Lefter Koka
Socialist Party (PS)
Legal status
Convicted
convicted
What this means: A court found the person guilty. Check the detail below for whether the verdict is final or under appeal.
Profile
Former Minister of Environment of Albania. Named in the Elbasan, Fier and Tirana incinerator cases. First-instance Special Court verdicts in 2023 (Elbasan, Fier) and a Tirana verdict later; sentences differ by source (see cases and financials notes). A Special Court of Appeal decision of 14 May 2026 ordered him back to prison to serve remaining time, per Albanian Daily News.
Response from Lefter Koka
No defence statement found in the articles read. Albanian Daily News (14 May 2026) includes no defence statement.
Other accounts in the research (3 fields worded differently)
This record appears in more than one research record. The main text above comes from one; the other versions are kept here unedited.
- Biography
- Former Minister of Environment of Albania. Named in the Elbasan, Fier and Tirana incinerator cases. First-instance Special Court verdicts in 2023 (Elbasan, Fier) and a Tirana verdict later; sentences differ by source (see cases and financials notes). A Special Court of Appeal decision of 14 May 2026 ordered him back to prison to serve remaining time, per Albanian Daily News.From the research record
- Full record in(id lefter-koka); this entry covers the cabinet and legal-status angle only.From the research record
- Legal status detail
- First-instance conviction in Elbasan (5y8m reported, 5 Oct 2023, Top Channel). Fier conviction reported as 6y8m effective after shortened trial, annulled and returned for retrial by Special Court of Appeal (19 Dec 2024, A2). Tirana first instance: Telegrafi reports 2 years (3 years reduced under summary trial). 14 May 2026: Special Appeals Court ordered return to prison for remaining six months (Albanian Daily News). Current custody status not confirmed beyond that article.From the research record
- Convictions are reported in the Fier and Elbasan incinerator cases (see existing case-fier-incinerator and case-elbasan-incinerator). Sentence figures differ across search summaries and are unresolved. On 11 Dec 2025 the GJKKO Special Appeals Court revoked the arrest-in-prison measure in the Fier case and sent the matter back for retrial. SPAK appealed to the Supreme Court. Per the Albanian Daily News article, authorities cannot locate him at his registered address (a public notice was returned 'moved').From the research record
- Response
- No defence statement found in the articles read. Albanian Daily News (14 May 2026) includes no defence statement.From the research record
- None in the article.From the research record
Related cases
Sorted by reported money, then by linked people and their legal status. The money figure is the largest single reported figure, not a total.
From Aug 2017
Tirana incinerator case
The Tirana concession (landfill, incinerator and rehabilitation of existing sites, 30 years) was awarded on 31 Aug 2017 to Integrated Energy B.V. SPV sh.p.k. with an investment of about 128 million…
Status: First-instance verdict reported; appeal decision of 14 May 2026 reinstating prison for Koka reported
From Dec 2014
Elbasan incinerator case
The Elbasan waste incinerator was concessioned in Dec 2014 to Albtek Energy under a BOT contract. Construction started March 2015 and the plant launched in April 2017. SPAK issued seizure and arrest…
Status: First-instance verdict 5 Oct 2023; later appellate and procedural status not confirmed
From Oct 2015
Fier incinerator case
The Fier waste incinerator concession was awarded to Integrated Technology Waste Treatment Fier under a BOT contract with the Ministry of Environment (Wikipedia summary gives Oct 2016; a date inside…
Status: Returned for retrial at first instance (Dec 2024); later procedural developments not confirmed
Elbasan incinerator: appellate and High Court status (2023-2026)
The Special Court of Appeal for Corruption and Organized Crime (GJKKO Appeal) issued decision nr. 43 (87-2024-321) on 8 November 2024 in the Elbasan case. Balkanweb reports that on 19 May 2026 the…
Status: Appeal decision nr. 43 (8 Nov 2024) upheld by the High Court per Balkanweb, 19 May 2026. Zoto, Mërtiri and Gugallja convicted in absentia (High Court report).…
Fier incinerator: retrial status after the High Court (2023-2025)
GJKKO first-instance judgment in the Fier file (reported as September 2023). The Special Court of Appeal decision nr. 55 (87-2024-383) of 19 Dec 2024 sent the case back for retrial. On 21 October…
Status: Pending retrial at the GJKKO Appeal Court before a different panel (High Court decision of 21 Oct 2025). The Dec 2024 retrial order was annulled. No 2026…
Tirana incinerator: first-instance verdict (16 Apr 2025) and appeal order (14 May 2026)
The Tirana case went to trial in late 2024 (Shqiptarja, search summary). Koka and seven other defendants were tried under the shortened procedure, while four defendants went to ordinary trial…
Status: First-instance verdict 16 Apr 2025 (Koka 2 years). Appeal order 14 May 2026 to return Koka to prison for six months. Enforcement not confirmed.
A case listed here names this person. It does not mean they are accused in it; read the case page.
Connections
Open the map →Convicted in the Elbasan file; appeal decision nr. 43 (8 Nov 2024) left in force by the High Court (reported 19 May 2026)
Evidence: Balkanweb reports the High Court left decision nr. 43 in force, upholding Koka's sentence.
Convicted at first instance in the Fier file; Dec 2024 appeal ruling overturned by the High Court (Oct 2025); retrial pending
Evidence: Shqiptarja, 21 Oct 2025: the High Court returned the Fier case to GJKKO Appeal for retrial before a different panel.
defendant (Tirana)
Evidence: Telegrafi verdict report; Albanian Daily News 14 May 2026.
Co-accused in incinerator cases (Bllako tried separately in Tirana case)
Evidence: A2 reports Bllako was tried separately from the other co-defendants in the Tirana incinerator case and sentenced to four years; reporting on the Elbasan outcome conflicts (see gaps). Outcomes for the wider case are in.
Timeline
Court
Fier first-instance verdict
Special Court first-instance verdict in the Fier case (late Sept 2023 per ABC News preview timestamp 25 Sept 2023). Sentence figures disputed across sources; see case openQuestions.
Linked: Fier incinerator case · Lefter Koka · Alqi Bllako · Klodian Zoto
Court
Elbasan first-instance verdict
Special Court verdict reported by Top Channel on 5 Oct 2023: Koka 5 years 8 months and 5 years disqualification; Bllako acquitted; Zoto and Mertiri 6.8 years, Gugallja 4.8 years (combined article, case attribution not fully explicit).
Linked: Elbasan incinerator case · Lefter Koka · Alqi Bllako · Klodian Zoto · Mirel Mërtiri · Stela Gugallja
Court
Special Court of Appeal decision nr. 43 (87-2024-321) in the Elbasan case
GJKKO Appeal decision nr. 43 (87-2024-321) of 8 Nov 2024, which the High Court later refused to change (reported 19 May 2026). A search summary says the appeal court convicted Koka also of abuse of office and added one year to his sentence; not confirmed in an opened article.
Linked: Elbasan incinerator case · Lefter Koka · Alqi Bllako · Klodian Zoto · Mirel Mërtiri · Stela Gugallja
Court
GJKKO Appeal decision nr. 55 (87-2024-383) orders the Fier case retried
Decision nr. 55 of 19.12.2024 ordered the Fier case retried. The High Court overturned it on 21 Oct 2025. Corresponds to the existing event ev-2024-12-19-fier-retrial.
Linked: Fier incinerator case · Lefter Koka · Alqi Bllako · Klodian Zoto · Mirel Mërtiri · Stela Gugallja
Court
Special Court of Appeal returns Fier case for retrial
Special Court of Appeal annulled the Fier first-instance ruling and returned the case for retrial before a different first-instance panel (A2, 19 Dec 2024).
Linked: Fier incinerator case · Lefter Koka
Court
Tirana verdict date set
Date set for announcement of the Tirana verdict (search summary of A2 article; not opened). Verdict content per Telegrafi, date not stated in article read.
Linked: Tirana incinerator case · Lefter Koka
Court
GJKKO revokes Lefter Koka's arrest-in-prison measure in the Fier incinerator case; retrial ordered
SPAK appeals to the Supreme Court; authorities report his whereabouts unknown.
Linked: Fier incinerator case · Lefter Koka
Court
Special Appeals Court orders Lefter Koka back to prison for the remaining six months (Tirana case)
Confirms the existing event ev-2026-05-14-koka-return-prison. ADN: the court partly overturned a decision that had revoked the 'arrest in prison' measure. Enforcement not stated.
Linked: Tirana incinerator case · Lefter Koka
Court
Special Appeals Court orders Koka back to prison (Tirana case)
Special Court of Appeal (panel: Ilirjana Olldashi, Nertina Kosova, Daniela Shirka) ordered Koka to return to prison for the remaining six months; partly overturned an earlier decision that had lifted the arrest-in-prison measure (Albanian Daily News). Other Tirana defendants' verdicts upheld.
Linked: Tirana incinerator case · Lefter Koka
Court
High Court refuses to change Elbasan appeal decision nr. 43; upheld sentences listed (as reported)
Balkanweb, 19 May 2026: the High Court, sitting in council chamber, left decision nr. 43 (87-2024-321) of 8 Nov 2024 in force. Named as upheld: Koka; Alqi Bllako; Pëllumb Abeshi; Bardhyl Çabiri; Serafin Papa; Jonida Zeqo; Mirel Mërtiri (in absentia); Stela Gugallja (in absentia); Klodian Zoto (in absentia); legal persons Albtek Energy and Integrated Technology Services. Decision date and sentence lengths not stated in the article.
Linked: Elbasan incinerator case · Lefter Koka · Alqi Bllako · Klodian Zoto · Mirel Mërtiri · Stela Gugallja · Pëllumb Abeshi · Serafin Papa · Bardhyl Çabiri · Jonida Zeqo
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 9 sources.
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 9 sources
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- 5 Oct 2023
- Publisher
- A2 CNN Albania
- Date
- 19 Dec 2024
- Publisher
- Albanian Daily News
- Date
- 14 May 2026
- Publisher
- Telegrafi
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Albanian Daily News
- Date
- 2026
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 19 May 2026
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 21 Oct 2025
- Publisher
- A2 CNN
- Date
- Mar 2025
