Rama's 2025 asset declaration: 10.9 million lek of other income, source not stated
Status: Declared publicly (June 2026). Source of income unconfirmed. No ILDKPKI review found.
Summary
Shqiptarja (25 June 2026) reported the 2025 income declaration of Prime Minister Edi Rama. The article reports other income of 10,904,091.27 lek (headlined as about 110,000 euro) in addition to a government salary of 3,402,084 lek, and a bank balance increase of 349,544.65 lek during the year. The public declaration does not name the source of the other income.
The article infers that the income probably comes from sales of Rama's artworks and says the works were paintings or sculptures shown at several exhibitions abroad. The article itself labels this as its inference. No confirmed sale, buyer, price or gallery has been found in the sources reviewed. A Shqiptarja piece from 17 Nov 2018 on Rama's Rostock exhibition reports that the exhibition showed his own works and does not mention sales or prices.
Whether the ILDKPKI or another authority reviewed this declaration was not found. The spouse's declared income is also in the same article; those personal figures are not reproduced here.
Key facts
- Declared other income 2025: 10,904,091.27 lek (about 110,000 euro, as headlined by Shqiptarja; no conversion in article).
- Government salary 2025: 3,402,084 lek (Shqiptarja).
- Bank account increased by 349,544.65 lek during 2025 (Shqiptarja).
- Source of other income is not named in the declaration (Shqiptarja).
- Shqiptarja says the income 'probably' comes from sales of artistic works; this is its inference.
- A 2018 reader comment under a Shqiptarja article joked that Rama would answer questions about his wealth by saying he earned it from art. The article does not confirm it (17 Nov 2018).
The record
Four lists kept apart on purpose: what is established, what is only alleged, what is still open, and what those concerned said.
What is proven (1)
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
- The declared figures above appear in the Shqiptarja report of 25 June 2026 (declaration data as reported; not checked against the ILDKPKI register in this round).
What is alleged (2)
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- AllegationThat the other income is from art sales, with no buyer, price or sale record shown.
- AllegationNo allegation of wrongdoing about the declaration by an official body was found.
Allegations and who made them (2)
Each line is an allegation as recorded, with the person or body that made it where the record names them.
- AllegationShqiptarja's inference, not an allegation: the other income probably comes from sales of Rama's artworks.
- AllegationAn anonymous 2018 reader comment suggested the art-income explanation is used to deflect questions on wealth. This is unverified.
Open questions (4)
- What is the source of the 10.9 million lek other income: art sales, copyright, royalties, rental, or other?
- Are there records of any artwork sale, its price and buyer, and are buyers linked to public contracts?
- Has the ILDKPKI or any other institution reviewed this declaration?
- Do the foreign exhibitions show sales, and to whom?
Responses (2)
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
- No response from Rama or the government to the 2026 declaration article was found in the sources reviewed.
- The 2018 Rostock article reports no statement by Rama about sales; the reader comment is unverified.
Figures
Money trail →PM's declared other income 2025 (source not named)
10,904,091.27 lek
Stated definition: Declared figure as reported by Shqiptarja; EUR conversion not given in the article (headline says about 110,000 euro). Source not named; the article infers art sales.
Date: 2025 · Payer: not named · Payee: Edi Rama
- Publikohen tw ardhurat e familjes Rama (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 25 Jun 2026 · journalism · SQ
PM's declared salary 2025
3,402,084 lek
Stated definition: Government salary as declared (Shqiptarja).
Date: 2025 · Payer: Albanian state · Payee: Edi Rama
- Publikohen tw ardhurat e familjes Rama (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 25 Jun 2026 · journalism · SQ
Timeline
Full timeline →Media
Shqiptarja reports Rama's 2025 declaration: 10.9 million lek other income, source not stated
See n26-rama-family-income-declaration-2025.
Hypotheses
Possible explanations that connect this record with other findings. They are not findings; each lists the evidence for and against.
- Source label: Unverified
Undisclosed sources in the 2025 declarations of top officials form a pattern
Two figures in the 2025 declarations, the PM's 10.9 million lekë of other income and the Economy Minister's 1.5 million lekë without a specified source, were flagged for their missing source. The PM's figure was already documented in the existing Rama declaration record. If the pattern is structural, it points to the public part of declarations not requiring source disclosure.
Evidence for
- Shqiptarja (25 June 2026): PM's other income source not stated in the public part.
- Shqiptarja (25 June 2026): Economy Minister declares 1,498,904 lekë without specified source.
- Existing dataset record n26-rama-family-income-declaration-2025 covers the PM's income gap.
Evidence against
- The article's artwork-sales explanation is speculation and may be accurate.
- Honoraria and salaries from other roles may explain part of the income and are not disputed.
- The article raised no question about other ministers, which suggests the gap is specific to two entries.
- Source label: Unverified
The 10.9 million lek other income may be art sales, but no sale records have been published
Rama is a painter who has exhibited abroad, so art sales are a plausible source of other income. But the declaration does not name the source, and no sale, buyer or price has been reported. If the income came from sales, the question is who bought the works and whether any buyer later received public business. That link cannot be tested with the sources reviewed.
Evidence for
- Declaration shows 10,904,091.27 lek other income that is not salary (Shqiptarja, 25 June 2026).
- Rama has exhibited his works abroad (Shqiptarja, 2018 Rostock article).
- Shqiptarja's own inference is that the income probably comes from art sales.
Evidence against
- The declaration does not name the source; the art-sales link is the article's inference only.
- No sale, buyer, price or gallery record was found.
- The Rostock article says nothing about sales; the only sales claim is an anonymous 2018 reader comment.
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 2 sources.
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 2 sources
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 25 Jun 2026
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 17 Nov 2018