Pogradec ex-mayor Eduart Kapri: 2017 firewood tender and 2019 school-polling case (acquitted, upheld on appeal)
Status: Acquitted at first instance (4 Jul 2023); acquittal upheld on appeal (19 Sep 2024).
Summary
SPAK sent former Pogradec mayor Eduart Kapri and five former subordinates to trial in July 2021. The charges concerned an open procedure for firewood purchase held in October 2017 (limit 9.268 million lekë excluding VAT) that SPAK says favoured one bidder, an abuse-of-office count, and an allegation that Kapri and two maintenance workers padlocked three schools and a kindergarten designated as polling centres before the 2019 local elections. The Special Court acquitted all defendants on 4 July 2023. The Special Appeal Court rejected SPAK's appeal and upheld the acquittals on 19 September 2024. Report TV separately alleged about 960,000 lekë in damage. Kapri said the schools were municipal property and that the municipality had followed a presidential decree postponing the elections.
Key facts
- Tender: open procedure for firewood purchase, October 2017, limit 9.268 million lekë excluding VAT (Shqiptarja, 13 Jul 2021).
- Charges against Kapri: breach of equal treatment of bidders (tender) and abuse of office; also obstruction of the 2019 elections by padlocking polling-centre schools (SPAK, as reported).
- Acquittal of Kapri and five former subordinates on 4 July 2023; appeal decision on 19 September 2024 upheld it (Shqiptarja, 19 Sep 2024).
The record
Four lists kept apart on purpose: what is established, what is only alleged, what is still open, and what those concerned said.
What is proven (1)
Established by documents or official records, as stated in the research. A recorded charge or indictment proves only that the accusation was made.
- The courts acquitted Kapri and the co-defendants at first instance and on appeal.
What is alleged (1)
Accusations, not findings. Those accused are presumed innocent.
- AllegationReport TV's claim of about 960,000 lekë in damage (not confirmed by a court).
Allegations and who made them (1)
Each line is an allegation as recorded, with the person or body that made it where the record names them.
- AllegationSPAK alleged the firewood tender favoured one bidding company and that the schools were closed to affect the 2019 vote (SPAK charges as reported in 2021).
Open questions (2)
- Whether the appeal ruling was final or subject to a further appeal to the High Court; not stated in the source opened.
- Party affiliation of Kapri is not stated in the 2024 article; earlier research notes list PD.
Responses (2)
Responses of the people and organisations concerned, as recorded.
- Kapri said the schools were municipal property and the municipality had followed a presidential decree postponing the 2019 elections (Shqiptarja, 13 Jul 2021).
- Per Report TV, Kapri denied the tender-equality charge when questioned (Shqiptarja, 13 Jul 2021).
Figures
Money trail →Firewood purchase tender, Pogradec (Oct 2017), limit excl. VAT
9,268,000 lek
tenderSource label: VerifiedStated definition: Limit value 9.268 million lekë excl. VAT (Shqiptarja). Report TV alleged about 960,000 lekë damage; that figure is an allegation and was not confirmed in the court outcome.
Date: Oct 2017 · Payer: Bashkia Pogradec · Payee: Bidding company (not named in the source opened)
- SPAK çon në gjykatë ish-kryetarin e Bashkisë Pogradec (opens in a new tab)Shqiptarja.com · 13 Jul 2021 · journalism · SQ
Timeline
Full timeline →SPAK
SPAK sends Pogradec ex-mayor Eduart Kapri and five former subordinates to court
Firewood tender (9.268 million lekë) and polling-centre schools allegations.
Court
Special Court acquits Pogradec ex-mayor Eduart Kapri and five former subordinates
First-instance acquittal (date as stated in the 2024 appeal article).
Court
Special Appeal Court upholds acquittal of ex-Pogradec mayor Kapri
SPAK appeal rejected.
Hypotheses
Possible explanations that connect this record with other findings. They are not findings; each lists the evidence for and against.
- Source label: Unverified
A repeated 'equal treatment in tenders' charge is used across several municipalities and KESH, pointing to a common procurement pattern
The same charge wording (violating equal treatment of participants in public tenders) recurs in the Beci KESH case (2026), the Isai Kolonjë case (2026), the Kapri Pogradec case (2021), and the Balluku/Tushe-type files. Shteg's 'red flag' tenders (Kolonjë) and the Vlorë KLSH directors finding suggest a procurement-control weakness at municipal level rather than one-off misconduct. If so, the pattern may be documented in KLSH and procurement-register data across Bashkia Kolonjë, Vlorë and Shkodër.
Evidence for
- Balkanweb (17 Mar 2026) and Shqiptarja (9 Jan 2026): Beci charged under the same article as the 2026 Kolonjë charge (Balkanweb, 12 Jun 2026).
- Shteg (26 Sep 2025): Kolonjë tenders allegedly predetermined; a complaint says most Gjonç and check-dam tenders were marked 'red flag' (Balkanweb, 12 Jun 2026).
- KLSH review of Vlorë requested dismissal of five directors (undated, secondary report).
Evidence against
- The Kapri case (acquitted, upheld 2024) shows the same charge did not result in conviction; courts have not yet found any of the 2026 tender cases proven.
- The municipalities, tenders and officials are different; no documented common company, consultant or political sponsor across them was found in the sources opened.
- The charge is standard for tender cases in Albania and may reflect how prosecutors qualify many procurement offences rather than a coordinated scheme.
- Source label: Unverified
Cases against municipal mayors cut across parties; opposition complaints against PS mayors are common but rarely end in convictions
Complaints by PD candidates and branches (Dibër 2020 and 2025) target PS-run and other municipalities, while SPAK cases also involve PD (Kapri per 2024 notes) and LSI (Zamira Rami) figures. Protection by the majority, as an explanation for the outcome of cases, would predict fewer PS-mayor prosecutions proceeding. The sources show the opposite for Beci, Dako and Isai; but the mix of complaints and acquittals makes the pattern hard to read. The hypothesis is that prosecutions go forward for PS mayors, yet most opposition complaints are not converted into proceedings, so complaints themselves are a weak signal.
Evidence for
- Beci (PS as reported), Dako (PS), Gjika (PS per Shqiptarja) and Isai (party not stated) faced SPAK proceedings reaching trial.
- Dibër complaints (2020, 2025) by PD had no reported SPAK outcome.
Evidence against
- Kapri (PD per earlier notes) was charged and acquitted, showing SPAK acts against non-PS mayors too.
- Party of Isai and Hajdari is not established in the opened sources, so the balance cannot be fully measured.
- Opposition complaints are allegations and may be filed for political reasons; the lack of outcome does not show protection.
Sources for this record
Every source the research cites for this record, grouped by its source label. 2 sources.
Source label: VerifiedVerified · 2 sources
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja.com
- Date
- 13 Jul 2021
- Akuzohej për abuzim me tenderin e drurëve, Apeli i Posaçëm konfirmon pafajësinë (opens in a new tab)
- Publisher
- Shqiptarja.com
- Date
- 19 Sep 2024