Policia e Shtetit (Albanian State Police)
Ownership as documented
not applicable (public institution)
Conflicting records. The research disagrees; every version is shown and none has been chosen as correct.
- Name
- Policia e Shtetit (Albanian State Police)From the research record · cites:
- The Ombudsman at the protest of February 28, 2026 (opens in a new tab)Avokati i Popullit · 1 Mar 2026 · official · EN
- Albanian State Police (Policia e Shtetit)From the research record · cites:
- Albanian police fire rubber bullets as protests against Rama escalate (opens in a new tab)Al Jazeera (AFP/AP) · 17 Oct 2026 · journalism · EN
- Policia e Shtetit (Albanian State Police)From the research record · cites:
- Ownership
- not applicable (public institution)From the research record · cites:
- The Ombudsman at the protest of February 28, 2026 (opens in a new tab)Avokati i Popullit · 1 Mar 2026 · official · EN
- State institutionFrom the research record · cites:
- Albanian police fire rubber bullets as protests against Rama escalate (opens in a new tab)Al Jazeera (AFP/AP) · 17 Oct 2026 · journalism · EN
- not applicable (public institution)From the research record · cites:
Description
National police. Subject of Ombudsman recommendations on detention (Tirana stations, 2020 and 2026) and AMP investigations into officers. Station No. 3 and Station No. 4 Tirana referenced in 2026 items.
Other accounts in the research (1 field worded differently)
This record appears in more than one research record. The main text above comes from one; the other versions are kept here unedited.
- Description
- National police. Subject of Ombudsman recommendations on detention (Tirana stations, 2020 and 2026) and AMP investigations into officers. Station No. 3 and Station No. 4 Tirana referenced in 2026 items.From the research record
- Police force that used tear gas, water cannon, baton charges and rubber bullets during the Oct 2026 protests. Seven officers suspended pending disciplinary investigation (police chief, 17 Oct 2026).From the research record
Contracts and money
Figures recorded for the cases linked to this organisation. A figure here is not necessarily paid to or by this organisation; check payer and payee.
Police uniform tender value
€25,000,000
2,800,000,000 lek
Incomplete figuretenderSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Two sources, not reconciled: Exit states EUR 25 million; the Shqiptarja/Report TV file states 2.8 billion lek. A search snippet cites about EUR 23 million. Incomplete: no contract or final value checked.
Date: 2020 · Payer: Ministry of Interior / procurement · Payee: Winning bidder (not named in sources reviewed)
- 9 Albanian Officials Arrested for Public Procurement-Related Abuses (opens in a new tab)Exit.al · 10 Jul 2021 · journalism · EN
- Prangosja e 9 zyrtarëve për tenderin disa miliardësh të uniformave (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · 12 Jul 2021 · journalism · SQ
Allocations in the tender file: uniforms, shoes, electronic distribution system
2,790,000,000 lek
Incomplete figurecontractSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: Researcher's sum of 2.2 bn lek (uniforms) + 552 m lek (shoes) + 35 m lek (electronic system, never built), as reported. Approximate; incomplete.
Date: 2020 · Payer: Ministry of Interior · Payee: Not stated
- Prangosja e 9 zyrtarëve për tenderin disa miliardësh të uniformave (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · 12 Jul 2021 · journalism · SQ
Bribe to avoid arrest after a traffic accident
€2,000
paymentSource label: Officially reportedStated definition: 2,000 euros as stated in the headline; whether this was the total or one instalment is not confirmed from the text retrieved.
Date: unknown · Payer: Businessman (per reporting) · Payee: Former traffic police chief and two colleagues (alleged)
- Morën 2 mijë euro për të mos arrestuar një grua që bëri aksident (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · unknown · journalism · SQ
Per-passage payments to let barred persons pass
No amount recorded
otherSource label: DisputedStated definition: Reported range 5 to 100 euros per person; total not stated.
Date: 21 Feb 2023 · Payer: Individuals barred from Schengen entry (alleged) · Payee: Six port inspectors (alleged)
- Durres port inspectors arrested on corruption charges (opens in a new tab)ABC News Albania · 21 Feb 2023 · journalism · EN
Transfer of 500 tear gas canisters from Kosovo police to Albanian police for 2019 protests (reported)
No amount recorded
Incomplete figureotherSource label: Under investigationStated definition: incomplete: no value reported; a transfer between police forces, not a tender; 500 canisters per search summary of exit.al.
Date: 2020 · Payer: Kosovo police (transfer; approval requested) · Payee: Albanian State Police
- Albanian police acquired gas canisters from Kosovo (opens in a new tab)Exit.al · 2020 · journalism · EN
Officials and people linked
former deputy director, Tirana police
Evidence: Reported as former deputy director of Tirana police in SPAK case coverage.
Ombudsman investigation of police actions against protesters (opened 18 Jun 2026)
Evidence: Ombudsman news item, 18 Jun 2026: verification of police actions opened; burden of proof on police.
State Police director
Evidence: Hita speaks as State Police director at the 17 Oct 2026 press conference (Al Jazeera).
Investigations and cases
- Investigation←Morina (Kukes) border crossing: police corruption case, SPAK sent 34 persons to trialSource label: Officially reported
police officers at a border crossing
Evidence: 17 officers arrested at Morina on SPAK orders (Top Channel, April 2022).
Ombudsman investigation of police actions against protesters (opened 18 Jun 2026)
Evidence: Ombudsman news item, 18 Jun 2026: verification of police actions opened; burden of proof on police.
Sorted by reported money, then by linked people and their legal status. The money figure is the largest single reported figure, not a total.
From Aug 2020
Police uniform tender: nine current and former officials arrested by SPAK
On 10 July 2021 SPAK arrested nine current and former officials over a tender for police uniforms. Exit describes them as the former head of public procurement at the Interior Ministry and members of…
Status: Trial status unknown; retrial of detention ruling reported
From unknown
Tirana traffic police: former chief and two colleagues sent to trial over a 2,000 euro bribe
SPAK sent to trial a former Tirana traffic police chief and two colleagues who allegedly took 2,000 euros from a businessman to avoid arresting his wife after a traffic accident, as reported by…
Status: Sent to trial (as reported)
From 20 Nov 2023
Erzen Brecani (former Tirana deputy police director): SPAK drug and money-laundering case
Erzen Brecani, described as former deputy director of the Tirana police, was arrested in November 2023 in a SPAK operation against a structured group allegedly trafficking cocaine into the EU. Dedan…
Status: On trial (referred December 2024); house arrest per later reporting; latest status not found
From Jul 2023
Police officers linked to Sky/EncroChat messaging: Europol list handed to Albania
Europol passed Albanian authorities a list of police officers allegedly linked, through Sky and EncroChat communications, to members of criminal groups. Interior Minister Taulant Balla said in 2023…
Status: Investigations reported; no official police-specific count
From 13 Oct 2026
Alleged police use of force during the October 2026 student and anti-government protests in Tirana
From 13 Oct 2026, student-led protests in Tirana over university conditions, education costs, corruption and living costs became violent on several days. Police used water cannon, tear gas, baton…
Status: Open. Disciplinary and prosecutorial inquiries reported; no outcomes found.
From 17 Oct 2026
Use of rubber bullets and pellets at Tirana protests (17-24 October 2026)
Reuters, AFP and Al Jazeera reported that on 17 October 2026 Albanian police fired rubber bullets at anti-government protesters in Tirana. AFP described it as the first such use since the protests…
Status: Ongoing: prosecution 7806/2026 open; suspensions reported (count disputed); Ombudsman work ongoing
From 20 Feb 2026
Reported use of expired tear gas at Democratic Party protests (February 2026)
On 20 February 2026 Balkanweb reported that the Interior Minister, Albana Kociu, said she had ordered the State Police and the Police Oversight Agency to investigate reports that expired tear gas was…
Status: Claim reported; investigation outcome not found
From Mar 2024
Sarandë, Himarë and Ksamil: officials and police accused over unpermitted coastal buildings
Several linked prosecutions concern unpermitted buildings on the southern coast. In proceeding no. 37/2024, prosecutors in Sarandë charged 11 officials of the ASHK and IKMT agencies with forgery,…
Status: Mixed: some proceedings ongoing (2026 police cases); one court outcome reported as acquittal. Not checked against court records.
From Nov 2020
Morina (Kukes) border crossing: police corruption case, SPAK sent 34 persons to trial
In April 2022 SPAK ordered the arrest of 17 police officers at the Morina border crossing in Kukes, with 14 placed under house arrest and 3 suspended, according to Top Channel. SPAK states the…
Status: Investigation closed; trial requested for 34 persons (as reported). Outcome not found.
From 16 Jul 2026
Tirana Police Station No. 3: two General Patrol inspectors arrested in flagrante for passive corruption
On 16 July 2026 the Police Oversight Agency (AMP) arrested two General Patrol inspectors of Police Station No. 3 in Tirana, aged 25 and 23 according to BalkanWeb. The arrests followed the publication…
Status: Under investigation (Tirana Prosecutor's Office)
From 21 Feb 2023
Durres port: six officers arrested for passive corruption (customs or border-police role disputed)
On 21 February 2023 six inspectors at the Durres port were arrested for passive corruption of persons exercising public functions and abuse of duty, according to ABC News Albania. The…
Status: Reported arrests; outcome not found
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 6 sources.
Source label: VerifiedVerified · 1 source
- Publisher
- Office of the People's Advocate
- Date
- 18 Jun 2026
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 5 sources
- Publisher
- Avokati i Popullit
- Date
- 1 Mar 2026
- Publisher
- Al Jazeera (AFP/AP)
- Date
- 17 Oct 2026
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja.com
- Date
- Nov 2023
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- 8 Apr 2022
- Publisher
- RSF
- Date
- 21 Oct 2026
Other connections
RSF statement on police violence against journalists
Evidence: RSF, 21 Oct 2026: 28 incidents, at least 23 media professionals affected (13-19 Oct).