Elbasan incinerator: appellate and High Court status (2023-2026)
Status: Appeal decision nr. 43 (8 Nov 2024) upheld by the High Court per Balkanweb, 19 May 2026. Zoto, Mërtiri and Gugallja convicted in absentia (High Court report). Koka's custody and any Elbasan release not confirmed (a search summary reports conditional release by the Durrës court in July 2025).
Summary
The Special Court of Appeal for Corruption and Organized Crime (GJKKO Appeal) issued decision nr. 43 (87-2024-321) on 8 November 2024 in the Elbasan case. Balkanweb reports that on 19 May 2026 the High Court refused the further appeal and left that decision in force, upholding the sentences of Lefter Koka, Alqi Bllako and others, and naming Mirel Mërtiri, Stela Gugallja and Klodian Zoto as convicted in absentia. The High Court decision date and number are not stated in the article read.
Sentence figures conflict. Top Channel (2023) reports Koka at 5 years 8 months. Wikipedia gives 6 years 8 months. A Shqiptarja piece of 21 Oct 2025 lists the GJKKO first-instance nominal terms (Koka 10 years, Bllako 4 years) and says all convicted defendants received a one-third reduction under shortened trial. On that pattern, 10 years nominal becomes 6 years 8 months effective.
Key facts
- 8 Nov 2024: GJKKO Appeal decision nr. 43 (87-2024-321) (reported by Balkanweb, 19 May 2026).
- 19 May 2026: High Court refused the appeal and left decision nr. 43 in force (Balkanweb; decision date not stated).
- Named as convicted in absentia in the High Court report: Mirel Mërtiri, Stela Gugallja, Klodian Zoto.
- Elbasan plant out of operation from December 2023 (Wikipedia).
- SPAK-appointed expert's final value of the plant: 26,072,756.18 euro (reported 29 Nov 2022; see financials).
The record
Four lists kept apart on purpose: what is established, what is only alleged, what is still open, and what those concerned said.
What is proven (1)
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
- A GJKKO Appeal decision (nr. 43, 8 Nov 2024) and the High Court's refusal to hear a further appeal (reported 19 May 2026) are reported in news coverage. The judgment texts were not read.
What is alleged (1)
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- AllegationPassive corruption, money laundering and embezzlement in the Elbasan concession (SPAK allegations, as reported).
Allegations and who made them (1)
Each line is an allegation as recorded, with the person or body that made it where the record names them.
- AllegationSPAK alleges Lefter Koka benefited from about 3.7 million euro from the Elbasan incinerator (Shqiptarja headline; Telegrafi headline gives 'more than 3.6 million euro').
Open questions (5)
- Koka's Elbasan sentence: 5y8m (Top Channel, 2023) vs 6y8m effective (Wikipedia, Shqiptarja) vs 10y nominal (Shqiptarja, 21 Oct 2025).
- Zoto, Mërtiri and Gugallja: nominal terms in absentia not confirmed. Sources give Zoto 12 years (Wikipedia, first instance), 10 years in absentia (Telegrafi, search only) and 6.8 years (Top Channel). Gugallja 4.8 years (Top Channel) vs 7 years nominal (search summary).
- Alqi Bllako in Elbasan: Top Channel says 'found innocent'. Wikipedia and a Shqiptarja search summary say 2 years 8 months. Balkanweb's 19 May 2026 report names him in the upheld group without a stated outcome.
- Whether the High Court decision is final for each defendant, and whether Koka is in custody, is not confirmed.
- The research brief's Elbasan concession value (about 28 million euro) is not confirmed by any opened source. See financials.
Responses (2)
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
- Alqi Bllako told the court he had nothing to do with the incinerators (ABC News headline, search only).
- Arben Ahmetaj, from abroad, accuses PM Edi Rama of seeking to influence prosecutors and judges (Telegrafi headline, search only).
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 4 sources.
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 4 sources
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 19 May 2026
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- 5 Oct 2023
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 21 Oct 2025