Kuçovë mayor Kreshnik Hajdari: SPAK summons over omitted reprimand on decriminalisation form (date unclear)
Status: Summoned (date unclear). No charge confirmed in an opened source.
Summary
A report says the mayor of Kuçovë, Kreshnik Hajdari, was summoned to SPAK and told he faced a criminal charge for not declaring on a decriminalisation form a reprimand from a Greek court linked to an illegal border crossing as a minor. An opinion piece questions whether the charge is justified. A2 CNN (URL seen, page returned HTTP 403) headlines a summons, and an A2 item dated 15 Nov 2023 says he presented himself at SPAK. Separately, opposition figures (Lefter Maliqi) have pursued the Central Election Commission and the Administrative Appeals Court over his mandate; a claim that Hajdari was sentenced by SPAK to 9 months and 150 hours of community work comes from an opposition statement and is unverified. The decriminalisation law is covered in the main dataset under case-decriminalisation-law-2015.
Key facts
- A2 CNN article dated 15 Nov 2023 says Hajdari presented himself at SPAK (not confirmed in the original source).
- The omitted item: a reprimand from a Greek court linked to an illegal border crossing as a minor (secondary report citing Shqiptarja).
The record
Four lists kept apart on purpose: what is established, what is only alleged, what is still open, and what those concerned said.
What is proven (0)
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
Nothing recorded in this list.
What is alleged (1)
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- AllegationOmission on a decriminalisation form.
Allegations and who made them (1)
Each line is an allegation as recorded, with the person or body that made it where the record names them.
- AllegationProsecution allegation that the mayor did not declare a court reprimand on a decriminalisation form (as reported; not confirmed in an opened source).
Open questions (2)
- The exact date of the summons and any charge; the A2 and Shqiptarja pages could not be read.
- The 9-month sentence claim: source is an opposition statement; not verified.
Responses (1)
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
- Not retrieved from an opened source.
Timeline
Full timeline →Court
Greek court judgment on a reprimand measure against Kuçovë mayor Kreshnik Hajdari
The Shqiptarja article of 20 Dec 2023 cites a judgment of the Court of First Instance of Ioannina (No. 3286/23-6-1999) imposing a reeducation measure of reprimand for entering Greek territory without the required formalities. The article says Hajdari was 17 at the time. SPAK's position is that the measure had to be declared on Albanian decriminalisation and self-declaration forms. A secondary report from BalkanWeb describes the sentence differently (a 4-month sentence), so the sentence type is not reconciled across sources.
Other
Central Election Commission declines to remove Kuçovë mayor Kreshnik Hajdari
As reported by Shqiptarja, the CEC refused on 14 Nov 2023 to remove Hajdari's mandate, arguing that the 1999 Ioannina ruling was not a legal ground for removal. An opposition candidate appealed the decision to the Administrative Court (KAS); the outcome of that appeal was not found in the sources reviewed.
SPAK
Kuçovë mayor appears before SPAK prosecutors with his lawyer
Shqiptarja reports that Hajdari appeared before prosecutors on 15 Nov 2023 with his lawyer, Theodhori Sollaku. The article gives no statement from either of them.
SPAK
Summons date resolved: 16 Nov 2023 (Shqiptarja, Mero Baze)
Mero Baze's opinion piece in Shqiptarja (16 Nov 2023) reports the Kuçovë mayor was summoned to SPAK that day and told of a criminal charge: not declaring on a decriminalisation form a Greek-court reprimand for an illegal border crossing at age 17. The piece does not name the mayor in its text (the page tags do). It argues the charge's basis is debatable but SPAK should take the case to court. The A2 CNN article returned HTTP 403 and was not reviewed.
SPAK
SPAK refers Kuçovë mayor Hajdari to trial for falsification of forms
As reported by Shqiptarja, SPAK closed its investigation and sent Hajdari to trial under Article 190/2 of the Criminal Code (falsification of forms), alleging that he failed to declare the Greek case on decriminalisation forms twice, from 2019 onward, as required by Law 138/2015 and Assembly decision 17/2016. This corrects the dataset summary, which lists only a summons. Hajdari's response is not reported in the article. Excerpt-only reports describe a later first-instance measure (a 9-month term or 150 hours of community work); these are not confirmed in the original source and the sentence is not verified.
Connections
Referred to trial at GJKKO for falsification of decriminalisation forms (SPAK, Dec 2023, as reported)
Evidence: Shqiptarja, 20 Dec 2023. Hajdari's response not reported in the article.
Hypotheses
Possible explanations that connect this record with other findings. They are not findings; each lists the evidence for and against.
- Source label: Unverified
Whether the Greek measure against Hajdari was a declarable conviction under Law 138/2015
SPAK's charge rests on the view that the 1999 Greek measure had to be declared on decriminalisation and self-declaration forms. The article describes a reprimand (a reeducation measure) imposed on a 17-year-old for an unlawful entry, and records that the CEC refused on 14 Nov 2023 to remove him because the Greek ruling was not a legal ground for removal. The question for the trial is the legal status of that measure under the law and the forms.
Evidence for
- SPAK charge under Article 190/2 and Law 138/2015 (Shqiptarja, 20 Dec 2023).
- The Greek judgment is cited with a number and date in the Shqiptarja article.
Evidence against
- The CEC refused removal on 14 Nov 2023 (Shqiptarja, 20 Dec 2023).
- The article describes a reprimand measure imposed on a minor; excerpts give a different sentence, so sources conflict.
- No response from Hajdari or his lawyer is reported; his defence arguments are not known.
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 3 sources.
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 1 source
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja.com
- Date
- 20 Dec 2023
Source label: Under investigationUnder investigation · 2 sources
- Publisher
- A2 CNN
- Date
- unknown
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja.com
- Date
- unknown