
Sali Berisha
Democratic Party (PD)
Legal status
On trial
on-trial
What this means: A court is hearing the case. The person is presumed innocent until a final verdict.
Conflicting records. The research disagrees; every version is shown and none has been chosen as correct.
- Legal status
- on-trialFrom the research record · cites:
- The GJKKO passes the Partizani file for trial (opens in a new tab)A2 CNN Albania · May 2025 · journalism · EN
- The court hearing against Berisha and Malltez is postponed, the new date set by the GJKKO is revealed (opens in a new tab)A2 CNN Albania · Jul 2025 · journalism · EN
- GJKKO rejects Berisha's request to disqualify the three-judge panel of the Partizani case (opens in a new tab)A2 CNN Albania · Jul 2025 · journalism · EN
- and 2 more in that record
- unknownFrom the research record · cites:
- Antigovernment protests in Albania turn violent, at least 13 arrested (opens in a new tab)Al Jazeera · 11 Feb 2026 · journalism · EN
- chargedFrom the research record · cites:
- Berisha attacks Veliaj over Tirana incinerator (Albanian, Shqiptarja) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · unknown · political-statement · SQ
- on-trialFrom the research record · cites:
- Source label
- OFFICIALLY_REPORTEDFrom the research record · cites:
- The GJKKO passes the Partizani file for trial (opens in a new tab)A2 CNN Albania · May 2025 · journalism · EN
- The court hearing against Berisha and Malltez is postponed, the new date set by the GJKKO is revealed (opens in a new tab)A2 CNN Albania · Jul 2025 · journalism · EN
- GJKKO rejects Berisha's request to disqualify the three-judge panel of the Partizani case (opens in a new tab)A2 CNN Albania · Jul 2025 · journalism · EN
- and 2 more in that record
- UNVERIFIEDFrom the research record · cites:
- OFFICIALLY_REPORTEDFrom the research record · cites:
Profile
Former Prime Minister of Albania (Democratic Party). Subject of the Partizani complex case (passive corruption), a US Section 7031(c) designation (May 2021) and a UK entry ban (July 2022). Summoned by SPAK in November 2025 in the January 21, 2011 investigation as a person with knowledge; reportedly denied ordering fire on protesters. The Partizani case was sent to trial in 2025; no 2026 hearing outcome was found.
Response from Sali Berisha
Calls the Partizani accusations lies and politically motivated, orchestrated by Edi Rama (Intellinews / A2 summaries). Lawyers challenged the judges' impartiality; the GJKKO rejected a request to remove the three-judge panel (A2 News). Rejects the US designation as baseless and says he intends to sue (search summary of US reporting). After the Nov 2025 SPAK questioning he denied giving an order to fire on protesters on January 21 (Shqiptarja, as reported).
Other accounts in the research (3 fields worded differently)
This record appears in more than one research record. The main text above comes from one; the other versions are kept here unedited.
- Biography
- Former Prime Minister of Albania (Democratic Party). Subject of the Partizani complex case (passive corruption), a US Section 7031(c) designation (May 2021) and a UK entry ban (July 2022). Summoned by SPAK in November 2025 in the January 21, 2011 investigation as a person with knowledge; reportedly denied ordering fire on protesters. The Partizani case was sent to trial in 2025; no 2026 hearing outcome was found.From the research record
- Leader of the Democratic Party of Albania and former Prime Minister. Quoted in February 2026 describing the protests as a 'peaceful uprising' (Associated Press, via Al Jazeera).From the research record
- Leader of the Democratic Party. He has publicly alleged links between Rama, KAYO and the Yeffet arrangements and said the party would submit documents to SPAK and NATO. These are partisan claims.From the research record
- Leader of the Democratic Party and opposition figure. Has attacked Veliaj over the Tirana waste incinerator and made claims about the cost of the incinerator contract (see financials, UNVERIFIED).From the research record
- Legal status detail
- Partizani complex: SPAK sent the file to the GJKKO for trial (reported May 2025); first trial session (set for 30 June 2025) was postponed; a later session was reported for 15 September 2025. No 2026 status found. January 21 file: questioned by SPAK as a person with knowledge (summons 17 Nov 2025 per Shteg); no charge reported in sources retrieved.From the research record
- Not searched in this research.From the research record
- No legal proceeding relating to the Israel links was found in the sources reviewed.From the research record
- Charged with passive corruption in the Partizani complex case (SPAK, Oct 2023 per search results; Wikipedia gives 11 Sep 2024 for the charge). GJKKO sent the file to trial (May 2025 per. 2026 trial status not found. Berisha denies the charges and calls them political. Source:and case-partizani.From the research record
- Response
- Calls the Partizani accusations lies and politically motivated, orchestrated by Edi Rama (Intellinews / A2 summaries). Lawyers challenged the judges' impartiality; the GJKKO rejected a request to remove the three-judge panel (A2 News). Rejects the US designation as baseless and says he intends to sue (search summary of US reporting). After the Nov 2025 SPAK questioning he denied giving an order to fire on protesters on January 21 (Shqiptarja, as reported).From the research record
- Described the February 2026 protests as a 'peaceful uprising' (Al Jazeera, 11 Feb 2026).From the research record
- Not applicable (opposition statements).From the research record
- Not applicable (claimant).From the research record
Related cases
Sorted by reported money, then by linked people and their legal status. The money figure is the largest single reported figure, not a total.
From Jun 2025
KAYO, Elbit Systems and Ron Yeffet arms arrangements (Albania)
Albanian state defence company KAYO has reportedly concluded arrangements with Israeli defence company Elbit Systems (artillery, mortars, drones, production facility, aviation academy in Vlora).…
Status: Under investigation (SPAK searches reported; no charge or court finding found). Contract value not publicly disclosed in any official source found.
From 24 Jan 2025
SPAK electoral-crime proceedings for the 11 May 2025 parliamentary elections
SPAK ordered an election task force on 24 January 2025 and, according to media reports of its statements, opened criminal proceedings for the 11 May 2025 vote. The reported counts differ: 46…
Status: Ongoing. Some cases at trial stage (Fier, Vau i Deja); others open or unresolved in sources reviewed. Aggregate counts unreconciled.
From 21 Jan 2011
21 January 2011 Tirana protest shootings
On 21 January 2011 an opposition protest in front of the Prime Minister's office in Tirana ended with four people killed by gunfire (Aleks Nika, Ziver Veizi, Hekuran Deda, Faik Myrtaj). The protest…
Status: Reopened investigation at SPAK (2024-present); no new charges reported in sources retrieved. Prendi and Llupo: final verdicts (lesser offence) with time served.
From 21 Oct 2023
Partizani complex privatisation (Sali Berisha and Jamarber Malltezi)
SPAK alleges that former Prime Minister Sali Berisha used his office to help his son-in-law Jamarber Malltezi obtain the privatisation of the former Partizani sports complex in Tirana, and that the…
Status: On trial at GJKKO; no verdict found in sources reviewed
From 19 May 2025
Partizani file: co-defendants referred with Sali Berisha and Jamarber Malltezi
This entry records the co-defendants named in the Partizani referral. The main case entry is case-partizani in. Reporting on the referral lists Berisha; Jamarber Malltezi (his son-in-law);…
Status: On trial at GJKKO; no verdict in the sources read
From Feb 2024
Protected areas: Law 21/2024 amendments and Constitutional Court challenge
Law 21/2024 amended the 2017 Law on Protected Areas. Opponents say it opened protected areas to tourist and resort construction. In November 2024, 37 opposition deputies asked the Constitutional…
Status: Constitutional Court rejected repeal (31 July 2025); law in force; political pressure for revision continues.
From 2 Dec 2024
Sazan island: strategic investor status (2024) and 2026 draft transfer of administration
Citizens.al (2025-01-16) reports that on 2 December 2024 President Bajram Begaj removed the Sazani area from the Armed Forces deployment plan, and that on 30 December 2024 the Strategic Investment…
Status: Strategic status granted (Dec 2024, as reported); draft transfer reported June 2026, adoption not confirmed; negotiations described as ongoing by Rama (per…
From 11 May 2025
2025 parliamentary results: Democratic Party appeals to KAS, recounts and diaspora ballots
After the 11 May 2025 parliamentary election, the Democratic Party (PD) appealed the certification of results in several counties, including Tirana, Kukes and Korce, and asked for the vote to be…
Status: Certification and appeals reported May-June 2025. Final KAS and KQZ outcomes not confirmed for all counties.
From 7 Oct 2024
October 2024 opposition protests in Tirana (Molotov cocktails, police injuries)
On 7 October 2024 an opposition protest in Tirana ended in clashes; supporters threw Molotov cocktails at government buildings and attacked police (Top Channel, Euronews, Al Jazeera). Police said 10…
Status: Protests occurred; no final court outcome for the individuals arrested in the sources retrieved.
A case listed here names this person. It does not mean they are accused in it; read the case page.
Connections
Open the map →alleged ties to Berisha (press, unverified)
Evidence: Shqiptarja and travel-site articles describe ties to Berisha's government and claimed land or mineral concessions; reported figures conflict (233 and 250 hectares) and are not verified.
Public accusation by PD leader
Evidence: Berisha called Dumani the 'second author' of the May 11 electoral farce and accused him of closing electoral-crime files (A2 News, 2025).
- Court proceeding→Partizani complex privatisation (Sali Berisha and Jamarber Malltezi)Source label: Officially reported
Charged: passive corruption
Evidence: SPAK-charged; GJKKO referred to trial May 2025 (A2 News).
Son-in-law
Evidence: Described as Berisha's son-in-law in SPAK / Top Channel reporting.
Section 7031(c) designation for significant corruption (19 May 2021)
Evidence: Designation announced 19 May 2021 by Secretary Blinken; official reprint at GlobalSecurity.org.
Waivers issued for several 7031(c) designations; Berisha status disputed (June 2026)
Evidence: State Dept reply, 11 Jun 2026: waivers for several designations; whether Berisha's own listing was lifted is disputed.
Non-public entry ban (July 2022), upheld by SIAC (June 2024)
Evidence: Jurist, June 2024: SIAC dismissed Berisha's appeal against the Home Secretary's entry ban.
Berisha requests Rama be summoned as witness in Partizani
Evidence: Special Court accepted the request, SPAK did not oppose (BalkanWeb, 16 Apr 2026). Berisha's allegation: Rama signed decisions changing the property's designated use.
Assembly lifts Berisha immunity, 21 Dec 2023, 75 votes
Evidence: Parliament lifted former PM Sali Berisha's immunity with 75 votes in favor; opposition boycotted, per IDEA tracker and JURIST.
PD-LSI 'Bashkë Fitojmë' coalition for 2023 local elections
Evidence: Berisha and Meta met 26 Oct 2022; joint coalition announced 15 March 2023 under the name 'Bashkë Fitojmë' per Wikipedia summary; Berisha's candidates ran under Meta's party list.
Reported family-business link (Berisha family)
Evidence: Shqiptarja (22 Nov 2025) describes Shtufi as linked to the Berisha family and Euroteorema Peqin as having older ties to it. The nature of the link is not specified in the article excerpt reviewed.
Counsel to Berisha in Partizani trial (shared-counsel record)
Evidence: Reporting names Gjokutaj as Berisha's lawyer at the GJKKO; the same lawyer also appears in the Ksera search summary (see conn-gjokutaj-ksera-counsel). No wrongdoing alleged by this link.
Co-defendant in Partizani referral
Evidence: Shqiptarja summary of the Partizani referral names Fatmir Bektashi, Xhimi Begeja, Andina Pustina and companies alongside Berisha and Malltezi.
Berisha claims incinerator profit (UNVERIFIED)
Evidence: Berisha's claim that Veliaj and related network profited from the incinerator contract; amount claimed about EUR 1 billion over 30 years (Shqiptarja, search result only).
What they said vs. what the documents show
What was said · 2025
Altin Dumani is an 'electoral criminal' because he closed all electoral-crime files; he is the 'second author' of the May 11 electoral farce after Edi Rama (paraphrase of A2 News reporting).
Speaker: Sali Berisha
Berisha attacks Altin Duman (opens in a new tab)A2 News · 2025 · journalism · EN
What the documents show
SPAK reported charges and referrals in several electoral cases (Fier, Kukes, Vau i Deja, Shkodra), which is inconsistent with 'all files closed'. The official count is not reconciled.
- Bleu vota per vajzen kandidate te PSD (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 27 Jun 2025 · journalism · SQ
What was said · May 2025
After the election, Berisha accused the Socialist Party of pressure, fraud and vote buying (summary of reporting; the Democratic Party also filed complaints with KQZ).
Speaker: Sali Berisha
2025 Albanian parliamentary election (Wikipedia) (opens in a new tab)Wikipedia · 11 May 2025 · wiki · EN
What the documents show
ODIHR final report notes instances of intimidation and vote buying and pressure on public employees on election day; it does not establish that the PS organised them and gives no prosecution counts.
- ODIHR final report (opens in a new tab)OSCE/ODIHR · 23 Oct 2025 · official · EN
What was said · Nov 2025
Denied having given an order to fire on protesters on 21 January 2011 after SPAK questioning (close paraphrase per Shqiptarja).
Speaker: Sali Berisha
Berisha ne SPAK per 21 janarin (Balkanweb) (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · Nov 2025 · journalism · SQ
What the documents show
Sources retrieved do not contain a court finding on who ordered the fire. ECHR found the state responsible for the killing and failure to investigate (reported). SPAK reopened the probe and questioned Berisha as a person with knowledge.
- Strasbourg International Court condemns Albanian state (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · Nov 2023 · journalism · EN
What was said · May 2025
Partizani accusations are lies and politically motivated, orchestrated by Edi Rama (reported close paraphrase).
Speaker: Sali Berisha
Albanian opposition leader Berisha formally charged with corruption (opens in a new tab)IntelliNews · 2024 · journalism · EN
What the documents show
GJKKO sent the file to trial (2025) and rejected a request to remove the panel. Trial outcome not known.
- The GJKKO passes the Partizani file for trial (opens in a new tab)A2 CNN Albania · May 2025 · journalism · EN
What was said · May 2021
Calls the US 7031(c) designation baseless and politically motivated; says he intends to sue the US Secretary of State for defamation (reported).
Speaker: Sali Berisha
US sanctions former Albanian PM Berisha for corruption (opens in a new tab)European Western Balkans · 19 May 2021 · journalism · EN
What the documents show
State Department states Berisha was involved in corrupt acts in his official capacity, including misappropriation of public funds and interference with public processes (as quoted in press reporting). Waivers exist for some designees; reporting does not say the designation was lifted.
- mil 210519 state10 (State Department statement, reprinted) (opens in a new tab)GlobalSecurity.org (State Department release) · 19 May 2021 · official · EN
What was said · 19 May 2021
Denied the corruption allegations and argued that no corruption charges had been brought against him during his political career (as reported; exact quote not read). Later said he was preparing a defamation suit against Blinken (reported).
Speaker: Sali Berisha
Former Albanian President Berisha Denies US Corruption Allegations (opens in a new tab)Exit.al · May 2021 · journalism · EN
What the documents show
Designation under Section 7031(c) was announced publicly by the State Department. Designation rationale as stated by the Secretary was 'significant corruption'; a Republican congressman later asked for detailed evidence (reported). Basis not publicly detailed beyond the statement.
- US sanctions former Albanian PM Berisha for corruption (opens in a new tab)European Western Balkans · 19 May 2021 · journalism · EN
What was said · 15 Apr 2026
Asked for Edi Rama to be summoned as a witness in the Partizani case, saying Rama signed the decisions that changed the property's designated use (as reported by BalkanWeb, headline quoting Berisha: 'Rama is a witness in the Partizani case').
Speaker: Sali Berisha
Rama as witness in Partizani case (BalkanWeb) (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 16 Apr 2026 · journalism · SQ
What the documents show
The Special Court accepted the request and SPAK did not oppose it (BalkanWeb). The article does not report any finding on the land-use claim, and does not report whether Rama appeared.
- Rama as witness in Partizani case (BalkanWeb) (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 16 Apr 2026 · journalism · SQ
What was said · Apr 2025
Sali Berisha said SPAK's investigation into the 'Partizani' file began after a denunciation by Balla (as reported in an April 2025 A2 News item seen in search results; exact date not verified).
Speaker: Sali Berisha
Again in SPAK, Berisha reveals the message for Dumani, continues the accusations against Balla (A2 News) (opens in a new tab)A2 News · unknown · political-statement · EN
What the documents show
Balla's own filing is documented: he filed a criminal complaint with SPAK on 17 Nov 2020 over the Partizani privatisation and testified as complainant (ev-2020-11-17-balla-partizani-complaint and ev-2023-06-07-balla-spak-testimony in. Berisha's claim about the origin of the investigation is a political statement; the sources reviewed neither confirm nor contradict it.
- Privatizimi i kompleksit Partizani, PS depoziton sot në SPAK (Shqiptarja) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · unknown · journalism · SQ
What was said · 3 Aug 2026
Kemi nderprere cdo bashkepunim ne perzgjedhjen e emrave me PS. (We have ended all cooperation with the PS on choosing names.) (translated)
Speaker: Sali Berisha
Berisha: Kemi nderprere cdo bashkepunim ne perzgjedhjen e emrave me PS (BalkanWeb) (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 3 Aug 2026 · journalism · SQ
What the documents show
Shabani was elected 11 Dec 2025 with 85 votes with opposition absent from the ballot; reporting attributes the votes to PS with PSD. The record shows PD signed support and then withdrew. Berisha's statement is about the Prosecutor General selection, not the KQZ, Constitutional Court or KLP.
- u zgjodh avokat i popullit me firmat e pd dhe votat e ps (Shqiptarja) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 12 Dec 2025 · journalism · SQ
What was said · 22 Jul 2016
Top Channel headline (2016): 'Rama violated agreement. Our condition is not allowing political influence in justice' (headline quote seen in search results; body not fetched). Per Top Channel's vetting-law article (30 Aug 2016), Berisha said the opposition had kept consensus and Rama had broken it.
Speaker: Sali Berisha
Berisha: 'Rama violated agreement. Our condition is not allowing political influence in justice' (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · 21 Jul 2016 · journalism · EN
What the documents show
Top Channel (30 Aug 2016) confirms the vetting law passed with the majority alone, 88 for and 1 abstention, with PD leaving the chamber. Rama in the same article says the opposition broke consensus. Each side blames the other; the record does not establish which side broke a deal.
- Majority votes 'Vetting Law'. Opposition abandons Parliament floor (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · 30 Aug 2016 · journalism · EN
What was said · Jun 2026
Opposition leader Sali Berisha said Sazan is public land while Zvernec is private land, and that both investments should proceed if nature and property rights are protected (search summary of Albanian coverage; paraphrase). Berisha is also reported to have said Rama is using Sazan to buy political influence (a2news, undated).
Speaker: Sali Berisha
Trump's son-in-law, strategic investor in Albania, Berisha: Rama is using Sazan to buy political influence (opens in a new tab)A2 News · undated · journalism · EN
What the documents show
Sazan is state-owned and a draft decision to transfer its administration exists (Reporter.al 2026-06-06). The Zvernec land ownership is disputed in court and under SPAK inquiry (SPAK 2026-06-01; The Star 2026-07-11). Berisha's own DP tabled repeal bills (Ina Zhupa, 14 May 2026).
- Document reveals government preparing transfer of Sazan Island for Jared Kushner project (opens in a new tab)Reporter.al (BIRN) · 6 Jun 2026 · journalism · EN
Timeline
Protest
Tirana protest: four killed by gunfire near PM's office
Opposition protest in Tirana; four people (Aleks Nika, Ziver Veizi, Hekuran Deda, Faik Myrtaj) killed. Who fired and on whose order is disputed.
Linked: 21 January 2011 Tirana protest shootings · Sali Berisha · Ndrea Prendi · Agim Llupo
Parliament
Vetting law passed by majority alone, 88 votes for, 1 abstention; opposition left the chamber
Top Channel (30 Aug 2016) reports the vetting law passed with 88 votes in favour and 1 abstention, out of 89 MPs present, with the opposition leaving the chamber before the vote, calling it a 'farce'. The article does not name the parties behind the votes. PM Rama said there could be no consensus against the international partners and accused the opposition of breaking consensus; Berisha said Rama had broken it; Speaker Meta urged the opposition to return to consensus. Single press source for the count.
Linked: Edi Rama · Sali Berisha · Ilir Meta
Parliament
KQZ package: Celibashi 106 votes; PD's Pelinku deputy with 105 votes; PD blocks PS-proposed Rusmajli
Parliament elected Ilirjan Celibashi State Commissioner (106) and Lealba Pelinku (PD) Deputy Commissioner (105), per the opposition-majority agreement. The Regulatory Commission (107 for, 4 against, 4 abstentions) and Appeals and Sanctions Commission (105 for, 5 against, 3 abstentions) were also elected. PS had proposed Ilir Rusmajli to lead one body; PD disqualified him, as reported by Shqiptarja. PM Rama called it a spirit of cooperation that the opposition refused.
Linked: Ilirjan Celibashi · Lealba Pelinku · Sali Berisha · Edi Rama
International
US State Department designates Sali Berisha under Section 7031(c) (significant corruption)
Designation makes Berisha and immediate family ineligible for US entry. Berisha calls it baseless and politically motivated.
Linked: Sali Berisha
International
US Secretary of State designates Sali Berisha under Section 7031(c) for significant corruption
Designation under Section 7031(c) of the FY2021 appropriations act makes Berisha and immediate family ineligible for US entry. Reported basis: corrupt acts while prime minister. Berisha denied the allegations. Official statement wording not verified (see doc-state-blinken-berisha-designation-2021-05-19).
Linked: Sali Berisha
Parliament
Constitutional change extends first-instance vetting deadlines to 31 Dec 2024: 118 votes for
Top Channel (10 Feb 2022) reports 118 votes in favour, 94 needed, 74 of them from the Socialist majority, and 4 abstentions (all SMI). Shqiptarja (11 Feb 2022) reports 118 votes: 73 PS, 41 PD and allies, 3 Social Democrats and 1 LSI rebel (Agron Çela); three LSI members abstained (Monika Kryemadhi, Petrit Vasili, Erisa Xhixho). The two accounts differ on the PS number, the abstainers and on whether Berisha's group voted against (Top Channel) or did not vote (Shqiptarja, which lists 13 unique non-voters). Balluku was absent (majority). Taulant Balla (PS group leader) said in Oct 2021 that PS would not negotiate PD's constitutional proposals in exchange for this vote (see claim-balla-2021-no-negotiation).
Linked: Taulant Balla · Monika Kryemadhi · Sali Berisha · Belinda Balluku
International
UK entry ban on Sali Berisha (date reported as 19 or 21 July 2022)
Home Secretary entry ban citing criminality and corruption and links to organised crime, as reported. Berisha challenged it; lost before SIAC in June 2024.
Linked: Sali Berisha
International
UK Home Secretary imposes entry ban on Sali Berisha
Reported as issued 21 July 2022 (Jurist) or 19 July 2022 (Top Channel); date not resolved. Reported grounds: alleged corruption and links to organised crime, which Berisha denies. UK does not publish names for entry restrictions; no gov.uk sanctions designation was found.
Linked: Sali Berisha
Other
Agron Neza issues written denial regarding McGonigal payment claims
Neza confirmed the 'Person A' identification and a meeting with Rama, denied any business discussion, and called the claim that he paid McGonigal fabrication.
Linked: McGonigal / Agron Neza payment and Rama contacts (US case) · Agron Neza · Sali Berisha · Edi Rama
SPAK
Jamarber Malltezi arrested in Partizani file
Police arrested Berisha's son-in-law on corruption and money-laundering accusations linked to the Partizani privatisation (Wikipedia).
Linked: Partizani complex privatisation (Sali Berisha and Jamarber Malltezi) · Jamarber Malltezi · Sali Berisha
Parliament
Parliament lifts Berisha immunity (75 votes)
Opposition boycott; the decision enabled the prosecution to proceed against Berisha, per reporting.
Linked: Sali Berisha · Edi Rama
Parliament
Assembly lifts Sali Berisha's immunity at SPAK request; majority votes, PD boycotts (count disputed)
Reported by JURIST and other outlets: parliament lifted Berisha's immunity on 21 Dec 2023 on SPAK's request, with the ruling Socialist majority supplying the votes and PD supporters disrupting the session. Count: one Albanian report gives 75 votes in favour from the majority (repeated across pages); another Albanian report gives 108 of 113 deputies voting in favour. The 108 figure could not be confirmed. The existing record ev-2023-12-21-berisha-immunity already holds the 75 count; this entry does not duplicate it, it adds the disputed count and the source conflict. Reported: house arrest ordered 30 Dec 2023 by a court.
Linked: Sali Berisha · Edi Rama
Court
SIAC dismisses Berisha's challenge to UK entry ban (month only, June 2024; exact day not verified)
Reported that the Special Immigration Appeals Commission dismissed all grounds of review in a 24-page written ruling. The day is a placeholder set to 1 June; the source gives only the month.
Linked: Sali Berisha
SPAK
Sali Berisha formally charged in Partizani file
Formal charge of corruption, per Wikipedia. A search snippet dates a SPAK charge publication to October 2023; the discrepancy is unresolved.
Linked: Partizani complex privatisation (Sali Berisha and Jamarber Malltezi) · Sali Berisha
Protest
Opposition protest in Tirana: Molotov cocktails and police injured
Police said 10 officers injured; authorities said 10 officers and 3 demonstrators injured.
Linked: October 2024 opposition protests in Tirana (Molotov cocktails, police injuries) · Sali Berisha
Court
Court orders Berisha released; Constitutional Court restores travel rights
Per Wikipedia: a court ordered his release from house arrest and the Constitutional Court restored his freedom to travel abroad.
Linked: Partizani complex privatisation (Sali Berisha and Jamarber Malltezi) · Sali Berisha
Court
GJKKO refers Partizani case (Berisha, Malltezi, Bektashi, Begeja, Pustina) to trial
Preliminary hearing concluded; Berisha's lawyer challenged the judges. Berisha did not attend an earlier session citing non-notification.
Linked: Partizani complex privatisation (Sali Berisha and Jamarber Malltezi) · Sali Berisha · Jamarber Malltezi · Fatmir Bektashi
Other
Parliamentary election held in Albania
The Socialist Party won; the PD alleged vote buying, pressure and fraud, and appealed certifications to KAS and asked KQZ to audit diaspora ballots.
Linked: 2025 parliamentary results: Democratic Party appeals to KAS, recounts and diaspora ballots · SPAK electoral-crime proceedings for the 11 May 2025 parliamentary elections · Sali Berisha · Edi Rama
Court
Partizani trial opens at GJKKO with Berisha and co-defendants (date reported inconsistently)
A2 and a search summary give 19 May 2025 as the trial start, with Presiding Judge Elsa Ulliri rejecting the Berisha-Malltezi request to exclude the panel and other defence motions, including Kontakt's request for a shortened trial, being rejected. A Shqiptarja headline gives the trial start as 30 June; the year is not stated in the headline. The two dates are not reconciled in the sources read.
Linked: Partizani complex privatisation (Sali Berisha and Jamarber Malltezi) · Partizani file: co-defendants referred with Sali Berisha and Jamarber Malltezi · Sali Berisha · Jamarber Malltezi · Genc Gjokutaj
SPAK
SPAK summons Berisha in January 21 investigation (person with knowledge)
Berisha says he was not informed in advance; after ~2 hour questioning denied ordering fire (Shqiptarja, as reported).
Linked: 21 January 2011 Tirana protest shootings · Sali Berisha
Parliament
Parliament elects Endri Shabani People's Advocate (85 votes); opposition does not vote
Vote carried by PS with PSD help, per reporting; PD had signed support for candidates and then withdrew. Shabani's post says majority deputies had first refused to sign and then voted for him, including by secret ballot. The party-level split of the 85 votes is not in the sources read.
Linked: Endri Shabani · Sali Berisha
Police
Opposition protest in Tirana: 13 arrests reported
Al Jazeera (11 Feb 2026) reports police arrested 13 people, and that 'another 13 people were arrested at the scene'; at least 16 people were reported injured and hospitalised, with media reports conflicting on whether the injured were police, protesters, or both. No police statement on charges is included in the article. Sali Berisha (Democratic Party) is quoted calling it a 'peaceful uprising'. The article contains no government statement.
Linked: Sali Berisha
Court
Special Court accepts request to summon Edi Rama as witness in Partizani case
Per BalkanWeb (article dated 16 Apr 2026, which says the decision was given 'yesterday'), the GJKKO accepted Sali Berisha's request, made through his lawyers, to summon Rama as a witness; SPAK did not oppose. Berisha argues Rama signed the decisions that changed the property's designated use while he was Tirana mayor. No response from Rama found; Rama's appearance not confirmed.
Linked: Partizani complex privatisation (Sali Berisha and Jamarber Malltezi) · Edi Rama · Sali Berisha
International
State Department confirms waivers for several 7031(c) designations; status of Berisha's own designation disputed
State Department reply to Euronews Albania (11 June 2026): waivers issued for several 7031(c) designations from the previous administration 'because granting the waivers serves a compelling national interest'. Berisha said the ban was lifted for him and his family; Gazeta TemA reports the reply did not confirm a formal lifting and the 2021 listing remains public. Status DISPUTED.
Linked: Sali Berisha
Parliament
Balla in plenary: Democrats suffer from 'Stockholm syndrome'; urges that Berisha be jailed as protesters demand
BalkanWeb (23 Jul 2026, 11:13) reports Balla's plenary reply: 'You suffer from Stockholm syndrome, where the raped falls in love with the rapist' (translated from 'Ju vuani nga sindroma e Stokholmit, ku i përdhunuari bie në dashuri me përdhunuesin') and 'The protesters say: Saliu to prison. Meet the protesters' demand. Send Saliu to prison.' (translated from 'Protestuesit thonë: Saliu në burg. Plotësojeni kërkesën e protestuesve. Çojeni Saliun në burg.'). The article does not attribute the word 'terrorists' to Balla. See claim-balla-2026-terrorist-label-protesters infor the unverified claim.
Linked: Taulant Balla · Sali Berisha
Parliament
Berisha: PD has ended all cooperation with PS on choosing names
Statement at SPAK after the Ombudsman case and the Prosecutor General contest: the opposition would not take part in choosing names for the Prosecutor General post. Quote: 'Kemi nderprere cdo bashkepunim ne perzgjedhjen e emrave me PS.' (We have ended all cooperation with PS on choosing names.) (translated)
Linked: Sali Berisha
Court
Constitutional Court rejects PD request to annul Shabani's election as Ombudsman
PD had argued the Assembly procedure, and questions of Shabani's eligibility, were unconstitutional. The Court found the procedure consistent with the Constitution, per BalkanWeb. The decision number and reasoning are not in the article.
Linked: Endri Shabani · Sali Berisha
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 40 sources.
Source label: VerifiedVerified · 4 sources
- Publisher
- U.S. Department of State (reprint)
- Date
- 19 May 2021
- Publisher
- Jurist
- Date
- Jun 2024
- Publisher
- JURIST
- Date
- 21 Dec 2023
- Publisher
- International IDEA
- Date
- Dec 2023
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 16 sources
- Publisher
- A2 CNN Albania
- Date
- May 2025
- Publisher
- A2 CNN Albania
- Date
- Jul 2025
- Publisher
- A2 CNN Albania
- Date
- Jul 2025
- Publisher
- Shteg
- Date
- Nov 2025
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- Nov 2025
- Publisher
- shqiptarja.com
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- shqiptarja.com
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- shqiptarja.com
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Al Jazeera
- Date
- 11 Feb 2026
- Publisher
- Albanian Daily News
- Date
- 2026
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja.com
- Date
- unknown
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- 2025
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- 2024
- Publisher
- BalkanWeb
- Date
- 16 Apr 2026
- Afera Partizani: SPAK dergon per gjykim dosjen, Berisha dhe Dhendri te pandehur (opens in a new tab)
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- May 2025
- Publisher
- European Western Balkans
- Date
- 19 May 2021
Source label: Under investigationUnder investigation · 12 sources
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 22 Nov 2025
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- unknown
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- 11 May 2025
- Publisher
- OSCE/ODIHR
- Date
- 23 Oct 2025
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- Nov 2023
- Publisher
- IntelliNews
- Date
- 2024
- Publisher
- BalkanWeb
- Date
- 3 Aug 2026
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 12 Dec 2025
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- 21 Jul 2016
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- 30 Aug 2016
- Publisher
- A2 News
- Date
- undated
- Publisher
- Reporter.al (BIRN)
- Date
- 6 Jun 2026
Source label: DisputedDisputed · 1 source
- Publisher
- Gazeta TemA
- Date
- 11 Jun 2026
Source label: UnverifiedUnverified · 7 sources
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja.com
- Date
- undated
- Publisher
- A2 News
- Date
- 2025
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- 2023
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 27 Jun 2025
- Publisher
- Exit.al
- Date
- May 2021
- Publisher
- A2 News
- Date
- unknown
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- unknown

