Head or senior official of the State Police scientific laboratory arrested in AKSHI-linked SPAK operation (Sept 2026)
Status: Arrested as reported; charges and measures not stated in the reporting retrieved.
Summary
On 22 September 2026 SPAK's operation, reported as part of the AKSHI investigation, arrested Fatjon Kalluci, described by BalkanWeb as head of the police scientific laboratory and by Albanian Daily News as a senior official there. The reporting also says a Durrës business administrator was arrested in the same operation (not named here as a private individual). Searches were carried out at homes and offices of current and former officials.
The reporting retrieved does not state the charges. One secondary report dated the arrest 26 August 2026, but the article retrieved is dated 22 September 2026; the arrest date should be treated as unconfirmed.
Key facts
- Arrest reported on 22 Sep 2026 (BalkanWeb and Albanian Daily News, publication dates).
- Press description of his post differs (head vs senior official of the State Police scientific laboratory).
- Reports say the operation is linked to the AKSHI investigation; no specific charges are given in the retrieved reporting.
- Former State Police director Ilir Proda's home was searched in the same operation (see n26-lp-ilir-proda-spak-search-2026).
The record
Four lists kept apart on purpose: what is established, what is only alleged, what is still open, and what those concerned said.
What is proven (1)
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
- An arrest of Kalluci was reported by two outlets on 22 Sep 2026.
What is alleged (1)
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- AllegationNo allegation against Kalluci is described in the retrieved reporting; the link to AKSHI is press framing.
Allegations and who made them (1)
Each line is an allegation as recorded, with the person or body that made it where the record names them.
- AllegationReported as part of the SPAK AKSHI probe; the specific allegation against Kalluci is not stated in the sources retrieved.
Open questions (2)
- Exact charges, arrest date, and whether a court ordered custody.
- Whether the laboratory played a role in the AKSHI-related investigation (for example, forensic work on seized devices).
Responses (1)
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
- No statement from Kalluci or the police found in the reporting retrieved.
Timeline
Full timeline →SPAK
SPAK expands AKSHI operation: searches of former police and intelligence chiefs, arrests of lab official
SPAK's operation, as reported on 22 Sep 2026: arrest of a police scientific-laboratory official, searches at homes and offices of current and former officials including former State Police director Ilir Proda, and a court-ordered house arrest and suspension for former SHISH director Vlora Hyseni.
Hypotheses
Possible explanations that connect this record with other findings. They are not findings; each lists the evidence for and against.
- Source label: Unverified
One procurement network reached into the intelligence service and the police leadership
The AKSHI file began as rigged IT tenders. By September 2026 SPAK's action in the same investigation had reached the head of the intelligence service SHISH (suspended and placed under house arrest), the home of a former State Police director (searched) and the head of the police forensic laboratory (arrested). If the charges hold, the people who should have detected the network were part of protecting it. This would make AKSHI the clearest case of state capture in the archive.
Evidence for
- A court suspended SHISH director Vlora Hyseni and placed her under house arrest on 22 September 2026; SPAK suspects her of helping Ergys Agasi and disclosing classified information (Reuters).
- SPAK ordered a search of the home of former State Police director Ilir Proda and arrested the head of the police forensic laboratory in the same operation (September 2026).
- SPAK seized assets worth over 40 million euro from former AKSHI director Mirlinda Karçanaj, Agasi and Ermal Beqiri (decision of 20 April 2026).
- A businessman testified that he was held and pressured to withdraw tender appeals and that a Tirana deputy police director warned him (reported by Balkanweb).
Evidence against
- Nobody in this chain has been convicted; the SHISH and police steps are security measures, not verdicts.
- Proda has not been charged; a search is not an accusation.
- Rama says he had already removed Hyseni, and the government presents the case as individual wrongdoing, not a network.
- Source label: Unverified
The AKSHI tender network reached into the State Police and intelligence leadership
In September 2026 the same SPAK operation that targeted Ergys Agasi (arrested 26 Aug 2026) searched the home of the former State Police director, arrested the head or senior official of the police scientific laboratory, and placed the former SHISH director under house arrest for aiding Agasi and disclosing classified information. If the allegations hold, a tender-rigging network would have used access to police and intelligence information, which would connect the AKSHI case to the existing police-protection pattern in the dataset.
Evidence for
- Court-ordered house arrest and suspension for Vlora Hyseni, with charges of aiding Agasi and disclosing classified information (Albanian Daily News, 22 Sep 2026).
- Searches at homes and offices of current and former officials, including Ilir Proda (BalkanWeb, Albanian Daily News, 22 Sep 2026).
- Journalist Klodiana Lala's reported allegation of strong ties between Proda and Agasi (BalkanWeb).
- The AKSHI case and Agasi's arrest are already in the dataset (case-akshi-procurement, ev-2026-08-26-agasi-arrest).
Evidence against
- No charges against Proda and no specific allegations against Kalluci were published in the reporting retrieved.
- The Proda links come second-hand through a journalist's statement; no SPAK document was found.
- The Kalluci post is described differently by two outlets (head vs senior official).
- Hyseni's account of the charges comes from SPAK's statement as reported; she has not responded in the sources retrieved, and the surrender-vs-arrest details conflict.
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 2 sources.
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 2 sources
- Publisher
- BalkanWeb
- Date
- 22 Sep 2026
- Publisher
- Albanian Daily News
- Date
- 22 Sep 2026