Reported claims that Belinda Balluku owns about 300 apartments (unconfirmed)
Status: Apartment claim unconfirmed. Wider SPAK file: investigation reported concluded and ready for trial (Albanian Daily News, 28 Oct 2026). No verdict.
Summary
The figure of 300 apartments linked to Belinda Balluku, former Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Infrastructure and Energy, comes from public statements by unnamed protesters at anti-government protests in Tirana. Balkanweb reported on 17 August 2026 that a protester said 'Balluku with 300 apartments' and that he and his parents rent in Tirana. On 10 September 2026 Balkanweb reported a second protester saying Balluku has '700 buildings'. Neither protester gives a source, document or count. On 11 September 2026 Balkanweb quoted Balluku as saying she has 'no 300, 30 or 3 apartments, no yachts, limousines or planes' (the article does not say when or in what channel she said it). No SPAK notice, court decision or other document reviewed names any apartment building, or any number of apartments, as Balluku's. The SPAK notice of 9 September 2026, as reported by Balkanweb, concerns one villa in Palasë (Villa 188/1, 478 m2 of land) and names no apartments; the Dhërmi villa is part of the same file. The only apartment-specific item linked to the wider file is a 29 April 2026 Balkanweb report of a check (kontroll) at the apartment of Mired Reçi, citing anonymous sources; the article gives no location, count or result.
The 300-apartment figure is therefore a protester's statement, and Balluku denied it. SPAK's material and the court decisions reviewed describe villas, companies and tender procedures, not apartments. No link between apartments and a road-compensation, land-swap or infrastructure-works deal was found in any source. Albanian Daily News (28 Oct 2026) reports that the main prosecution file, 15 alleged episodes and nine tenders worth about 1.2 billion EUR, is concluded and ready for trial; that report does not mention apartments.
Status at 1 Nov 2026: the 300-apartment claim is UNVERIFIED. Balluku's denial is recorded as DISPUTED. No court or prosecutor has said Balluku owns apartments. The wider file is at the stage described by Albanian Daily News (investigation concluded, trial-ready). No final court decision exists.
Key facts
- Protester claim (Balkanweb, 17 Aug 2026): '300 apartamente Balluku. Unë bashkë me prindërit e mi jetojmë me qira në Tiranë' (unnamed protester; no source given).
- Protester claim (Balkanweb, 10 Sep 2026): 'Belinda ka 700 ndërtesa e thotë kam vetëm një' (unnamed protester; no source given).
- Balluku's denial (Balkanweb, 11 Sep 2026): 'Unë nuk kam as 300 as 30 as 3 apartamente, as jahte as limurina as avionë'. The article says she made this statement 'a little while earlier'; channel and exact date not stated.
- SPAK notice reported 9 Sep 2026: new criminal facts against Balluku concern Villa 188/1 in Palasë, 478 m2 land and 142.6 m2 building. No apartments mentioned.
- Apartment check (Balkanweb, 29 Apr 2026, anonymous sources): kontroll at the apartment of Mired Reçi, described as the son of Balluku's aunt. No location or count given.
- No document reviewed gives a count of apartments owned by Balluku, by a relative or by a company linked to her.
The record
Four lists kept apart on purpose: what is established, what is only alleged, what is still open, and what those concerned said.
What is proven (4)
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
- A protester said publicly that Balluku has 300 apartments (Balkanweb, 17 Aug 2026). This is proven only as a statement that was made, not as a fact about apartments.
- Balluku publicly denied owning 300, 30 or 3 apartments (Balkanweb, 11 Sep 2026, quoting her).
- SPAK's 9 Sep 2026 notice, as reported by Balkanweb, concerns one Palasë villa and names no apartments.
- The wider file is at the stage 'investigation concluded, file ready for trial', as reported by Albanian Daily News (28 Oct 2026). This is a procedural report, not a verdict.
What is alleged (3)
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- AllegationThat Balluku owns about 300 apartments (protester, Aug 2026; not repeated by SPAK in any notice reviewed).
- AllegationThat Balluku owns 700 buildings (protester, Sep 2026).
- AllegationThat Balluku's assets were hidden through relatives, companies and fictitious contracts (SPAK, as reported). Apartments are not part of this allegation in any source reviewed.
Allegations and who made them (4)
Each line is an allegation as recorded, with the person or body that made it where the record names them.
- AllegationUnnamed protester, Tirana, as reported by Balkanweb on 17 Aug 2026: Balluku has 300 apartments.
- AllegationUnnamed female protester, 103rd protest in front of the Prime Minister's office, as reported by Balkanweb on 10 Sep 2026: Balluku has 700 buildings.
- AllegationSPAK (through Balkanweb's report of its notice, 9 Sep 2026): Balluku effectively owns Villa 188/1 in Palasë, received works worth 288,616 to 410,526 EUR from Arbër Abazi through Alko Impex, and used a fictitious contract (dated 26.10.2020, 250,000 EUR) and a sale to Igli Tare to hide it. No apartment is part of this allegation.
- AllegationBalkanweb (29 Apr 2026, anonymous sources): SPAK checked the apartment of Mired Reçi. No accusation about its contents is reported.
Open questions (6)
- Is there any document, cadastral extract or SPAK filing that lists apartments in Balluku's name, a relative's name or a company's name? None was found.
- Where did the 300 figure first appear? The 17 Aug 2026 Balkanweb article gives no source. Its origin (social media, opposition, journalist) was not found.
- Which apartment, if any, was the subject of the 29 Apr 2026 SPAK check at Mired Reçi's home, and what was found? The article does not say.
- Did any apartment feature in the full SPAK file or the 9 Sep 2026 seizure order? Only press summaries are public.
- When, and in what channel, did Balluku make the 'no 300, 30 or 3 apartments' denial? Balkanweb says only 'a little while earlier'.
- No link was found between apartments and road compensation, land swaps or infrastructure works. Whether the Lot 5, 6, 7 or Llogara files contain any compensation element is not stated in the sources reviewed.
Responses (4)
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
- Belinda Balluku, quoted by Balkanweb (11 Sep 2026): 'Unë nuk kam as 300 as 30 as 3 apartamente, as jahte as limurina as avionë' (no 300, 30 or 3 apartments, no yachts, limousines or planes). Channel and exact date not stated in the article. Source: https://www.balkanweb.com/?p=3039910 (fetched).
- Balluku, 31 Jul 2026: refused to make any statement to journalists waiting outside SPAK (Albanian Daily News, fetched). Source: https://albaniandailynews.com/news/balluku-called-at-spak-refuses-comments-as-reports-emerge-of-new-allegations
- Balluku's lawyers: no statement on apartments found in the sources reviewed. Lawyer Redi Ramaj (search summary of Balkanweb) commented on SPAK's standards on security measures, not on apartments.
- SPAK, as reported in its notice of 9 Sep 2026: every person is presumed innocent until a final court decision (Balkanweb EN, fetched).
Figures
Money trail →Works and investments on Palasë Villa 188/1 paid by Arbër Abazi (SPAK estimate, lower bound)
€288,616
otherSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: SPAK estimate as reported by Balkanweb (fetched). Range given: 288,616 to 410,526 EUR. Allegation: value of the benefit Balluku allegedly received. Not a sale price.
Date: 9 Sep 2026 · Payer: Alko Impex General Construction (Arbër Abazi) · Payee: Villa 188/1, Palasë (benefit to Balluku, per SPAK)
- SPAK notice on new criminal facts (Balkanweb EN, fetched) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 9 Sep 2026 · journalism · EN
Contract dated 26.10.2020 for 250,000 EUR, described by SPAK as fictitious
€250,000
contractSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: SPAK describes the contract as a fictitious action used to hide the asset (as reported in the notice). Balkanweb (search summary, not fetched) gives a different date (26 Nov 2020) for a contract of 250,000 EUR; the fetched notice gives 26.10.2020.
Date: 26 Oct 2020 · Payer: Not stated in the fetched text · Payee: Igli Tare (as contracting party, per reporting)
- SPAK notice on new criminal facts (Balkanweb EN, fetched) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 9 Sep 2026 · journalism · EN
Payments from Alko Impex to Atelier 4 (SPAK file quotes), lower bound
€288,000
paymentSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Balkanweb (13 Sep 2026, fetched) reports payments of 288,000 to 410,000 EUR. SPAK allegation. This figure is a different measure from the 288,616 works estimate in fin-palase-villa-abazi-works-estimate; the two are not the same figure.
Date: 13 Sep 2026 · Payer: Alko Impex General Construction · Payee: Atelier 4 (Eftimi brothers)
- Balkanweb: SPAK file, Atelier 4 quotes and payments (fetched) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 13 Sep 2026 · journalism · SQ
Tirana Outer Ring Road Lot 7, limit fund (tender ceiling, excl. VAT)
2,353,597,373.94 lek
tenderSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Limit fund (procurement ceiling) as quoted in SPAK's notice, not an amount paid. Winning operator named by SPAK: merger of Alko-Impex General Construction and 2T sh.p.k. Not an apartment figure.
Date: 9 Sep 2026 · Payer: Not applicable (tender ceiling set by the contracting authority) · Payee: Alko-Impex General Construction / 2T sh.p.k. (winning operator, per SPAK)
- SPAK notice on new criminal facts (Balkanweb EN, fetched) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 9 Sep 2026 · journalism · EN
Palasë villa value (reported as 'over 400 thousand EUR') and additional luxury works ('more than 250 thousand EUR')
€400,000
otherSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Balkanweb (10 Sep 2026, fetched) quotes 'over 400 thousand' for the villa's value and 'more than 250 thousand' for additional luxury works, and its headline refers to 650 thousand. The article body does not state a 650 thousand total. Lower bound used.
Date: 10 Sep 2026 · Payer: Arbër Abazi / Alko Impex (per reporting) · Payee: Villa 188/1, Palasë
- 650 thousand villa with a swimming pool and a design like a yacht (Balkanweb EN, fetched) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 10 Sep 2026 · journalism · EN
SPAK seizures, all cases, 1 Jan to 15 Jul 2026 (context only; not Balluku-specific)
€440,000,000
seizureSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: About 440 million EUR seized by court order in five proceedings (ACQJ, fetched). Covers over 60 villas, apartments and hotels across all cases. No Balluku-specific apartment count given. Included only to show that 'apartments' appear in SPAK aggregates for other cases.
Date: 30 Jul 2026 · Payer: Not applicable · Payee: Not applicable (state seizure)
- SPAK: 440 million euros in assets seized (ACQJ, fetched) (opens in a new tab)ACQJ · 30 Jul 2026 · journalism · EN
Timeline
Full timeline →SPAK
Balkanweb reports SPAK check at the apartment of Mired Reçi (anonymous sources)
Balkanweb reports, citing sources close to SPAK, that a check (kontroll) was carried out at the apartment of Mired Reçi, described as the son of Balluku's aunt, who holds 49% of XL Market and Hippo Tregu Elektrik with Meland Qirko. The article gives no location, count of apartments or result, and no statement from Balluku or her lawyers.
SPAK
SPAK report of about 440 million EUR seized, including 'over 60 villas, apartments and hotels' (not specific to Balluku)
ACQJ reports SPAK's account of assets seized by court order in five criminal proceedings between 1 Jan and 15 Jul 2026: about 440 million EUR, over 150,000 m2 of property, more than 60 villas, apartments and hotels, over 10 companies, 620 bank accounts and about 100 vehicles and vessels. The article gives no separate count of apartments and does not link any of them to Balluku. It names Balluku only in a journalist's question to SPAK chief Braho, who said he would wait for the investigations to finish.
Other
Protester at anti-Rama protest says Balluku has 300 apartments (Balkanweb)
Balkanweb reports an unnamed citizen at a protest against Prime Minister Rama saying '300 apartamente Balluku. Unë bashkë me prindërit e mi jetojmë me qira në Tiranë' (300 apartments Balluku. My parents and I live in rented housing in Tirana). No source, document or response is given. This is the earliest public source found for the 300-apartment figure.
SPAK
SPAK seizes Palasë Villa 188/1 and issues notice on new criminal facts against Balluku
As reported by Balkanweb (fetched), SPAK's notice says the investigation 'resulted in data on new criminal facts' against Balluku: passive corruption, failure to declare assets and money laundering. Subject: Villa 188/1 in Palasë, 478 m2 land, 142.6 m2 building (cadastral zone 1739). The notice names Arbër Abazi, Igli Tare and Alko Impex as other suspects. It names no apartments. Balkanweb's 9 Sep live report (fetched) says the seized properties are suspected of being held indirectly by Balluku, and that SPAK has not explained how it established this.
Other
Protester at 103rd protest says Balluku has 700 buildings (Balkanweb)
Balkanweb reports an unnamed female protester, at the 103rd protest in front of the Prime Minister's office, saying 'Belinda ka 700 ndërtesa e thotë kam vetëm një' (Belinda has 700 buildings and says she has only one) and asking whose buildings and firms in Mat are. No source is given. The article gives no response from Balluku or the companies.
Other
Balluku denies owning '300, 30 or 3' apartments (as quoted by Balkanweb)
Balkanweb (11 Sep 2026, 08:17, fetched) runs the headline 'Nuk kam apartamente, jahte dhe limuzina' (I have no apartments, yachts or limousines) and quotes Balluku: 'Unë nuk kam as 300 as 30 as 3 apartamente, as jahte as limurina as avionë'. The article says she said this 'a little while earlier' and does not state the channel. It is the only source reviewed in which Balluku addresses the apartment figure.
SPAK
Balkanweb reports SPAK file on Atelier 4 payments from Alko Impex (288,000 to 410,000 EUR)
Balkanweb (13 Sep 2026, 10:35, fetched) reports that SPAK's file contains quotes from the studio Atelier 4 (Eftimi brothers) for the Palasë villa and shows payments from Alko Impex to the studio of 288,000 to 410,000 EUR, although the company's documents show no link to the property (SPAK allegation). The article names Balluku, Arbër Abazi, Igli Tare, Alban and Olsi Eftimi and Lorela Reçi, and does not mention apartments or the number 300.
SPAK
Balluku told investigation concluded and file ready for trial (Albanian Daily News)
Albanian Daily News (28 Oct 2026, fetched) reports that prosecutors formally informed Balluku that the investigation into her case has been concluded and the file is ready for trial. It describes 15 alleged episodes, nine tenders worth about 1.2 billion EUR, and two coastal villas allegedly owned by her but registered to another person. The article does not mention apartments, the number 300, or any statement from Balluku or her lawyers.
Connections
Named in 300-apartment protester claim
Evidence: Protester at Tirana protest, Balkanweb 17 Aug 2026; Balluku denies, Balkanweb 11 Sep 2026.
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 10 sources.
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 5 sources
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 9 Sep 2026
- Publisher
- Albanian Daily News
- Date
- 28 Oct 2026
- Publisher
- ACQJ
- Date
- 30 Jul 2026
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 9 Sep 2026
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 13 Sep 2026
Source label: Under investigationUnder investigation · 2 sources
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 29 Apr 2026
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 10 Sep 2026
Source label: DisputedDisputed · 1 source
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 11 Sep 2026
Source label: UnverifiedUnverified · 2 sources
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 17 Aug 2026
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 10 Sep 2026
