Klodian Zoto
No party
Legal status
Convicted
convicted
What this means: A court found the person guilty. Check the detail below for whether the verdict is final or under appeal.
Profile
Businessman named by SPAK as a de facto owner of companies in the Elbasan, Fier and Tirana incinerator concessions, together with Mirel Mertiri. Declared internationally wanted by SPAK on 26 Jan 2022 (Exit News). Exit News later reported on incinerators in Zimbabwe linked to him.
Response from Klodian Zoto
No direct defence statement retrieved.
Other accounts in the research (3 fields worded differently)
This record appears in more than one research record. The main text above comes from one; the other versions are kept here unedited.
- Biography
- Businessman named by SPAK as a de facto owner of companies in the Elbasan, Fier and Tirana incinerator concessions, together with Mirel Mertiri. Declared internationally wanted by SPAK on 26 Jan 2022 (Exit News). Exit News later reported on incinerators in Zimbabwe linked to him.From the research record
- Albanian businessman named by SPAK as de facto owner, with Mirel Mërtiri, of companies in the Elbasan, Fier and Tirana waste-incinerator concessions, including Albtek Energy and the Integrated Energy B.V. special-purpose vehicle in Tirana. SPAK declared him internationally wanted (Exit News reports January 2022). Exit News reports he is a director of Integrated Energy BV according to Dutch Chamber of Commerce records, and that Zimbabwe's city council cancelled an incinerator MoU with Integrated Energy BV and its sister company.From the research record
- Legal status detail
- Fier first instance: sentence reported as 12 years (prosecution request in some reports), reduced to 8 years under shortened trial (A2/search summary), but Top Channel (Oct 2023) reports 6.8 years for Zoto and Mertiri. Conflict unresolved. Status in Tirana case unconfirmed. Declared internationally wanted 26 Jan 2022 (Exit News). Extradition/detention of a former Fier administrator from Zimbabwe reported by A2 (headline only; name not confirmed in text read).From the research record
- Press summaries andreport conviction in absentia in the Elbasan and Fier incinerator cases. The primary court decision was not retrieved. Conflicting: a Gazeta Tema report dated 2 Jul 2026 describes the Tirana incinerator case going to trial against Zoto and Mërtiri on fraud, money-laundering and structured-group charges. Treat the status as contested until the court record is checked. Declared wanted by SPAK (reported Jan 2022).From the research record
- Response
- No direct defence statement retrieved.From the research record
- No public response from Zoto to the SPAK ownership allegations was found in the sources retrieved.From the research record
Related cases
Sorted by reported money, then by linked people and their legal status. The money figure is the largest single reported figure, not a total.
From Aug 2017
Tirana incinerator case
The Tirana concession (landfill, incinerator and rehabilitation of existing sites, 30 years) was awarded on 31 Aug 2017 to Integrated Energy B.V. SPV sh.p.k. with an investment of about 128 million…
Status: First-instance verdict reported; appeal decision of 14 May 2026 reinstating prison for Koka reported
From Dec 2014
Elbasan incinerator case
The Elbasan waste incinerator was concessioned in Dec 2014 to Albtek Energy under a BOT contract. Construction started March 2015 and the plant launched in April 2017. SPAK issued seizure and arrest…
Status: First-instance verdict 5 Oct 2023; later appellate and procedural status not confirmed
From Oct 2015
Fier incinerator case
The Fier waste incinerator concession was awarded to Integrated Technology Waste Treatment Fier under a BOT contract with the Ministry of Environment (Wikipedia summary gives Oct 2016; a date inside…
Status: Returned for retrial at first instance (Dec 2024); later procedural developments not confirmed
Elbasan incinerator: appellate and High Court status (2023-2026)
The Special Court of Appeal for Corruption and Organized Crime (GJKKO Appeal) issued decision nr. 43 (87-2024-321) on 8 November 2024 in the Elbasan case. Balkanweb reports that on 19 May 2026 the…
Status: Appeal decision nr. 43 (8 Nov 2024) upheld by the High Court per Balkanweb, 19 May 2026. Zoto, Mërtiri and Gugallja convicted in absentia (High Court report).…
Fier incinerator: retrial status after the High Court (2023-2025)
GJKKO first-instance judgment in the Fier file (reported as September 2023). The Special Court of Appeal decision nr. 55 (87-2024-383) of 19 Dec 2024 sent the case back for retrial. On 21 October…
Status: Pending retrial at the GJKKO Appeal Court before a different panel (High Court decision of 21 Oct 2025). The Dec 2024 retrial order was annulled. No 2026…
Tirana incinerator: first-instance verdict (16 Apr 2025) and appeal order (14 May 2026)
The Tirana case went to trial in late 2024 (Shqiptarja, search summary). Koka and seven other defendants were tried under the shortened procedure, while four defendants went to ordinary trial…
Status: First-instance verdict 16 Apr 2025 (Koka 2 years). Appeal order 14 May 2026 to return Koka to prison for six months. Enforcement not confirmed.
A case listed here names this person. It does not mean they are accused in it; read the case page.
Connections
Open the map →Board member / owner of Integrated Energy B.V. (exit.al, search summary)
Evidence: Exit.al: Dutch parent registered 19 Aug 2016, capital 50,000 euro, board including Zoto (described as owner) and Ernesto Granelli. Cross-ref to.
Named as convicted in absentia in the Elbasan file (High Court report, 19 May 2026)
Evidence: Balkanweb names 'Klodian Zoto (in absentia)' among those whose sentences were upheld; term not stated in that article.
alleged de facto owner
Evidence: SPAK calls Zoto and Mertiri de facto owners of the Tirana concession companies (Tirana Times, Aug 2023).
owner
Evidence: Top Channel verdict summary names Zoto as owner of Integrated Technology Service.
Timeline
SPAK
Klodian Zoto and Stela Gugallja declared internationally wanted
SPAK declared Zoto and Gugallja internationally wanted (Exit News, article dated 26 Jan 2022).
Linked: Elbasan incinerator case · Fier incinerator case · Klodian Zoto · Stela Gugallja
SPAK
Special Court orders preventive seizure of Integrated Energy B.V. SPV
Per Shqiptarja (search summary): on request of SPAK, the Special Court signed a preventive seizure against Integrated Energy B.V. SPV sh.p.k.; SPAK says Zoto and Mertiri are de facto owners of it and of its Dutch parent (later renamed Geogenix B.V. per SPAK).
Linked: Tirana incinerator case · Klodian Zoto · Mirel Mërtiri
SPAK
SPAK preventive seizure of Tirana concession company
Preventive seizure of Integrated Energy B.V. SPV sh.p.k. and of Zoto's Integrated Technology Services; a 611 m2 property worth 1 million euro seized (Tirana Times). Tirana Times says the Dutch parent was later renamed Geogenix B.V.
Linked: Tirana incinerator case · Klodian Zoto · Mirel Mërtiri
Court
Fier first-instance verdict
Special Court first-instance verdict in the Fier case (late Sept 2023 per ABC News preview timestamp 25 Sept 2023). Sentence figures disputed across sources; see case openQuestions.
Linked: Fier incinerator case · Lefter Koka · Alqi Bllako · Klodian Zoto
Court
Elbasan first-instance verdict
Special Court verdict reported by Top Channel on 5 Oct 2023: Koka 5 years 8 months and 5 years disqualification; Bllako acquitted; Zoto and Mertiri 6.8 years, Gugallja 4.8 years (combined article, case attribution not fully explicit).
Linked: Elbasan incinerator case · Lefter Koka · Alqi Bllako · Klodian Zoto · Mirel Mërtiri · Stela Gugallja
Court
Special Court of Appeal decision nr. 43 (87-2024-321) in the Elbasan case
GJKKO Appeal decision nr. 43 (87-2024-321) of 8 Nov 2024, which the High Court later refused to change (reported 19 May 2026). A search summary says the appeal court convicted Koka also of abuse of office and added one year to his sentence; not confirmed in an opened article.
Linked: Elbasan incinerator case · Lefter Koka · Alqi Bllako · Klodian Zoto · Mirel Mërtiri · Stela Gugallja
Court
GJKKO Appeal decision nr. 55 (87-2024-383) orders the Fier case retried
Decision nr. 55 of 19.12.2024 ordered the Fier case retried. The High Court overturned it on 21 Oct 2025. Corresponds to the existing event ev-2024-12-19-fier-retrial.
Linked: Fier incinerator case · Lefter Koka · Alqi Bllako · Klodian Zoto · Mirel Mërtiri · Stela Gugallja
Court
High Court refuses to change Elbasan appeal decision nr. 43; upheld sentences listed (as reported)
Balkanweb, 19 May 2026: the High Court, sitting in council chamber, left decision nr. 43 (87-2024-321) of 8 Nov 2024 in force. Named as upheld: Koka; Alqi Bllako; Pëllumb Abeshi; Bardhyl Çabiri; Serafin Papa; Jonida Zeqo; Mirel Mërtiri (in absentia); Stela Gugallja (in absentia); Klodian Zoto (in absentia); legal persons Albtek Energy and Integrated Technology Services. Decision date and sentence lengths not stated in the article.
Linked: Elbasan incinerator case · Lefter Koka · Alqi Bllako · Klodian Zoto · Mirel Mërtiri · Stela Gugallja · Pëllumb Abeshi · Serafin Papa · Bardhyl Çabiri · Jonida Zeqo
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 9 sources.
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 9 sources
- Publisher
- Exit News
- Date
- 26 Jan 2022
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- 5 Oct 2023
- Publisher
- Tirana Times
- Date
- 8 Aug 2023
- Publisher
- Exit News
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- not recorded
- Publisher
- Exit News
- Date
- undated
- Publisher
- Gazeta Tema
- Date
- 2 Jul 2026
- Publisher
- Exit.al
- Date
- undated
- Publisher
- Balkanweb
- Date
- 19 May 2026