Special Court Against Corruption and Organized Crime (GJKKO)
Ownership as documented
Not applicable
Conflicting records. The research disagrees; every version is shown and none has been chosen as correct.
- Name
- Special Court Against Corruption and Organized Crime (GJKKO)From the research record · cites:
- Special Court of Appeals returns for trial the case of abuses in the Fier Incinerator (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · Dec 2024 · journalism · EN
- Fier incinerator, the Special Court of Appeal returns it for retrial at the first instance (opens in a new tab)A2 CNN Albania · 19 Dec 2024 · journalism · EN
- Albania's Special Appeals Court Orders Former Minister Lefter Koka Back to Prison in Tirana Incinerator Case (opens in a new tab)Albanian Daily News · 14 May 2026 · journalism · EN
- Gjykata e Posaçme kundër Korrupsionit dhe Krimit të Organizuar (GJKKO, Special Court)From the research record · cites:
- U kallëzua për shpërdorim detyre me mikrokredite, GJKKO kthen në SPAK dosjen ndaj guvernatorit Gent Sejko (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 10 Jul 2024 · journalism · SQ
- Special Court Against Corruption and Organized Crime (GJKKO)From the research record · cites:
- Ownership
- Not applicableFrom the research record · cites:
- Special Court of Appeals returns for trial the case of abuses in the Fier Incinerator (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · Dec 2024 · journalism · EN
- Fier incinerator, the Special Court of Appeal returns it for retrial at the first instance (opens in a new tab)A2 CNN Albania · 19 Dec 2024 · journalism · EN
- Albania's Special Appeals Court Orders Former Minister Lefter Koka Back to Prison in Tirana Incinerator Case (opens in a new tab)Albanian Daily News · 14 May 2026 · journalism · EN
- not publicly documentedFrom the research record · cites:
- GJKKO argumenton vendimin: pse u pezullua nga detyra zevendeskryeministrja Belinda Balluku (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 30 Nov 2025 · journalism · SQ
- State institutionFrom the research record · cites:
- The GJKKO passes the Partizani file for trial (opens in a new tab)A2 CNN Albania · May 2025 · journalism · EN
- Not applicable (state court).From the research record · cites:
- U kallëzua për shpërdorim detyre me mikrokredite, GJKKO kthen në SPAK dosjen ndaj guvernatorit Gent Sejko (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 10 Jul 2024 · journalism · SQ
- Public institution (not applicable).From the research record · cites:
- Hearing postponed to 15 September (GJKKO) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 21 Jul 2026 · journalism · SQ
- Not applicableFrom the research record · cites:
- Source label
- VERIFIEDFrom the research record · cites:
- Special Court of Appeals returns for trial the case of abuses in the Fier Incinerator (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · Dec 2024 · journalism · EN
- Fier incinerator, the Special Court of Appeal returns it for retrial at the first instance (opens in a new tab)A2 CNN Albania · 19 Dec 2024 · journalism · EN
- Albania's Special Appeals Court Orders Former Minister Lefter Koka Back to Prison in Tirana Incinerator Case (opens in a new tab)Albanian Daily News · 14 May 2026 · journalism · EN
- OFFICIALLY_REPORTEDFrom the research record · cites:
- GJKKO argumenton vendimin: pse u pezullua nga detyra zevendeskryeministrja Belinda Balluku (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 30 Nov 2025 · journalism · SQ
- VERIFIEDFrom the research record · cites:
Description
First-instance court for the Elbasan, Fier and Tirana incinerator cases. The Special Court of Appeal (Gjykata e Posacme e Apelit) reviews its decisions.
Other accounts in the research (1 field worded differently)
This record appears in more than one research record. The main text above comes from one; the other versions are kept here unedited.
- Description
- First-instance court for the Elbasan, Fier and Tirana incinerator cases. The Special Court of Appeal (Gjykata e Posacme e Apelit) reviews its decisions.From the research record
- Albanian special court that handles SPAK cases. Imposed suspension from duty and a travel ban on Balluku, and house arrest on Gjyli and Elezi, in November 2025.From the research record
- Special court that tried the Partizani, CEZ-DIA, SASPAC and Gerdec cases referenced here.From the research record
- Ordered SPAK to investigate the complaint against the governor (reported 10 Jul 2024) and rejected the release request of Arben Meskuti (Feb 2025, search summary).From the research record
- Court that hears the Veliaj trial and decided on pretrial detention at first instance (Feb 2025).From the research record
Contracts and money
Figures recorded for the cases linked to this organisation. A figure here is not necessarily paid to or by this organisation; check payer and payee.
Llogara Tunnel project value (reported)
€190,000,000
contractSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Project value as reported by Tirana Times (Nov 2025) and EWB (Feb 2026). Not a verified contract value. Search summary figures of 139.33 million euros were not confirmed and are not used.
Date: 2021 · Payer: Albanian state (reported) · Payee: Intekar Yapi and ASL Insaat consortium (reported as winner)
- Tirana Times: Balluku charges test PM Rama's power (opens in a new tab)Tirana Times · 11 Nov 2025 · journalism · EN
Winning consortium offer (2021, as stated by PD)
17,000,000,000 lek
tenderSource label: DisputedStated definition: 'Over 17 billion lek' per Shqiptarja, quoting the PD statement. The ministry spending ceiling was 18.9 billion lek. The Albanian JV bid was 15.8 billion lek without VAT (Shqiptarja). Figures are party/press claims.
Date: 12 Oct 2021 · Payer: Ministry (reported) · Payee: Intekar Yapi and ASL Insaat consortium
- Konsorciumi turk fituese e tenderit (Shqiptarja) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 12 Oct 2021 · journalism · SQ
Llogara tunnel contract, Intekar Yapi / ASL consortium (Tunnelbuilder figure)
€139,330,000
17,040,000,000 lek
Incomplete figurecontractSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Contract value as listed by Tunnelbuilder. INCOMPLETE/CONFLICTING: other figures in this file (155.08m excl. VAT tender notice; 170m Shqiptarja allegation; 168m Hill; 178m USD World Highways; 158.4m USD / 138.4m EUR in a Turkish summary).
Date: Oct 2021 · Payer: Government of Albania (Ministry of Infrastructure / ARRSH; contracting authority per sources) · Payee: Intekar Yapi / ASL Insaat joint venture
- Tunnelbuilder: Llogara tunnel (Albania) (opens in a new tab)Tunnelbuilder · undated · journalism · EN
Llogara tunnel tender notice (earlier listing)
€155,080,000
18,970,000,000 lek
Incomplete figuretenderSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Tender notice value excluding VAT, duration 37 months, per Tunnelbuilder listing summary. INCOMPLETE: not compared to the signed contract value.
Date: Jun 2021 · Payer: Government of Albania · Payee: tender (open to bidders)
- Tunnelbuilder: Llogara tunnel (Albania) (opens in a new tab)Tunnelbuilder · undated · journalism · EN
Llogara winning bid, opposition allegation (about 170 million euro)
€170,000,000
Incomplete figurecontractSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Allegation from Democratic Party and reported by Shqiptarja (title: winners took the tender at 170 mln euro breaking criteria). Not verified; conflicts with 139.33m. The rival bid (including Concord Engineering) was said to be about 12 million dollars lower. INCOMPLETE.
Date: Oct 2021 · Payer: Government of Albania · Payee: Intekar Yapi / ASL Insaat joint venture
- Dosja e tunelit te Llogarase: si fituan turqit tenderin 170 mln euro duke shkelur kriteret (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · undated · journalism · SQ
- Konsorciumi turk fituese e tenderit per tunelin e Llogarase (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · undated · journalism · SQ
Llogara tunnel contract value per World Highways
No amount recorded
Incomplete figurecontractSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: World Highways gives US$178 million (currency USD; conversion not made here). INCOMPLETE: no EUR conversion or date in the summary read.
Date: Oct 2021 · Payer: Government of Albania · Payee: Intekar Yapi / ASL Insaat joint venture
- New Albanian road tunnel project (World Highways) (opens in a new tab)World Highways · undated · journalism · EN
Ring Road Lot 4 tender (Euroteorema / PE-VLA-KU / Nova Construction JV)
€20,000,000
Incomplete figurecontractSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Rounded figure from Balkanweb headline ('20 mln euro'); Shqiptarja summary says about 20 million. INCOMPLETE: exact contract sum not read.
Date: Sep 2021 · Payer: Government of Albania / Tirana Ring Road authority (per SPAK file) · Payee: Joint venture: Euroteorema Peqin, PE-VLA-KU, Nova Construction 2012
- SPAK: akuze te reja per Ballukun, tenderi i Unazes se Madhe (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · undated · contract · SQ
Fier incinerator cost to state per year (headline figure)
€7,500,000
Incomplete figurepaymentSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Headline figure (ACQJ): non-functional Fier incinerator 'swallows' 7.5 million euro every year. Article body not opened. INCOMPLETE and unverified as to method; other reporting in searches gives about 22 million euro paid 2016-2020 (search summary, no URL read).
Date: undated · Payer: Government of Albania (Ministry of Environment / state budget) · Payee: Integrated Technology Waste Treatment Fier sh.p.k
CEZ-DIA contract: monthly payment and success bonus per contract annex (as reported)
€512,000
Incomplete figurecontractSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Per monthly fee, not a total. Figure comes from a search summary of Albanian coverage that cites the contract annex published by BIRN; the BIRN original was not opened. Incomplete: total paid and success-bonus amount not found.
Date: unknown · Payer: CEZ · Payee: DIA (Kastriot Ismailaj)
- Dosja po diskutohet: kontrata CEZ-DIA, Ilir Meta, 115 telefonata me Kastriot Ismailajn per 5 muaj (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · unknown · journalism · SQ
Alleged EUR 6.5m transfer from CEZ to Ismailaj / DIA
€6,500,000
Incomplete figurepaymentSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Appears only in a search summary; attribution to a specific source not confirmed. Incomplete: not confirmed by an opened primary document. Treat as unverified.
Date: unknown · Payer: CEZ · Payee: DIA / Kastriot Ismailaj
- Dosja po diskutohet: kontrata CEZ-DIA (headline-level source; figure not confirmed on the page) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · unknown · journalism · SQ
Reported damage to state budget in CEZ-DIA case (over EUR 414m)
€414,000,000
Incomplete figurelossSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Figure cited in a search summary as 'reports cite damage over 414 million euros'. Attribution not confirmed; figure is a press estimate, not a court finding. Incomplete.
Date: unknown · Payer: CEZ / state · Payee: Not stated
- The CEZ-DIA scandal that ruined Ilir Meta over a decade (Gazeta Tema; figure not confirmed on the page) (opens in a new tab)Gazeta Tema · unknown · journalism · EN
Payment of EUR 170,000 from DIA to deputy Agron Cela (reported in SPAK file)
€170,000
paymentSource label: Under investigationStated definition: From Shqiptarja headline only; the page text was not opened. Payer and payee as in headline.
Date: unknown · Payer: DIA · Payee: Agron Cela
- Zbardhet dosja e Ilir Metes: deputeti Agron Cela perfitoi 170 mije euro nga kompania DIA (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · unknown · journalism · SQ
KESH solar tender at Zadeja dam: alleged excess cost
€5,000,000
Incomplete figuretenderSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Allegation by MP Gazment Bardhi (headline figure: EUR 5m damage). Per the same allegation, the contract was about EUR 8.13m (97% of limit fund) vs about EUR 3m for a comparable privately built project. Incomplete; unverified.
Date: unknown · Payer: KESH · Payee: Contractor (not named in reviewed text)
- Denoncimi i Gazment Bardhit: SPAK te hetoje dyshen Balluku-Verdho; dem shtetit 5 milion euro me tenderin e diges se Zadeja (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · unknown · political-statement · SQ
Tender value cited for Balluku / KESH tender abuse allegations
€180,000,000
Incomplete figuretenderSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Headline figure ('tenders worth 180 mln euro'); Bardhi's complaint says abuse of at least EUR 180m per year. Not a SPAK finding. Incomplete: no breakdown seen.
Date: Dec 2024 · Payer: Public contracting authorities (per allegation) · Payee: Private firms (per allegation)
- Akuzoi Ballukun dhe KESH-in per abuzime me tenderat ne vlere 180 mln euro (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · unknown · journalism · SQ
Bribe for Dricons tender (prosecution)
330,000 lek
paymentSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: 330,000 lekë per Top Channel and Shqiptarja. Top Channel also states '3 million old ALL' in another paragraph. Conflict unresolved.
Date: 5 Jun 2023 · Payer: Dricons (via Vladimir Topi) · Payee: Joana Duro (via Laura Shteto)
- SPAK Prosecutor's Office reports on corruption and bribes investigation in the Ministry of Health (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · 17 Jul 2023 · journalism · EN
- Korrupsioni per tenderin ne ministrine e shendetesise: Apeli i GJKKO le ne burg sekretaren Joana Duro dhe specialisten Laureta Shyto (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · journalism · SQ
Dricons winning offer, Lot 1 supervision tender
672,457.6 lek
Incomplete figuretenderSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Winning offer per Shqiptarja summary; limit 805,872 lekë. Top Channel gives a different tender value ('6 million old ALL'). Incomplete.
Date: not found · Payer: Ministry of Health (Albania) · Payee: Dricons
- Korrupsioni per tenderin ne ministrine e shendetesise: Apeli i GJKKO le ne burg sekretaren Joana Duro dhe specialisten Laureta Shyto (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · journalism · SQ
- SPAK Prosecutor's Office reports on corruption and bribes investigation in the Ministry of Health (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · 17 Jul 2023 · journalism · EN
Alleged EUR transfer from CEZ to DIA (per SPAK file summary)
€6,500,000
contractSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Appears only in a search summary; primary indictment text not retrieved. Treat as UNVERIFIED.
Date: Oct 2024 · Payer: CEZ (as alleged) · Payee: DIA (Kastriot Ismailaj)
- Ilir Meta Case (Transparency International CEPI) (opens in a new tab)Transparency International (CEPI) · 2024 · ngo · EN
Tirana concession investment (privately financed per Top Channel/Exit)
€128,200,000
Incomplete figureconcessionSource label: Under investigationStated definition: incomplete. Definition: investment figure for construction of landfill, incinerator and rehabilitation of existing sites over the 30-year concession (Top Channel: 128.2 million). Exit gives 128 million. Not the state effect and not the total over 30 years.
Date: 31 Aug 2017 · Payer: Integrated Energy B.V. SPV (private investor) · Payee: Ministry of Environment (concession grantor)
- Dutch company takes eco-friendly management of Tirana's urban waste (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · journalism · EN
- Special prosecution issues 12 arrest warrants over incinerator contracts (opens in a new tab)Exit News · journalism · EN
Fier BOT concession value (including VAT, per Wikipedia summary)
€35,000,000
Incomplete figureconcessionSource label: Under investigationStated definition: incomplete. Definition: BOT concession value to the Ministry as stated in the Wikipedia summary (about 35 million euro including VAT). The research brief's 28 million euro figure was not verified in any source opened.
Date: Oct 2016 · Payer: Ministry of Environment · Payee: Integrated Technology Waste Treatment Fier
- Albanian incinerators scandal (opens in a new tab)Wikipedia · wiki · EN
Fier construction contract with Energy Recuperator (per Wikipedia summary)
€15,000,000
contractSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Definition: construction contract value between Integrated Technology Waste Treatment Fier and Energy Recuperator Spa, signed 10 Nov (year not stated in summary).
Date: not found · Payer: Integrated Technology Waste Treatment Fier · Payee: Energy Recuperator Spa
- Albanian incinerators scandal (opens in a new tab)Wikipedia · wiki · EN
Government payments for Elbasan and Fier incinerators (per TI CEPI summary of Wikipedia/BIRN)
€70,200,000
Incomplete figurepaymentSource label: Under investigationStated definition: incomplete. Definition: amount the government paid for the Elbasan and Fier incinerators including VAT at 106 lek/euro, as summarised on the TI CEPI page. Not a Tirana figure. Both cases combined.
Date: Aug 2023 · Payer: Government of Albania · Payee: Concession companies
- Albania: Arben Ahmetaj, deputy PM involved in incinerators concession scandal (opens in a new tab)Transparency International CEPI · Aug 2023 · ngo · EN
Minister's claim: 45 million euro paid for Tirana incinerator by July 2022
€45,000,000
Incomplete figurepaymentSource label: Under investigationStated definition: incomplete. Definition: payments to date as stated by an official in July 2022 (Faktoje fact-check, search summary). Faktoje's rating of the claim and the official's title are not confirmed from an opened page (page fetch failed, DNS error). Other reports in the same summary cite 35 million (May 2022) and 3.3 million for first six months of 2022.
Date: 27 Jul 2022 · Payer: Government of Albania · Payee: Integrated Energy B.V. SPV
- Faktoje fact-check on Tirana incinerator payments (45 million euro claim) (opens in a new tab)Faktoje · Jul 2022 · journalism · EN
Treasury payments to Integrated Energy BV SPV (OpenSpending, per Faktoje summary)
5,100,000,000 lek
Incomplete figurepaymentSource label: Under investigationStated definition: incomplete. Definition: total Treasury payments from contract start to the date of the Faktoje article, in ALL (about 5.1 billion). Faktoje converted this to roughly 43.7 million euro at the then rate (search summary). Not opened; date of snapshot unknown.
Date: not found · Payer: Treasury of Albania (Government) · Payee: Integrated Energy B.V. SPV
- Faktoje fact-check on Tirana incinerator payments (45 million euro claim) (opens in a new tab)Faktoje · Jul 2022 · journalism · EN
Seized bank accounts of Arben Ahmetaj
€124,300
seizureSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Definition: two bank accounts totalling 124,300 euro seized by SPAK in July 2023 (TI CEPI). Not directly linked to the Tirana concession in the source; the case field is an assumption and should be reviewed.
Date: 18 Jul 2023 · Payer: Arben Ahmetaj · Payee: State (seizure)
- Albania: Arben Ahmetaj, deputy PM involved in incinerators concession scandal (opens in a new tab)Transparency International CEPI · Aug 2023 · ngo · EN
Property seized (611 m2, registered to F.M.O. sh.p.k.)
€1,000,000
seizureSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Definition: value of property seized by SPAK as stated by Tirana Times (1 million euro). Owner entity F.M.O. sh.p.k. is named as registered owner; link to Zoto or Mertiri not stated.
Date: 8 Aug 2023 · Payer: F.M.O. sh.p.k. (registered owner) · Payee: State (seizure)
- Linking ownership of shell companies to fugitives: SPAK seizes Tirana's waste incinerator (opens in a new tab)Tirana Times · 8 Aug 2023 · journalism · EN
Bërryli-Currila promenade tender overpayment (SPAK notice)
18,318,400.2 lek
lossSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: SPAK notice figure as reported by Shqiptarja (fetched); the article also says 'more than 18,000,000 lek'. Tender limit fund 21,000,000 lek. Allegation in a referral, not a court finding.
Date: Dec 2015 · Payer: Municipality of Durrës / State budget · Payee: Tender winner (not named in the fetched text)
- SPAK mbyll hetimet dhe dërgon për gjykim Vangjush Dakon dhe 10 të tjerë (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 7 Dec 2023 · journalism · SQ
Land seized from Artan Gaçi (Himarë)
No amount recorded
Incomplete figureseizureSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Incomplete: area only (5,512 m2). No value reported in the article fetched.
Date: 25 Oct 2023 · Payer: not found · Payee: State (seizure)
- SPAK Seizes Property of Ex-Minister's Husband (opens in a new tab)Albanian Daily News · 25 Oct 2023 · journalism · EN
Shëngjin public land (30 ha) and apartments seized, reported value
€40,000,000
Incomplete figureseizureSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Reported value of 30 hectares (300,000 m2) per prosecutors' statement as relayed by Fox News. Valuation method not stated. Incomplete: apartments not valued separately.
Date: Oct 2018 · Payer: not found · Payee: State (seizure)
- Albania prosecutors confiscate illegally sold public land (opens in a new tab)Fox News (AP) · unknown · journalism · EN
- €40 mln of assets belonging to arrested former MP were seized by court (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · unknown · journalism · EN
Ndoka-family group: 75 properties seized
€55,000,000
seizureSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Headline figure only (Shqiptarja). May overlap with the 40m seizure above. Not verified.
Date: unknown · Payer: not found · Payee: State (seizure)
- Goditja më e madhe e SPAK: zbulohen 75 pasuritë me vlerë 55 mln euro (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · unknown · journalism · SQ
Works and investments on Palasë Villa 188/1 paid by Arbër Abazi (SPAK estimate, lower bound)
€288,616
otherSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: SPAK estimate as reported by Balkanweb (fetched). Range given: 288,616 to 410,526 EUR. Allegation: value of the benefit Balluku allegedly received. Not a sale price.
Date: 9 Sep 2026 · Payer: Alko Impex General Construction (Arbër Abazi) · Payee: Villa 188/1, Palasë (benefit to Balluku, per SPAK)
- SPAK notice on new criminal facts (Balkanweb EN, fetched) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 9 Sep 2026 · journalism · EN
Contract dated 26.10.2020 for 250,000 EUR, described by SPAK as fictitious
€250,000
contractSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: SPAK describes the contract as a fictitious action used to hide the asset (as reported in the notice). Balkanweb (search summary, not fetched) gives a different date (26 Nov 2020) for a contract of 250,000 EUR; the fetched notice gives 26.10.2020.
Date: 26 Oct 2020 · Payer: Not stated in the fetched text · Payee: Igli Tare (as contracting party, per reporting)
- SPAK notice on new criminal facts (Balkanweb EN, fetched) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 9 Sep 2026 · journalism · EN
Payments from Alko Impex to Atelier 4 (SPAK file quotes), lower bound
€288,000
paymentSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Balkanweb (13 Sep 2026, fetched) reports payments of 288,000 to 410,000 EUR. SPAK allegation. This figure is a different measure from the 288,616 works estimate in fin-palase-villa-abazi-works-estimate; the two are not the same figure.
Date: 13 Sep 2026 · Payer: Alko Impex General Construction · Payee: Atelier 4 (Eftimi brothers)
- Balkanweb: SPAK file, Atelier 4 quotes and payments (fetched) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 13 Sep 2026 · journalism · SQ
Tirana Outer Ring Road Lot 7, limit fund (tender ceiling, excl. VAT)
2,353,597,373.94 lek
tenderSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Limit fund (procurement ceiling) as quoted in SPAK's notice, not an amount paid. Winning operator named by SPAK: merger of Alko-Impex General Construction and 2T sh.p.k. Not an apartment figure.
Date: 9 Sep 2026 · Payer: Not applicable (tender ceiling set by the contracting authority) · Payee: Alko-Impex General Construction / 2T sh.p.k. (winning operator, per SPAK)
- SPAK notice on new criminal facts (Balkanweb EN, fetched) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 9 Sep 2026 · journalism · EN
Palasë villa value (reported as 'over 400 thousand EUR') and additional luxury works ('more than 250 thousand EUR')
€400,000
otherSource label: Under investigationStated definition: Balkanweb (10 Sep 2026, fetched) quotes 'over 400 thousand' for the villa's value and 'more than 250 thousand' for additional luxury works, and its headline refers to 650 thousand. The article body does not state a 650 thousand total. Lower bound used.
Date: 10 Sep 2026 · Payer: Arbër Abazi / Alko Impex (per reporting) · Payee: Villa 188/1, Palasë
- 650 thousand villa with a swimming pool and a design like a yacht (Balkanweb EN, fetched) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 10 Sep 2026 · journalism · EN
SPAK seizures, all cases, 1 Jan to 15 Jul 2026 (context only; not Balluku-specific)
€440,000,000
seizureSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: About 440 million EUR seized by court order in five proceedings (ACQJ, fetched). Covers over 60 villas, apartments and hotels across all cases. No Balluku-specific apartment count given. Included only to show that 'apartments' appear in SPAK aggregates for other cases.
Date: 30 Jul 2026 · Payer: Not applicable · Payee: Not applicable (state seizure)
- SPAK: 440 million euros in assets seized (ACQJ, fetched) (opens in a new tab)ACQJ · 30 Jul 2026 · journalism · EN
Llogara re-tender fund limit (excluding VAT), per SPAK notice as quoted by Balkanweb
18,967,810,952.08 lek
tenderSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Figure as written in the Balkanweb article (quoting the SPAK notice); 22 June 2021; excluding VAT. Balkanweb also says the tender was opened on 1 Dec 2021, which conflicts with the June date.
Date: 22 Jun 2021 · Payer: Albanian state (Ministry of Infrastructure and Energy) · Payee: tender
- Dosja e SPAK që fundosi Belinda Ballukun (Balkanweb, fetched) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 20 Nov 2025 · journalism · SQ
Lowest bid in the first (cancelled) Llogara tender: Gjoka–Duygu joint venture
€140,000,000
tenderSource label: Under investigationStated definition: 'About 140 million euro' per Exit News and Balkanweb. Tender later cancelled. Not checked against the procurement record.
Date: 1 Mar 2021 · Payer: Albanian state · Payee: Gjoka Konstruksion / Duygu Mühendislik JV (bidder)
- How to Rig a Tender (Exit News, fetched) (opens in a new tab)Exit News · 1 Dec 2025 · journalism · EN
Winning İntekar–ASL bid on the re-tender (approximate)
€190,000,000
tenderSource label: Under investigationStated definition: 'About 190 million euros', described by Exit as the second-lowest bid; Exit says the lowest was about 10 million below. Approximate; not checked against the award notice. The project value (about 190 million euros) is recorded as fin-llogara-project-value.
Date: 7 Sep 2021 · Payer: Albanian state · Payee: İntekar–ASL joint venture
- How to Rig a Tender (Exit News, fetched) (opens in a new tab)Exit News · 1 Dec 2025 · journalism · EN
PD allegation: winning Turkish JV offer about EUR 12m above an earlier Albanian offer
€12,000,000
tenderSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Opposition (PD) allegation as reported by Shqiptarja. Not verified.
Date: 2021 · Payer: Ministry of Infrastructure and Energy (per reporting) · Payee: intekar-yapi
Alleged benefit to Veliaj-Xoxa couple (SPAK suspicion)
€1,000,000
otherSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: 'Around 1 million euros' per Citizens.al (23 Jul 2025). SPAK suspicion, not a court finding. Some outlets report about 1.1 million (see next item).
Date: 23 Jul 2025 · Payer: unspecified · Payee: Erion Veliaj and Ajola Xoxa (as alleged)
- Erion Veliaj formally a defendant (23 Jul 2025) (opens in a new tab)Citizens.al · 23 Jul 2025 · journalism · EN
Alleged illegally obtained amount (SPAK, earlier figure)
€1,100,000
otherSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: 'About EUR 1.1 million allegedly obtained illegally' per Citizens.al (10 Feb 2025). SPAK allegation.
Date: 10 Feb 2025 · Payer: unspecified (companies and NGOs linked to Xoxa, as alleged) · Payee: Veliaj-Xoxa couple (as alleged)
- The charges that led to the arrest of Erion Veliaj (opens in a new tab)Citizens.al · 10 Feb 2025 · journalism · EN
Online spending by Xoxa and family (clothing, jewellery) as alleged
€870,000
otherSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: 'About EUR 870,000 spent online' per Citizens.al (10 Feb 2025). SPAK allegation.
Date: 10 Feb 2025 · Payer: Ajola Xoxa and family (as alleged) · Payee: online retailers (not named)
- The charges that led to the arrest of Erion Veliaj (opens in a new tab)Citizens.al · 10 Feb 2025 · journalism · EN
Berisha claim: incinerator contract cost about EUR 1 billion over 30 years
€1,000,000,000
contractSource label: UnverifiedStated definition: Claimed by Sali Berisha (opposition leader). Berisha's own calculation per search summary. Not verified. Documented feasibility-study payments reported separately are much smaller (search summary, not fetched; not recorded here).
Date: unknown · Payer: Tirana municipality (as claimed) · Payee: Tirana incinerator operator (as claimed)
- Berisha attacks Veliaj over Tirana incinerator (Shqiptarja) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · unknown · political-statement · SQ
Officials and people linked
Suspension and travel ban left in force by the Supreme Court (16 Jul 2026)
Evidence: Albanian Daily News and Balkanweb EN, 16 Jul 2026 (both fetched).
Investigations and cases
- Court proceeding→Durrës: former mayor Vangjush Dako, building permit legalisation and coastal promenade tenderSource label: Officially reported
Trial court for the Dako case
Evidence: SPAK referral to GJKKO reported 2023-12-07.
Suspension and travel ban left in force by the Supreme Court (16 Jul 2026)
Evidence: Albanian Daily News and Balkanweb EN, 16 Jul 2026 (both fetched).
Sorted by reported money, then by linked people and their legal status. The money figure is the largest single reported figure, not a total.
From 10 Feb 2025
Erion Veliaj and Ajola Xoxa case (SPAK, 'Veliaj' file)
SPAK arrested Tirana Mayor Erion Veliaj on 10 February 2025 (Citizens.al; some outlets say 11 February) on suspicion of corruption and money laundering, and placed his wife Ajola Xoxa under…
Status: On trial at GJKKO; defendant held in pretrial detention (as reported through 15 Sep 2026). No verdict.
From 29 Apr 2026
Reported claims that Belinda Balluku owns about 300 apartments (unconfirmed)
The figure of 300 apartments linked to Belinda Balluku, former Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Infrastructure and Energy, comes from public statements by unnamed protesters at anti-government…
Status: Apartment claim unconfirmed. Wider SPAK file: investigation reported concluded and ready for trial (Albanian Daily News, 28 Oct 2026). No verdict.
From Apr 2010
CEZ-DIA affair and US lobbying file (Ilir Meta and Monika Kryemadhi)
SPAK alleges that Ilir Meta used his influence to secure a lucrative contract between CEZ Shperndarje, the energy distributor, and DIA (Debt International Advisory), a debt-collection firm.…
Status: On trial at GJKKO (ordinary procedure); Meta in pretrial detention; no verdict found
From 22 Jun 2021
Llogara Tunnel tender (SH8 Vlorë-Sarandë, Orikum-Himarë section)
The Llogara Tunnel is a 5.99 km road link on the southern coast, reported at about 190 million euros. The tender was reopened on 22 June 2021 after an earlier round was annulled. A consortium of…
Status: Under investigation. Balluku indicted (reported 31 Oct 2025). Immunity not lifted (12 Mar 2026). No trial verdict found.
From Dec 2024
Belinda Balluku: tender charges and KESH energy allegations (energy-related part of the SPAK file)
SPAK's Balluku file, as reported, concerns tender-equality violations for the Llogara tunnel and Lot 4 of the Tirana Outer Ring Road. The Special Court (GJKKO) suspended Balluku from office and…
Status: Under investigation and prosecution. Suspension and travel ban in place from November 2025 (as reported). Energy-trading allegation unconfirmed by SPAK.
From Aug 2017
Tirana incinerator case
The Tirana concession (landfill, incinerator and rehabilitation of existing sites, 30 years) was awarded on 31 Aug 2017 to Integrated Energy B.V. SPV sh.p.k. with an investment of about 128 million…
Status: First-instance verdict reported; appeal decision of 14 May 2026 reinstating prison for Koka reported
From Dec 2014
Elbasan incinerator case
The Elbasan waste incinerator was concessioned in Dec 2014 to Albtek Energy under a BOT contract. Construction started March 2015 and the plant launched in April 2017. SPAK issued seizure and arrest…
Status: First-instance verdict 5 Oct 2023; later appellate and procedural status not confirmed
From Oct 2018
Shëngjin/Lezhë coast: land alienation scheme and former MP Arben Ndoka
Former Socialist Party MP Arben Ndoka was arrested in October 2018 in an operation named 'Volvo 4' and accused of forging documents and alienating coastal public land at Shëngjin, Lezhë. Prosecutors…
Status: Arben Ndoka case dismissed (reported 2021); Gjevi Ndoka convicted, 13 years upheld on appeal (reported).
From Oct 2015
Fier incinerator case
The Fier waste incinerator concession was awarded to Integrated Technology Waste Treatment Fier under a BOT contract with the Ministry of Environment (Wikipedia summary gives Oct 2016; a date inside…
Status: Returned for retrial at first instance (Dec 2024); later procedural developments not confirmed
From 2021
Tirana Outer Ring Road (Lot 4) procurement
SPAK's second tender allegation in the November 2025 indictment concerns Lot 4 of the Tirana Outer Ring Road, procured in 2021 by ARRSH. SPAK alleges Balluku guided the procedure and acted with…
Status: Under investigation. Part of the indictment reported in Nov 2025. Further accusations reported 7 Aug 2026.
From 21 Jan 2011
21 January 2011 Tirana protest shootings
On 21 January 2011 an opposition protest in front of the Prime Minister's office in Tirana ended with four people killed by gunfire (Aleks Nika, Ziver Veizi, Hekuran Deda, Faik Myrtaj). The protest…
Status: Reopened investigation at SPAK (2024-present); no new charges reported in sources retrieved. Prendi and Llupo: final verdicts (lesser offence) with time served.
From 5 Jun 2023
Ministry of Health tender bribe: Dricons supervision contract (Joana Duro case)
SPAK charged the Ministry of Health general secretary Joana Duro and specialist Laura Shteto, with the Dricons administrator Vladimir Topi and engineer Silvi Shehi, over a bribe linked to a…
Status: Verdict reported Nov 2023; appeal decision reported (date not shown).
From 21 Oct 2023
Partizani complex privatisation (Sali Berisha and Jamarber Malltezi)
SPAK alleges that former Prime Minister Sali Berisha used his office to help his son-in-law Jamarber Malltezi obtain the privatisation of the former Partizani sports complex in Tirana, and that the…
Status: On trial at GJKKO; no verdict found in sources reviewed
From Jul 2020
Microcredit fraud network (MCA, Final, ADCA, TDR Group, enforcement offices): SPAK criminal case sent to trial
Investigators and courts describe a network of non-bank microcredit companies (Micro Credit Albania sh.p.k., Final sh.p.k.) and private enforcement offices that bought bad loans from second-tier…
Status: Trial referral (SPAK closed investigation; case sent to court, 23 Jul 2025, per Shqiptarja). Court not named in the article. No verdict found. Governor-related…
From 2021
Himarë coast: Olta Xhaçka's husband Artan Gaçi, strategic-investor status and seized land
A company owned by Artan Gaçi, husband of former minister and MP Olta Xhaçka, received 'strategic investor' status from the government in 2021 for a Himarë project. Opposition figures say the company…
Status: Investigation reported; SPAK appeal against the order to register proceedings reported. Current status not confirmed.
From 19 Sep 2019
Habilaj group case (Saimir Tahiri, abuse of office)
In the Habilaj case, SPAK charged former Interior Minister Saimir Tahiri with participation in a structured criminal group and drug trafficking, among other charges. The GJKKO trial court did not…
Status: Convicted at first instance; appeal confirmed; High Court appeal pending per sources
From 2025
Tropoje water tender (Zyra Islamaj and Rrok Gega)
SPAK charged former acting mayor of Tropoje Zyra Islamaj and builder Rrok Gega over a water-supply tender that prosecutors say was arranged for a building project near a relative's house. On 21 May…
Status: First-instance conviction (21 May 2026); appeal status unknown
From Jun 2023
Durrës: former mayor Vangjush Dako, building permit legalisation and coastal promenade tender
SPAK sent former Durrës mayor Vangjush Dako and 10 co-defendants to the GJKKO for trial in December 2023. The charges concern a building permit for an 11-storey building that the municipality…
Status: Sent to trial at GJKKO (referral reported 2023-12-07). Verdict not found.
From Mar 2008
Gerdec munitions explosion, abuse of office (Fatmir Mediu)
An explosion at the Gerdec site, where munitions were being dismantled, killed 26 people in March 2008. Fatmir Mediu, then Minister of Defence, resigned that month. A 2009 Supreme Court decision…
Status: On trial at GJKKO; no verdict found in sources reviewed
From Aug 2023
SASPAC EU-funds tenders and sterilisation concession (Ilir Beqaj)
SPAK charged former Health Minister Ilir Beqaj in two files. In the sterilisation-concession file, prosecutors allege that the tender was manipulated to favour businessman Ilir Rrapaj; search…
Status: Charged; under house arrest since 31 July 2026; trial pending
From Feb 2025
SASPAC / EU-funds case (Ilir Beqaj)
SPAK closed its investigation into former Health Minister Ilir Beqaj in February 2025 and communicated charges including corruption, violation of equality in tenders, falsification of documents, and…
Status: Charged; trial pending; house arrest from late July 2026 (reported).
From 2022
Complaint against Governor Gent Sejko (abuse of office, microcredit): GJKKO order to SPAK
In 2022 the head of the Chamber of Private Enforcement Agents, Tedi Malaveci, filed a complaint with the Tirana Prosecution Office against the Bank of Albania governor, alleging abuse of office…
Status: Preliminary investigation at SPAK (per Transparency CEPI, last updated March 2025). No charges found as of 31 Oct 2026.
From 2021
Kacinar (Mirdita) small hydro plants: court sends case to SPAK (2025)
Four planned small hydropower plants at Kacinar, Mirdita, operated by Shperdhaza-Energji, were the subject of a complaint by residents and local protests (Citizens.al, 2023). In September 2025 a…
Status: Jurisdiction transferred to SPAK (court ruling reported, September 2025). Investigation status unknown.
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 9 sources.
Source label: VerifiedVerified · 7 sources
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- Dec 2024
- Publisher
- A2 CNN Albania
- Date
- 19 Dec 2024
- Publisher
- Albanian Daily News
- Date
- 14 May 2026
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 30 Nov 2025
- Publisher
- A2 CNN Albania
- Date
- May 2025
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 10 Jul 2024
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 21 Jul 2026
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 2 sources
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 7 Dec 2023
- Publisher
- Albanian Daily News
- Date
- 16 Jul 2026
