
Agron Shehaj
Other
Profile
Agron Shehaj leads 'Mundësia' and is described as a deputy in Shqiptarja's coverage of 5 Feb 2025. That day he replied to Adriatik Lapaj's remarks that he behaves like a businessman who does not move without payment, saying that Lapaj was funded by dirty money. The sources reviewed do not establish a basis for that claim and no court finding on it was found.
Legal status
Not charged
not-charged
What this means: No criminal charge against this person is recorded in the sources reviewed.
Conflicting records. The research disagrees; every version is shown and none has been chosen as correct.
- Legal status
- not-chargedFrom the research record · cites:
- Shqiptarja: Lapaj attacks Shehaj; Shehaj replies on dirty money, 5 Feb 2025 (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · 5 Feb 2025 · journalism · SQ
- unknownFrom the research record · cites:
- Sa shpenzuan partitë në rrjete sociale, raporti i OSBE/ODIHR për 11 majin (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 24 Oct 2025 · journalism · SQ
- not-chargedFrom the research record · cites:
- Source label
- UNDER_INVESTIGATIONFrom the research record · cites:
- Shqiptarja: Lapaj attacks Shehaj; Shehaj replies on dirty money, 5 Feb 2025 (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · 5 Feb 2025 · journalism · SQ
- OFFICIALLY_REPORTEDFrom the research record · cites:
- Sa shpenzuan partitë në rrjete sociale, raporti i OSBE/ODIHR për 11 majin (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja · 24 Oct 2025 · journalism · SQ
- UNDER_INVESTIGATIONFrom the research record · cites:
Response from Agron Shehaj
Said he is not funded by dirty money (Shqiptarja, 5 Feb 2025).
Other accounts in the research (3 fields worded differently)
This record appears in more than one research record. The main text above comes from one; the other versions are kept here unedited.
- Biography
- Agron Shehaj leads 'Mundësia' and is described as a deputy in Shqiptarja's coverage of 5 Feb 2025. That day he replied to Adriatik Lapaj's remarks that he behaves like a businessman who does not move without payment, saying that Lapaj was funded by dirty money. The sources reviewed do not establish a basis for that claim and no court finding on it was found.From the research record
- Named in the ODIHR-based report on Meta ad spending as a candidate with paid Facebook and Instagram ads in the 2025 campaign. Named in the BIRN July 2026 report as a target of fake-account attacks. No other role verified in this file.From the research record
- Agron Shehaj is the leader of Partia Mundësia. According to Balkanweb (1 Oct 2025), he was not present at the meeting of PD and its allies on the Tirana candidate. On 6 Oct 2025 he said his party would not back Florjan Binaj, whom Sali Berisha had announced for Tirana, and said the process had been blown up. Top Channel describes him as sceptical of Binaj because his party had proposed Ermal Hasimja. No other matter is researched in this file.From the research record
- MP who spoke at the Economy Committee on 21 May 2024 about people robbed by an 'unprecedented scheme'. Party affiliation not stated in the article and not checked.From the research record
- Legal status detail
- No charge against Shehaj was found in the sources reviewed. A defamation case by Lapaj against Shehaj is reported only in a secondary report (not confirmed in the original source).From the research record
- Not checked in this file.From the research record
- Not researched; this file covers only the Tirana candidacy episode.From the research record
- No legal matter found.From the research record
- Response
- Said he is not funded by dirty money (Shqiptarja, 5 Feb 2025).From the research record
- Not found in sources reviewed.From the research record
- Not applicable (quoted statement only).From the research record
Related cases
Sorted by reported money, then by linked people and their legal status. The money figure is the largest single reported figure, not a total.
From 15 Dec 2014
Shehaj's Intercim/Sestante holdings and the Italian villa: media allegations and a reported SPAK complaint (2014-2026)
In August 2026 Shqiptarja published an investigation (author: Adriatik Doci) describing a chain of companies linked to Agron Shehaj: Intercim Data Service (call-centre), sold in December 2014 to…
Status: Allegations in media (Aug 2026); reported SPAK complaint (date unknown); no official finding.
From 22 Jun 2026
Parliamentary sanctions on Agron Shehaj, June-July 2026 (exclusions and the US loan document incident)
Between June and July 2026 the Albanian Parliament's Ethics Secretariat sanctioned Agron Shehaj, leader of Partia Mundësia, on two occasions. On 22 June 2026 he was excluded from parliamentary work…
Status: Parliamentary sanctions in force (30 days from 22 Jun 2026; 60 days from 28 Jul 2026, as reported). Criminal referral requested by the Socialist Party (based…
A case listed here names this person. It does not mean they are accused in it; read the case page.
Hypotheses
Possible explanations that connect this record with other findings. They are not findings; each lists the evidence for and against.
- Source label: Unverified
Hypothesis: Mundësia works as a Rama-aligned opposition satellite (vote-splitting or proxy role)
This tests the accusation, reported in the archive's existing material, that Mundësia's sharp anti-corruption opposition is a managed proxy. The test is whether the record shows votes with the majority, deals or coordination with Rama or PS. The record found so far shows the opposite pattern on the parliamentary floor, with repeated PS sanctions and personal attacks by Rama.
Evidence for
- Lapaj's 2025 remark that Shehaj 'won't move without being paid' and Shehaj's reply 'tell Rama hello' (Shqiptarja, 5 Feb 2025) show a public exchange in which Lapaj implied an alignment that Shehaj answered with the regards line (UNVERIFIED as an alignment; the words are ambiguous).
- The 2026 Intercim/Sestante investigation (Shqiptarja, 4 Aug 2026) raises an unexplained-funds question that a governing-party-tolerated business could be used to explain; it names no political link (allegation only).
- Shehaj attacked Lapaj, a rival in the opposition, in February 2025 (Shqiptarja, 5 Feb 2025), which reads as competition rather than coordination; the sources reviewed do not measure the party's effect on the opposition vote.
Evidence against
- Rama personally called Shehaj a 'thief' and 'ballist' on 27 Jul 2026 and hoped prosecutors would act (KohaJone, 27 Jul 2026).
- The PS voted to expel Shehaj and Kapri from parliamentary work on 22 Jun 2026 and requested a 60-day suspension on 27 Jul 2026, which the Ethics Secretariat imposed on 28 Jul 2026 (BalkanWeb; KohaJone; Albanian Daily News).
- Shehaj repeatedly calls for Rama's resignation (BalkanWeb, 25 Jun 2026) and attacks Rama and Balluku over protests (BalkanWeb, 18 Jun 2026).
- No documented deal, joint vote or shared funder with Rama or PS was found in the sources reviewed.
- Source label: Unverified
Hypothesis: Shehaj or Mundësia has a documented link to George or Alex Soros or OSF-funded groups
Tests whether any grant, board seat, employment, event or statement connects Shehaj or Mundësia to the Open Society Foundations, to George or Alex Soros, or to OSF-funded NGOs. Searches in English and Albanian for 'Shehaj Soros', 'Mundësia Soros' and 'sorosian' with Shehaj found no such material.
Evidence for
- Shehaj is a prominent critic of the government, and Albanian politics has many 'Soros' accusations against opposition and civil-society figures (see the existing archive records on Lapaj, Qori and protest organisers).
- The 2026 protest wave is described in Albanian and foreign media with 'Soros' framing (archive records), which could be used to tie any opposition actor to Soros in public debate.
Evidence against
- No document, grant, board seat or statement linking Shehaj or Mundësia to OSF, OSFA, George Soros or Alex Soros was found in the searches (English and Albanian).
- The only 'financed from dirty money' exchange found (Lapaj vs Shehaj, 5 Feb 2025) does not mention Soros, and the existing archive record on it names no donor.
- The archive's OSF-related records do not name Shehaj or Mundësia (checked in and.
- Source label: Unverified
Hypothesis: Shehaj's business income (Intercim/Sestante) is the unexplained source of his political spending
Tests whether the reported company chain and villa sale (Shqiptarja, 4 Aug 2026) could explain Mundësia's campaign and personal funding, and whether the official figures support the allegations. The record does not contain a party finance report for Mundësia.
Evidence for
- Shqiptarja (4 Aug 2026) reports EUR 10 million for Intercim shares, a EUR 15 million loan to Sestante, and a villa sale for EUR 15 million, which would be large relative to a EUR 19,430 Meta ad budget reported by ODIHR for the 2025 campaign.
- A criminal complaint is reported as referred to SPAK on money laundering and asset-declaration fraud (date and complainant not given).
- Shqiptarja's author describes circular invoicing and fictitious profits among commonly controlled companies (analysis, not findings).
Evidence against
- The article's corporate dates and amounts come from the author alone; no registry extract or document is cited, and Shehaj's response is not in the article.
- Shehaj says the Italian documents show a 2019 purchase declared to ILDKPKI and calls the accusations slander (not confirmed in the original source).
- No SPAK decision, court ruling, ILDKPKI finding or KQZ party-finance report on Mundësia was found.
- Lapaj's 2025 'dirty money' remark named no sum or source, and the record does not show a link between the Sestante chain and Mundësia's funding.
- Source label: Unverified
Hypothesis: Repeated parliamentary sanctions on Shehaj are mainly political retaliation rather than conduct-based
Tests whether the sanctions (22 Jun 2026 exclusion and expulsion vote; 28 Jul 2026 60-day suspension) follow from documented conduct or from PS pressure. The record includes both an alleged document removal and insulting remarks, so both explanations are tested.
Evidence for
- Shehaj says the PS has requested his exclusion four or five times in four or five months (BalkanWeb, 27 Jul 2026) and says Rama and Taulant Balla decided the 60-day request.
- Rama's public call for prosecutors to act (KohaJone, 27 Jul 2026), and the Socialist request for a criminal investigation (based on the headline only), show the government side pursuing the matter beyond Parliament.
- The 2024 Economy Committee exclusion request by Eduard Shalsi (existing archive record g26pb-D-ev-006) shows a precedent of PS-led requests to remove Shehaj from sessions.
Evidence against
- The Ethics Secretariat and the Assembly Bureau upheld the sanctions (22 Jun 2026); the stated grounds were insults ('maskara') and a document removal, not only political statements.
- Shehaj's own podium remarks (insulting a minister; calling MPs thieves) are reported in BalkanWeb and are the kind of conduct that Parliament's rules address.
- The 'document' is reported as classified; if it was, its removal would be a conduct matter irrespective of political motive. Whether it was classified is not confirmed in an official source.
- Source label: Unverified
Hypothesis: Mundësia backed Ermal Hasimja as its Tirana mayoral candidate in 2025
Tests the claim in the existing Hasimja record (Wikipedia-based) that Shehaj or Mundësia proposed him. The sources conflict on who proposed him and on whether he ran with Mundësia's backing.
Evidence for
- Balkanweb (1 Oct 2025, sh-ev-mundesia-proposal-2025-10-01): Mundesia said it had proposed a candidate, name withheld. Shqiptarja (6 Oct 2025, sh-ev-shehaj-opposes-binaj-2025-10-06) reports that Mundesia had proposed Hasimja.
- Top Channel (6 Oct 2025, sh-conn-shehaj-hasimja) describes Shehaj as backing Hasimja; this is the journalist's wording, and no opened source quotes Shehaj naming him.
Evidence against
- Shehaj's own words (6 Oct 2025): the aim 'was not to impose the name of the candidate, but to choose the right candidate'. This reads as process-focused, not as a formal endorsement of Hasimja.
- Hasimja withdrew on 8 Oct 2025 (ermal-hasimja record), so no Mundesia-backed Tirana candidacy reached the vote.
- The Wikipedia claim that Shehaj personally proposed Hasimja (as cited in conflicts with the party-level attribution above; the source for it was not reviewed.
- Source label: Unverified
Hypothesis: Shehaj's exit from the PD in 2024 was driven by the PD's internal rift with Berisha (not by a scandal)
Tests the reported account that Shehaj left the PD over its direction and was expelled from the PD parliamentary group by Gazment Bardhi. The sources give no date and no official PD statement.
Evidence for
- Shehaj's own account: he says the party needed refounding and that he did not want to wait for it to renew (undated interview, secondary report).
- He stood against Lulzim Basha for PD chairman in June 2021 (ABC News Albania, 22 May 2021), showing an earlier internal challenge to the party leadership.
- Wikipedia gives PD membership 2017-2022 and independence 2022-2024 (infobox), consistent with a split from the Berisha-led PD faction, and the founder is described as a former member of Berisha's faction (Opportunity Party page).
Evidence against
- Shehaj is described as a 'Deputy (DP)' in an October 2022 plenary report (Shqiptarja, 20 Oct 2022), which conflicts with the Wikipedia infobox that he was independent from 2022.
- Balluku's December 2024 remark that he left the PD is a rival's characterisation (not confirmed in the original source).
- No source confirms the date of the expulsion from the PD parliamentary group or any PD statement on it.
Connections
Open the map →Founder and leader
Evidence: Wikipedia (founded 1 June 2024; leader); BalkanWeb and secondary reports describe him as leader in 2025-2026.
- Ownership→Sestante Holding LTD / Sestante Holding S.R.L. (and Italian Alpha/Beta Sestante)Source label: Under investigation
Reported sole shareholder/partner
Evidence: Shqiptarja (4 Aug 2026) reports Shehaj as sole shareholder of Sestante Holding LTD (2014) and Sestante Holding S.R.L. (2017); not checked in registries.
Owner of the company (his own statement, 2022)
Evidence: Shqiptarja (20 Oct 2022) names it as his business; he said it employs about 200 people. Registry not checked.
PS requests and votes against Shehaj's parliamentary rights (2026)
Evidence: PS voted to expel Shehaj and Kapri from parliamentary work on 22 Jun 2026; PS requested the 60-day suspension on 27 Jul 2026, which the Ethics Secretariat imposed on 28 Jul 2026.
Plenary clash; Socialist MPs say Shehaj called him 'maskara'
Evidence: BalkanWeb, 22 Jun 2026: Malaj's 'now we will deal with you' and Shehaj's reply; 30-day exclusion.
Public clashes 2022-2026; Rama calls him a thief and 'ballist'
Evidence: Shqiptarja (20 Oct 2022); BalkanWeb (18 Jun 2026, 25 Jun 2026, 27 Jul 2026); KohaJone (27 Jul 2026). No documented deal or vote with the majority found in the sources reviewed.
Public accusations; Balluku's replies (2024-2026)
Evidence: Shehaj calls PS MPs 'servants' of Balluku (22 Jun 2026); accuses Rama and Balluku of stealing (18 Jun 2026). Balluku's 2024 remark (secondary report) that he left the PD is UNVERIFIED.
- Investigation→Special Prosecution Against Corruption and Organized Crime (SPAK)Source label: Under investigation
Reported criminal complaint referred to SPAK (money laundering, asset declarations)
Evidence: Shqiptarja (4 Aug 2026) reports the referral without a date or complainant; Shehaj's 2022 complaints to SPAK about his company are his own account (Shqiptarja, 20 Oct 2022).
Mutual accusations (Feb 2025); Shehaj's 'tell Rama hello' remark
Evidence: Shqiptarja, 5 Feb 2025: Lapaj calls Shehaj a businessman who won't move without pay; Shehaj denies dirty-money funding and tells Lapaj to pass regards to Rama. No sum, company or donor was named by either side.
Leader (kryetar) of Partia Mundësia
Evidence: Balkanweb (1 Oct 2025) names 'kryetari i Partisë Mundësia, Agron Shehaj'; Shqiptarja (6 Oct 2025) uses the same title.
Reported support for Hasimja's candidacy (not an announcement by Shehaj)
Evidence: Top Channel (6 Oct 2025) says Shehaj 'mbështet Ermal Hasimjan' (journalist's wording). No opened source quotes Shehaj naming or presenting Hasimja.
What they said vs. what the documents show
What was said · 20 Oct 2022
Alleged that the government improperly declared companies 'strategic investors' and linked it to a tender-winning company; said police blocked his company and removed staff (as reported by Shqiptarja).
Speaker: Agron Shehaj
Shqiptarja: debatoi për biznesin në Kuvend (20 Oct 2022) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · 20 Oct 2022 · journalism · SQ
What the documents show
The article records his allegation and the objections raised by Balla and Felaj (that he was advertising his businesses). It contains no documents supporting the fraud allegation. The government's reply (headline) is that the business was in a building without a permit.
What was said · 5 Feb 2025
Denied being financed from dirty money and said he had not profited from former property owners or from corrupt courts or lawyers; accused Lapaj of being part of the same system (reported, Shqiptarja).
Speaker: Agron Shehaj
Adriatik Lapaj sulmon Agron Shehajn... (Shqiptarja) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · 5 Feb 2025 · journalism · SQ
What the documents show
No funding source or sum is named by Lapaj in the article, so there is no document either way. The later Intercim/Sestante reporting (Aug 2026) raises funding-source questions but is not an official finding.
- Shqiptarja: Agron Shehaj i shiti vetes një kompani për 10 milionë euro (investigation) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · 4 Aug 2026 · journalism · SQ
What was said · 18 Jun 2026
Said Rama 'protects thieves from prison', that Rama, Balluku and Veliaj stole money meant for health and education, and that Rama avoids protesters and lacks courage to face early elections (reported, BalkanWeb).
Speaker: Agron Shehaj
Po mbron hajdutët nga burgu (BalkanWeb, 18 Jun 2026) (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 18 Jun 2026 · journalism · SQ
What the documents show
The article does not report evidence for the theft claims. Balluku's and Veliaj's legal cases are documented elsewhere in this archive (SPAK/GJKKO), but the sources reviewed do not show that they concern health or education funds specifically.
What was said · 25 Jun 2026
Said the farmland ownership bill is meant to share public land with Rama's associates, oligarchs and offshore companies, that more than 100,000 hectares should be returned to owners, and that Rama should resign (social-media post, reported by BalkanWeb).
Speaker: Agron Shehaj
Shehaj denoncon ligjin e ri (BalkanWeb, 25 Jun 2026) (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 25 Jun 2026 · journalism · SQ
What the documents show
The article cites no text of the bill or land register figures for the 100,000 hectares. The bill is a majority-sponsored draft, as reported; its text and status were not checked.
What was said · 27 Jul 2026
Said the US loan document 'has no details, though it is public', that the majority approved it to look subservient to Washington, and that it lacks detail (BalkanWeb, 27 Jul 2026).
Speaker: Agron Shehaj
Shehaj denoncon marrëveshjen e huasë me SHBA (BalkanWeb, 27 Jul 2026) (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 27 Jul 2026 · journalism · SQ
What the documents show
The Socialist complaint and the KohaJone report (28 Jul 2026) describe the document as classified and consultable only in Parliament-set premises after a confidentiality declaration. Shehaj's 'public' claim therefore conflicts with the account of the Socialist complaint and the reports of the incident; whether the document was classified was not confirmed in an official source.
- Agron Shehaj përjashtohet me 60 ditë nga seancat parlamentare (kohajone.com, 28 Jul 2026) (opens in a new tab)Kohajone · 28 Jul 2026 · journalism · SQ
What was said · 27 Jul 2026
Said the 60-day exclusion was meant for people who throw smoke devices, which he said did not happen; said it was the fourth or fifth PS request in four or five months, and that Rama and Taulant Balla decided the request (BalkanWeb, 27 Jul 2026).
Speaker: Agron Shehaj
Shehaj denoncon marrëveshjen e huasë me SHBA (BalkanWeb, 27 Jul 2026) (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 27 Jul 2026 · journalism · SQ
What the documents show
The Socialist request and the 28 Jul 2026 suspension are reported. Neither article says what the 'smoke device' allegation was, or lists earlier requests; the count of four or five is Shehaj's.
What was said · 22 Jun 2026
Called Taulant Balla a thief who 'stole from Albanians for 35 years' and called PS MPs 'servants' of Balluku and Rama, accusing them of carrying out a revenge order (BalkanWeb, 22 Jun 2026).
Speaker: Agron Shehaj
PS votoi përjashtimin e deputetëve të Mundësisë (BalkanWeb, 22 Jun 2026) (opens in a new tab)BalkanWeb · 22 Jun 2026 · journalism · SQ
What the documents show
No evidence in the article for the 'thief' claim. The PS expulsion vote is reported, but its motive as stated by Shehaj (revenge order) is not documented in the article.
What was said · 6 Oct 2025
Agron Shehaj, leader of Partia Mundësia, said: "Qëllimi ynë nuk ishte të impononim emrin e kandidatit, por të zgjidhnim kandidatin e duhur" (translation: 'Our aim was not to impose the name of a candidate, but to choose the right candidate') and that Berisha 'hodhi në erë të gjithë procesin' (translation: 'blew up the whole process'), since Berisha announced Binaj before the joint process ended. His party would not support Binaj's candidacy.
Speaker: Agron Shehaj
Shqiptarja, 6 Oct 2025: 'PD e dëshpëruar, kandidon Florjan Binajn!' (opened at this URL, live text) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · 6 Oct 2025 · journalism · SQ
What the documents show
Shqiptarja (6 Oct 2025) prints the quotes. Top Channel (6 Oct 2025) reports the same position and says Shehaj backs Ermal Hasimja. Neither source shows Shehaj presenting Hasimja.
- Shqiptarja, 6 Oct 2025: 'PD e dëshpëruar, kandidon Florjan Binajn!' (opened at this URL, live text) (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · 6 Oct 2025 · journalism · SQ
- Top Channel, 6 Oct 2025: 'Berisha nis negociatat me aleatët për Florjan Binajn… Shehaj ende pa reagim' (opened) (opens in a new tab)Top Channel · 6 Oct 2025 · journalism · SQ
Timeline
Other
Reported sale of Shehaj's Intercim shares to Sestante Holding for EUR 10 million
Shqiptarja (4 Aug 2026) reports that Shehaj sold his shares in Intercim Data Service shpk to Sestante Holding LTD for EUR 10 million. This is reported, not confirmed in company registers, and the article calls the surrounding structure suspicious.
Linked: Shehaj's Intercim/Sestante holdings and the Italian villa: media allegations and a reported SPAK complaint (2014-2026) · Agron Shehaj
Other
Reported purchase of an Italian villa for EUR 2.9 million
Reported by Shqiptarja (4 Aug 2026) as bought for EUR 2.9 million in 2019 and sold for EUR 15 million in 2025. Shehaj's response (not confirmed in the original source) says the Italian papers show a 2019 purchase and that it was declared to ILDKPKI. A secondary report also mentions a 2021 purchase and a EUR 29 million figure that looks like a typo, so the date and price conflict.
Linked: Shehaj's Intercim/Sestante holdings and the Italian villa: media allegations and a reported SPAK complaint (2014-2026) · Agron Shehaj
Parliament
Shehaj elected deputy for Tirana district (Democratic Party)
An ABC News Albania article of 22 May 2021 identifies Shehaj as the deputy elected in the Tirana district on 25 April 2021. Wikipedia gives his parliamentary term as starting 10 Sept 2021 (constitutive session; not contradictory).
Linked: Agron Shehaj
Other
Shehaj announces candidacy for Democratic Party chairman against Lulzim Basha
Shehaj announced he would run in the PD chairman vote set for 13 June 2021, saying the party needed 'a new vision' and framing the government as autocratic and corrupt. The article names Lulzim Basha as the incumbent in the race and lists four rivals (Shehaj, Ibsen Elezi, Fatbardh Kadilli, Edith Harxhi), with Lisandër Hoxha withdrawn. The final result was not checked.
Linked: Agron Shehaj · Lulzim Basha
Parliament
Shehaj, as a PD deputy, accuses the government of fraud over 'strategic investor' declarations; police block his company
In the plenary, Shehaj alleged the government had improperly declared companies 'strategic investors', linking this to Foreign Minister Olta Xhacka's signature and to a company that won tenders from Damian Gjiknuri and his cousin. Deputy Speaker Ermonela Felaj and PS group leader Taulant Balla objected that he was advertising his own businesses; Balla said he had broken the code of conduct. The same day Shehaj posted that police had blocked his company Ëe Ëeb Developers and removed staff by force. Rama's reply (headline) was that the business was in a building without a permit.
Linked: Shehaj's Intercim/Sestante holdings and the Italian villa: media allegations and a reported SPAK complaint (2014-2026) · Agron Shehaj · Taulant Balla · Damian Gjiknuri · Olta Xhaçka · Edi Rama
Parliament
Governor Sejko appears at the Economy Committee; heated exchange; meeting suspended for five minutes
Sejko's statements to MPs: MCA has 15,944 borrowers, about 90 percent with court decisions or in enforcement; revoking MCA's licence does not free borrowers from debts; the BoA is also investigating FINAL. MP Agron Shehaj said people were 'being robbed by an unprecedented scheme'. Committee chair Eduard Shalsi moved to suspend the session.
Linked: Microcredit fraud network (MCA, Final, ADCA, TDR Group, enforcement offices): SPAK criminal case sent to trial · Gent Sejko · Agron Shehaj · Eduard Shalsi
Other
Shehaj announces Partia Mundësia after leaving the Democratic Party
Wikipedia (both the Shehaj and Opportunity Party pages) gives 1 June 2024 as the date Shehaj announced the new party, after leaving the PD; the party was inaugurated at the Palace of Congresses in Tirana (date not given). Wikipedia does not state a reason for leaving beyond the party's direction; a separate interview (undated) says he was expelled from the PD parliamentary group by Gazment Bardhi.
Linked: Agron Shehaj · Gazment Bardhi
Media
Shehaj and Lapaj trade charges; Shehaj says Lapaj is funded by dirty money (Qori not involved)
Lapaj said Shehaj acts like a businessman who does not move without payment. Shehaj replied that he is not funded by dirty money and that Lapaj was (Shqiptarja, 5 Feb 2025). The 'dirty money' charge is therefore a claim by Shehaj against Lapaj, not a Soros claim, and it does not name Qori. The sorosianet note that describes it as a Soros-linked accusation is not supported by this article.
Linked: Agron Shehaj · adriatik-lapaj
Other
2025 parliamentary election: Mundësia wins two seats (Shehaj and Erald Kapri)
Wikipedia reports that Partia Mundësia won 2 of 140 seats (Shehaj and Erald Kapri) with 5.58% and 48,995 votes; a KQZ allocation table seen only in secondary reports gives 48,952 votes and 3.05%. The election date is taken from the ODIHR-based report headline on the 11 May 2025 vote. Figures are not confirmed against the KQZ results page.
Linked: Agron Shehaj
Other
Mundësia says it proposed a Tirana candidate; name withheld
At the meeting of PD with its allies on 1 Oct 2025, Mundësia MP Erald Kapri said the party had proposed a candidate but did not name them. Balkanweb reports that Agron Shehaj, Mundësia's leader, was not present at that meeting. No announcement by Shehaj of Hasimja is in this source.
Linked: Agron Shehaj
Other
Tirana 2025: Mundësia's Hasimja proposal and Shehaj's opposition to Berisha's Binaj choice
Documented in the ermal-hasimja record (not repeated here): Mundësia proposed Ermal Hasimja (Shqiptarja live, 6 Oct 2025); Hasimja announced on 4 Oct 2025; Berisha chose Florjan Binaj on 6 Oct 2025; Shehaj said the aim 'was not to impose the name of the candidate, but to choose the right candidate' and opposed Binaj; Hasimja withdrew on 8 Oct 2025. Shehaj's own proposal step is recorded in sh-ev-mundesia-proposal-2025-10-01 (1 Oct 2025) and his opposition in sh-ev-shehaj-opposes-binaj-2025-10-06 (6 Oct 2025). This event is a cross-reference only; the Wikipedia-based claim that Shehaj personally proposed Hasimja is UNVERIFIED.
Linked: Agron Shehaj · Ermal Hasimja
Other
Shehaj publicly opposes Berisha's choice of Binaj
After Sali Berisha announced actor Florjan Binaj as the PD-backed independent candidate for Tirana (Shqiptarja, 6 Oct 2025), Mundësia leader Agron Shehaj said his party would not back Binaj's candidacy. Shqiptarja reports that Mundësia had proposed Ermal Hasimja and that Shehaj had been sceptical of the Binaj choice. Top Channel (6 Oct 2025) describes Shehaj as the most sceptical because he backs Hasimja (journalist's wording).
Linked: Agron Shehaj · Ermal Hasimja
Parliament
Plenary clash between Shehaj and Rama over the protests and corruption
Shehaj posted a video of a verbal clash with Rama in Parliament. He said Rama avoided protesters in Tirana, travelled in Europe, and came to Parliament only to vote an amnesty law; said Rama had given Albania 'three corrupt governments' and protected corrupt officials; said Rama and Balluku and Veliaj had 'stolen' money meant for health and education; and said protesters want Rama's downfall. He rejected Rama's claims abroad that protests were driven by Iranian cyber-attacks or foreign factors. No PS or Rama response is in the article.
Linked: Agron Shehaj · Edi Rama · Belinda Balluku · Erion Veliaj
Parliament
Socialist Party votes to expel Shehaj and Kapri; 30-day exclusion after exchange with Malaj
In the Ethics Secretariat the Socialist Party voted to expel Shehaj and Erald Kapri from parliamentary work (BalkanWeb; vote count not given). Shehaj then clashed with PS deputies Taulant Balla and Ulsi Manja, calling them servants of Balluku and Rama and calling Balla a thief who had stolen from Albanians for 35 years. Separately, Socialist MPs said he called Finance Minister Petrit Malaj a 'maskara'; Malaj replied, referring to Shehaj's private companies, 'Tani do merremi ne me ty' (now we will deal with you). The Ethics Secretariat imposed a 30-day exclusion, upheld by the Assembly Bureau, after a request from Balla and PS MPs.
Linked: Parliamentary sanctions on Agron Shehaj, June-July 2026 (exclusions and the US loan document incident) · Agron Shehaj · Petrit Malaj · Taulant Balla · Ulsi Manja · Belinda Balluku
Parliament
Shehaj says a majority bill on foreign ownership of farmland is for Rama's allies and demands Rama resign
In a social-media post, Shehaj said a majority-sponsored bill would remove the ban on selling state agricultural land to foreign citizens or companies, and that its aim was to share public land with Rama's associates, oligarchs and offshore companies. He demanded Rama resign over it and said more than 100,000 hectares of state agricultural land should be returned to its legitimate owners. BalkanWeb reports no government response; the 100,000-hectare figure is Shehaj's claim and was not checked.
Linked: Agron Shehaj · Edi Rama
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 18 sources.
Source label: VerifiedVerified · 3 sources
- Publisher
- Balkanweb.com
- Date
- 1 Oct 2025
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja.com
- Date
- 6 Oct 2025
- Publisher
- Top Channel
- Date
- 6 Oct 2025
Source label: Officially reportedOfficially reported · 7 sources
- Publisher
- Kohajone
- Date
- 28 Jul 2026
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- 2026
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja.com
- Date
- 20 Oct 2022
- Publisher
- BalkanWeb
- Date
- 22 Jun 2026
- Publisher
- BalkanWeb
- Date
- 22 Jun 2026
- Publisher
- Kohajone
- Date
- 27 Jul 2026
- Publisher
- BalkanWeb
- Date
- 18 Jun 2026
Source label: Under investigationUnder investigation · 8 sources
- Publisher
- Wikipedia
- Date
- 2026
- Publisher
- Albanian Daily News
- Date
- 28 Jul 2026
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja.com
- Date
- 4 Aug 2026
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja.com
- Date
- 5 Feb 2025
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja
- Date
- 24 Oct 2025

