2026 (Gazeta Tema summary); outcome not found.
- SPAK ordered Meta's arrest on 21 October 2024; Kryemadhi was given an obligation to report to police (Shqiptarja / AP).
- Charges reported May 2025: corruption, money laundering, concealment of assets (AP 27 May 2025).
- Special Court sent the case to trial on the merits (2026 reporting; exact date not verified).
- Meta in custody since October 2024; appeals court upheld custody (Gazeta Tema, June 2026).
- SPAK proposed 110 witnesses; defence requested Edi Rama as a witness (Albanian Daily News / Balkanweb, undated 2026).
What is proven
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
- SPAK formally charged Meta and Kryemadhi (Wikipedia, citing SPAK notification).
- The Special Court sent the case to trial (Wikipedia, Balkanweb).
- Arrest order of 21 October 2024 and custody (court/SPAK decisions reported).
- Referral to trial on the merits by the Special Court (reported 2026).
What is alleged
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- That the CEZ-DIA contract was improperly secured and that payments were made to Meta.
- That Meta and Kryemadhi laundered money and concealed assets.
- Corruption, money laundering and asset concealment by Meta and Kryemadhi (SPAK charges; not yet adjudicated).
- Alleged EUR 6.5m transfer from CEZ to DIA (appears in a search summary only; not verified in primary text).
Allegations and who made them
- Meta used his influence as Minister of Economy to help secure the CEZ-DIA contract (SPAK, as reported by OCCRP and Transparency International).
- Meta received money through Kastriot Ismailaj (Shqiptarja).
- SPAK: Meta used his influence as minister to help secure the CEZ-DIA contract for DIA and received part of the money (SPAK, reported).
- SPAK: Meta and Kryemadhi did not declare about 106,125 euros in medical expenses from 2013 to 2019 (SPAK figures, per Shqiptarja summary).
Open questions
- Evidence and amounts: a Shqiptarja headline reports that an MP (Agron Cela) received about EUR 170,000 from DIA; not verified in this run.
- Outcome of the 10 September 2026 hearing.
- A Tirana Times article about Meta and former economy minister Dritan Prifti (hydropower tender; datelined 'July 12', year not stated) concerns an earlier case and is not this file.
- Trial start date and first verdict.
- Whether the separate SPAK closure reported in an undated A2 piece affects the CEZ-DIA file.
- Whether the EUR 6.5m figure is confirmed in SPAK's indictment.
Responses
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
- Meta denies the allegations; his lawyer said there is no evidence against him in the CEZ-DIA file (Gazeta Tema, Shqiptarja).
- Kryemadhi said the allegations are untrue and that SPAK breached investigative secrecy (Shqiptarja).
- Ilir Meta: from custody, called the case a fabricated farce and SPAK an instrument of Rama's vendetta (Facebook post, as reported).
- Defence lawyer Kujtim Cakrani: SPAK has no evidence against Meta; nothing new in the CEZ-DIA file (A2 News, as reported).
- Meta at SPAK (per A2 headline): called the investigations fabricated and asked for investigation of who made the payments (A2 News, undated).
Figures
Money trail →CEZ-DIA contract: monthly payment and success bonus per contract annex (as reported)
€512,000
Incomplete figurecontractSource label: Under investigationCredible reporting or investigative material that a court has not established.Stated definition: Per monthly fee, not a total. Figure comes from a search summary of Albanian coverage that cites the contract annex published by BIRN; the BIRN original was not opened. Incomplete: total paid and success-bonus amount not found.
Date: unknown · Payer: CEZ · Payee: DIA (Kastriot Ismailaj)
- Dosja po diskutohet: kontrata CEZ-DIA, Ilir Meta, 115 telefonata me Kastriot Ismailajn per 5 muaj (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · unknown · journalism · SQ
Alleged EUR 6.5m transfer from CEZ to Ismailaj / DIA
€6,500,000
Incomplete figurepaymentSource label: UnverifiedAnonymous tip, social-media upload or a single unconfirmed report.Stated definition: Appears only in a search summary; attribution to a specific source not confirmed. Incomplete: not confirmed by an opened primary document. Treat as unverified.
Date: unknown · Payer: CEZ · Payee: DIA / Kastriot Ismailaj
- Dosja po diskutohet: kontrata CEZ-DIA (headline-level source; figure not confirmed on the page) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · unknown · journalism · SQ
Reported damage to state budget in CEZ-DIA case (over EUR 414m)
€414,000,000
Incomplete figurelossSource label: UnverifiedAnonymous tip, social-media upload or a single unconfirmed report.Stated definition: Figure cited in a search summary as 'reports cite damage over 414 million euros'. Attribution not confirmed; figure is a press estimate, not a court finding. Incomplete.
Date: unknown · Payer: CEZ / state · Payee: Not stated
- The CEZ-DIA scandal that ruined Ilir Meta over a decade (Gazeta Tema; figure not confirmed on the page) (opens in a new tab)Gazeta Tema · unknown · journalism · EN
Payment of EUR 170,000 from DIA to deputy Agron Cela (reported in SPAK file)
€170,000
paymentSource label: Under investigationCredible reporting or investigative material that a court has not established.Stated definition: From Shqiptarja headline only; the page text was not opened. Payer and payee as in headline.
Date: unknown · Payer: DIA · Payee: Agron Cela
- Zbardhet dosja e Ilir Metes: deputeti Agron Cela perfitoi 170 mije euro nga kompania DIA (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · unknown · journalism · SQ
Alleged EUR transfer from CEZ to DIA (per SPAK file summary)
€6,500,000
contractSource label: UnverifiedAnonymous tip, social-media upload or a single unconfirmed report.Stated definition: Appears only in a search summary; primary indictment text not retrieved. Treat as UNVERIFIED.
Date: Oct 2024 · Payer: CEZ (as alleged) · Payee: DIA (Kastriot Ismailaj)
- Ilir Meta Case (Transparency International CEPI) (opens in a new tab)Transparency International (CEPI) · 2024 · ngo · EN
Timeline
Full timeline →SPAK
SPAK orders arrest of Ilir Meta (CEZ-DIA)
Monika Kryemadhi ordered to report to police. Meta in custody since.
SPAK
Ilir Meta and Kryemadhi charged (AP report)
Charges of corruption and money laundering reported by AP.
SPAK
SPAK formally charges Ilir Meta and Monika Kryemadhi
Charges of corruption, money laundering and concealment of assets, linked to CEZ-DIA and the US lobbying file (Wikipedia).
Court
CEZ-DIA case sent to trial on the merits
The Special Court of First Instance referred the case against Meta and Kryemadhi to trial (Wikipedia). Balkanweb English reports the court also accepted a shortened-trial request for three other defendants.
Connections
Investigation←Josef HejsekSource label: Under investigationCredible reporting or investigative material that a court has not established.
Testimony in CEZ-DIA file
Evidence: Reporting says Hejsek testified in the SPAK CEZ-DIA file; testimony as quoted is contested by Meta.
Investigation←Ilir MetaSource label: Officially reportedStated by an official body (SPAK, a court, the Ombudsman, a prosecutor). An accusation is verified only as an accusation.
Accused in CEZ-DIA
Evidence: Arrested 21 Oct 2024; charged May 2025; referred to trial (reported).
Investigation←Ilir MetaSource label: Officially reportedStated by an official body (SPAK, a court, the Ombudsman, a prosecutor). An accusation is verified only as an accusation.
Charged in CEZ-DIA case
Evidence: Meta and Kryemadhi formally charged 27 May 2025 (Wikipedia).
Investigation←Monika KryemadhiSource label: Officially reportedStated by an official body (SPAK, a court, the Ombudsman, a prosecutor). An accusation is verified only as an accusation.
Charged with Meta
Evidence: Charged with corruption, money laundering and concealment of assets (Wikipedia).