Ermal Beqiri: French detention and SPAK AKSHI tender case (Balkanweb documentary, Oct 2026)
Status: Under investigation; extradition sought (as reported). No Albanian verdict.
Summary
Balkanweb's 'Vetting' documentary of 30 Oct 2026 reports that businessman Ermal Beqiri was arrested in France. According to the article, the arrest followed a flight in which his light aircraft allegedly entered restricted airspace over the Penly nuclear plant (Seine-Maritime) and was forced to land by French military aircraft, dated 24 July 2026 in the article. The article says a French court ordered his detention to continue, with a view to extradition to Albania.
SPAK registered Beqiri as a person under investigation on 5 Dec 2025 for unlawful competition through violence, unlawful deprivation of liberty and violation of equality in tenders, allegedly as part of a structured criminal group. The article says he is wanted in connection with AKSHI tenders, and reports bank accounts over EUR 2m, two apartments, the Château d'Auteuil castle in Oise (transaction value EUR 2,612,200, registered 30 Dec 2024) and vehicles as seized or sought by SPAK and French authorities.
The article calls Beqiri the 'right-hand man' of Ergys Agasi. That is the programme's characterisation, not an established fact. Beqiri's only reported response is that he lost control of the plane while speaking to his mother on the phone.
Key facts
- SPAK registered Beqiri as a person under investigation on 5 Dec 2025 (per article).
- Charges registered: unlawful competition through violence; unlawful deprivation of liberty; violation of equality of participants in tenders or public auctions (per article).
- Article date: 30 Oct 2026. Arrest in France dated 24 July 2026 per article's SPAK-sourced section.
- French court reportedly ordered detention to continue, aiming for extradition (per article).
- Reported asset figures: bank accounts over EUR 2m; Château d'Auteuil castle, EUR 2,612,200 transaction value, reportedly registered 30 Dec 2024; two apartments; vehicles (per article, attributed to SPAK and French authorities).
The record
Four lists kept apart on purpose: what is established, what is only alleged, what is still open, and what those concerned said.
What is proven (1)
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
- A SPAK investigation registration on 5 Dec 2025 is stated in the article. Not independently verified.
What is alleged (2)
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- AllegationInvolvement in the AKSHI tender scheme and the kidnapping of a tender competitor (see n26-out-case-akshi-testimony-2026).
- AllegationOwnership of the French castle and the reported assets.
Allegations and who made them (2)
Each line is an allegation as recorded, with the person or body that made it where the record names them.
- AllegationSPAK alleges Beqiri is part of a structured criminal group that used violence and deprivation of liberty to influence AKSHI tenders (as reported).
- AllegationDocumentary narration calls Beqiri Agasi's 'right-hand man' (programme characterisation).
Open questions (3)
- Has a French court ruled on extradition? Original French or SPAK documents were not retrieved.
- Is the Penly airspace incident linked to any charge, or is it a separate matter?
- Source of the castle purchase funds.
Responses (1)
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
- Beqiri: told the programme he lost control of the plane while speaking to his mother on the phone (as reported in the article).
Figures
Money trail →Château d'Auteuil (Oise) transaction value, attributed to SPAK/French authorities as reported
€2,612,200
Stated definition: Transaction value as reported by Balkanweb; not verified against French records.
Date: 30 Dec 2024 · Payer: not stated · Payee: not stated
- Balkanweb, Arrest in France (opens in a new tab)Balkanweb · 30 Oct 2026 · journalism · EN
Timeline
Full timeline →Media
Balkanweb/News24 documentary reports Ermal Beqiri's arrest in France and AKSHI charges
Publication date of the documentary article on Beqiri's detention in France (arrest dated 24 July 2026 in the article), the SPAK registration of 5 Dec 2025, and the castle and asset figures.
Hypotheses
Possible explanations that connect this record with other findings. They are not findings; each lists the evidence for and against.
- Source label: Unverified
The AKSHI tender network reached into the intelligence and police layers
The SHISH director's suspension (22 Sept 2026) is said to concern a leak in an AKSHI corruption case. The Beqiri French detention and the AKSHI witness testimony describe pressure on tender competitors and a police warning. Together they suggest that the AKSHI file touches security and policing, not only procurement. This would connect new items to the existing AKSHI, Karçanaj and Agasi entries in the dataset.
Evidence for
- Reuters: SHISH director suspected of disclosing classified information in an AKSHI case.
- Balkanweb: witness testimony names a Tirana deputy police director's warning (allegation).
- SPAK charges against Beqiri (registration 5 Dec 2025) include violations of tender equality.
Evidence against
- Hyseni has not been charged or convicted; no response was published.
- The police-officer claim is a witness allegation; no SPAK finding was found.
- The Reuters text does not say what information was leaked or to whom.
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 1 source.
Source label: Under investigationUnder investigation · 1 source
- Publisher
- Balkanweb (News24 Vetting)
- Date
- 30 Oct 2026